Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Newbie to Tivo

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    37

    Smile Newbie to Tivo

    So after deciding that a Media Server of some sort was needed for the home, dismissing Windows Media server for all the usual reasons (cost, noise, cost, inflexibility, cost, lack of EPG), looking at a couple of Linux/Mac solutions and arriving at the conclusion that they were in their infancy... What about a Tivo? I stumbled across the NZ and Oz tivo sites and read everything I could

    Tivo arrived yesterday from the US after 8 weeks in the care of the US Postal service, CacheCard arrived 5 days after I ordered it (7 weeks ago) along with a spare drive bracket (just in case), and an IR thingy, a local PC shop for the 250GB drive and a 512MB SIMM. A friend's PC to image the drive - Mac and PC laptops only in this household, 6 weeks ago. Time was passing very slowly just lately... I made a serial cable I am yet to use "just in case" - took 15 mins, didn't pass much time...

    Assembly, setup and playing - 3 1/2 hours last night and its all good. It works, does more than I expected and I am delighted by the results.

    Some suggestions for others that follow.

    * The ORAC http://210.48.107.133:8000/ emulator has a lot going for it, perhaps make a note of the address, I am using it and not sure what the downside is - yet...

    * IF you use the ORAC emulator you get logos, you have to browse the Tivo and manually (in my very recent experience) and associate them to a channel

    * The setup of the Pace Sky box is a little vague in the guide. I have chosen the unit id ending in "1", fastest speed and three digit channel numbers, this works, but I couldn't find any better advise here.

    There are probably a bunch of sensible hacks beyond the 30sec skip - done!

    Any recommendations?

    I am considering installing vserver as its mainly a Mac house and I like the idea of using TivoTool to pull the media files off and converting to MPEG or DIVX as I have a DVD player that plays both and it would be a good way of making DVD's that will keep a 4 yr old happy. Inter standard video conversion is a house speciality.

    Its great that such a community and site(s) exist, thank you to all who post here and build this stuff. Is there a need for any funding of the hosted Emulators or such?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    37

    vserver and tivotool rock!

    For anyone with a Mac... Can confirm that www.tivotool.com is a viable solution and surprisingly fast.
    Last edited by DavidClarke; 27-09-2005 at 07:41 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    The Mainland
    Posts
    542
    Quote Originally Posted by DavidClarke
    Assembly, setup and playing - 3 1/2 hours last night and its all good. It works, does more than I expected and I am delighted by the results.
    Personally I was looking for things to involve a little more hacking around when I did mine, but the same result, its almost a no-brainer now days.
    Last edited by DJC; 27-09-2005 at 09:10 PM.
    1 x Philips TiVo Series 1, Cachecard, 1 x 1TB SATA (with recent TradeMe sourced adaptor), Mk II Pal Tuner Mod, NZ Emulator, Previously Dual A/V Source, Now Pay Satellite
    2 x TiVo HD, Freeview, HNP, 2TB (WD-AV) jmfs upgraded
    1 x Thomson UK TiVo, Cachecard, 200GB, Testing Work

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    163
    Stuff I have enhanced my TiVo with (and like):

    TiVoWebPlus
    http://www.dealdatabase.com/forum/sh...574#post231574

    (Next 3 are all modules for TiVoWebPlus)
    ChannelGrid
    http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=116879

    Manual Record
    http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=117985

    AutoSpace
    http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=153732

    ...my favs...

    BufferHack
    http://www.dealdatabase.com/forum/sh...ad.php?t=37240

    DailyMail
    http://deepinthejungle.servehttp.com...ail_Module.htm

    Enjoy (if you aren't already).

    Sean.
    Meat, beer, ... what more could a kid ask for? Of course... a TiVo! What were my parents thinking?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    37
    Quote Originally Posted by DJC
    Personally I was looking for a things to involve a little more hacking around when I did mine, but the same result, its almost a no-brainer now days.
    I know what you mean, I love the results but was looking forward to more of a mental excercise. I had a new house alarm arrive the same day, now thats a project!!!!! Hugely complicated! Expect it to take days, hence the interest in hacking the Tivo about some more. So thanks Sean, will check these out!

    I am going to set up no-ip.com so I can see my Tivo from work (or anywhere on the internet) as well in case I want to program up some recording, like when I am travelling. Should also work from my Harrier PDA/Smartphone. Now that's geeky and an interesting challange!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Victoria
    Posts
    1,218
    There's no doubt about it. Accessing your TiVo remotely to schedule something is fantastic!

    .... and welcome to TiVo!
    Darren King
    OzTiVo Repairs and Modifications
    If your TiVo requires repairs or modifications
    then visit: http://kingey1971.wix.com/tivorepairs

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    251
    Quote Originally Posted by DavidClarke
    I know what you mean, I love the results but was looking forward to more of a mental excercise.
    Ah well I guess we've done a good job
    Heh if you want a challenge then lets step into a time machine, would like to take you back to my first experiences 4 years ago... :P
    Last edited by jaidev; 27-09-2005 at 09:17 PM.
    TiVo Series 1 Thompson PVR10UK Unit, Dual 250Gb, 512Mb Cachecard, NZ Emulator Port 8000
    TiVo Series 1 Sony SVR2000 unit, Dual 300Gb, 512Mb Cachecard, Philips FTA Tuner, NZ Emulator Port 80
    TiVo Series 1 Philips unit, Dual 160Gb, Turbonet, FTA Tuner, Private Emulator
    TiVo Series 1 Philips unit, 120Gb, Turbonet, Dev Emulator, Development Unit...
    DTiVo Series 1 Philips DSR6000 unit, 120Gb, Turbonet, Work in progress...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Victoria
    Posts
    1,218
    LOL! I'll second that. Hours of manual configuring scripts and tivosh bash prompt entries just to configure a basic setup..... and I did it for about a dozen people who got the first of the internal PAL tuners put in by me. I cheated though as I did one config for Melbourne and another for Sydney (I thankfully didn't see any TiVo's from anywhere else), dumped the pre-configured hard disk image back to a file and just imaged from this.... saved a lot of work which in those days was serial connection to a PC running a terminal program

    You young'uns to TiVo don't know what you missed out on
    Darren King
    OzTiVo Repairs and Modifications
    If your TiVo requires repairs or modifications
    then visit: http://kingey1971.wix.com/tivorepairs

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    37

    PAL tuner might be an idea...

    Am I right in assuming that if I add a PAL tuner, I can record from free to air and STB at the same time, i.e. Sky Movie at 8:30 and CSI on TV3 at 8:30 ??? If so, time to get out the soldering iron!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Wellington, NZ
    Posts
    570
    Quote Originally Posted by Darren King
    There's no doubt about it. Accessing your TiVo remotely to schedule something is fantastic!

    .... and welcome to TiVo!

    Yep, I have both my tivo's on my router (broadband) and I can access either one of them from anywhere in the world (via the internet) to schedule recordings..

Similar Threads

  1. Newbie to Tivo needs help.
    By pgde2 in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 48
    Last Post: 05-08-2010, 10:59 PM
  2. Another Newbie Project: Tivo from work!
    By Tony in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 20-02-2007, 04:38 PM
  3. TIVO newbie question about Networking
    By dtvone in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-10-2005, 03:00 PM
  4. Newbie can't connect Tivo to network
    By jde5g in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-10-2005, 05:42 PM
  5. NZ TiVo Newbie? Start Here...
    By jaidev in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 02-09-2004, 05:26 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •