Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Fail while preparing data

  1. #1

    Fail while preparing data

    Hi

    Wondering if anyone can help me with a problem my Tivo is having. It seems to download from the NZ emulator alright but fails while preparing data. I have tried rebooting with no change. I have also tried touching the timestamp, running the force_index and sync commands. When I do this the Tivo seems to get a bit further and begins loading the data before failing with the same message. I am running the latest Tivo image 1.4 Have not seen any other posts with a similar problem so it seems to be peculiar to my machine. Any ideas much appreciated. Would rather not nuke my harddrive but am beginning to think that it may be the only way.

    Cheers
    Pastos

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    144

    Question

    Did you change to the development emulator from the standard one? I get the same problem if I cange to port 8000. I assume it's because I didn't do a wipe of the EPG data first. I didn't fix it, I just changed back to the standard one.

  3. #3
    I wasn't aware that there was more than one emulator running. My Tivo has been running fine with no problems until the last week when the message first appeared. I have not made any changes to the ip address so I assume I am still using the standard emulator. The address I am using is 64.151.65.200. You'll have to forgive my ignorance of changing ports. I know just enough to be dangerous. What is the best way of wiping EPG data?

    Cheers

    Pastos

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    174
    Right IP - and since it sounds like you haven't changed anything that should not be the issue - for the record the line in the tclient.conf file should read:

    127::64.151.65.200:80:::

    To clear your guide data, go into Messages & Setup, System Reset, & Clear Program Data & To Do List. This can take a wee while, so be patient then try making another call...

    Re the second emulator - relatively new - see the thread at http://forums.oztivo.net/showthread.php?t=578

    Good luck
    US Philips HDR212 Series 1 Tivo, Cachecard with 512MB RAM, 320GB hard disk, OzTivo Image 1.6.2-20061109. Tivo rocks!
    New Zealand

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    144
    Just to clarify, I was just talking about changing:

    127::64.151.65.200:80:::
    to
    127::64.151.65.200:8000:::

    has the same effect on my TiVo (failing part way through preparing downloaded data). If you never changed it in the tclient.conf I doubt it's the same problem. If you are stuck maybe it's worth doing a EPG perge anyway following MrGadget's instructions. Keep in mind this wipes out your Season Passes and Wishlists too.

  6. #6
    Purged EPG and downloaded successfully with no error messages . I am still using port 80 so yes you are right about it not being related. Many thanks for the good advice.

    Pastos

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    The Mainland
    Posts
    542
    Quote Originally Posted by Wanted
    Did you change to the development emulator from the standard one? I get the same problem if I cange to port 8000. I assume it's because I didn't do a wipe of the EPG data first. I didn't fix it, I just changed back to the standard one.
    [this is not releated to the issues in this post ... but provides some more info]

    The development emulator addresses are actually

    http://210.48.107.133:80/
    http://210.48.107.133:8000/

    The port 80 emulator contains guide data and the standard headend ... it is quite stable.

    However, the port 8000 emulator is used for development purposes ... currently it contains a logo slice in with the headend, and a couple of daily reports.

    The "failed downloading" message you see when using the port 8000 is because you have logos loaded. The logo slice will cause this if logos are already loaded... (sliced and/or tivoweb) it wants all logos to be its own (took a while to sort this out)

    So if you do what to go to the port 8000 emulator on orac, you need to clear and delete the lot. A great job for a snowy weekend.
    1 x Philips TiVo Series 1, Cachecard, 1 x 1TB SATA (with recent TradeMe sourced adaptor), Mk II Pal Tuner Mod, NZ Emulator, Previously Dual A/V Source, Now Pay Satellite
    2 x TiVo HD, Freeview, HNP, 2TB (WD-AV) jmfs upgraded
    1 x Thomson UK TiVo, Cachecard, 200GB, Testing Work

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Wellington, NZ
    Posts
    570
    Soooo.. If I go over to the http://210.48.107.133:80/ emulator, can I do this without doing a 'clear and delete' everything?

    I'm keen.. but have a lot of stuff still to watch on one of my tivos

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    The Mainland
    Posts
    542
    Quote Originally Posted by zollymonsta
    Soooo.. If I go over to the http://210.48.107.133:80/ emulator, can I do this without doing a 'clear and delete' everything?

    I'm keen.. but have a lot of stuff still to watch on one of my tivos
    Yup.

    So far most have cleared EPG data and all have had to reset season passes (different series/episode numbers in the slice). A couple of threads over on the dev forum follow through the experience. Pretty painless I'm told. Not so for the 8000 emulator tho.
    Last edited by DJC; 03-06-2005 at 05:19 PM.
    1 x Philips TiVo Series 1, Cachecard, 1 x 1TB SATA (with recent TradeMe sourced adaptor), Mk II Pal Tuner Mod, NZ Emulator, Previously Dual A/V Source, Now Pay Satellite
    2 x TiVo HD, Freeview, HNP, 2TB (WD-AV) jmfs upgraded
    1 x Thomson UK TiVo, Cachecard, 200GB, Testing Work

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Wellington, NZ
    Posts
    570
    N/M... I'm bored so gonna have a play with the second tivo... might be brave and try the port 8000 model.

Similar Threads

  1. Failed while preparing data
    By hh75 in forum New Zealand TV Guide Issues
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 29-09-2010, 09:14 PM
  2. Failed while preparing data
    By MelissaH in forum TV Guide Issues
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 23-11-2008, 04:58 PM
  3. Failed while preparing data
    By steven_syd in forum TV Guide Issues
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 20-05-2007, 02:18 AM
  4. Failed while preparing data.....AGAIN.
    By Muzza in forum New Zealand TV Guide Issues
    Replies: 70
    Last Post: 16-02-2007, 05:42 PM
  5. Failed preparing data
    By ianwgtn in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 10-11-2005, 05:48 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •