Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Daily call Failed. Service unavailable

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    19

    Daily call Failed. Service unavailable

    Hi, my tivo has been working perfectly for ages but suddenly the daily call is failing. The network is ok and i can connect to the tivo so i assume it isn't an internet issue. My friend tried a daily call and his worked fine.

    Can someone please suggest what problem solving i can do to correct this?

    thanks for any assistance.

    charles

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Victoria
    Posts
    1,205
    Has it happened once, or many times?

    Does it happen every time it tries or just randomly?

    Are you doing heavy uploading/downloading at the same time?

    Do you have another TiVo (or connected another TiVo) with the same type of network card and therefore you may have a MAC address conflict issue?

    Are you runnning any different firewall software and/or settings since the problem started?
    Darren King
    OzTiVo Repairs and Modifications
    If your TiVo requires repairs or modifications
    then visit: http://kingey1971.wix.com/tivorepairs

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    The most important bit is to check your TiVo can still contact minnie and is able to download files from her.

    Try using the NetworkingHowto and scroll down to 'Configuration and Diagnostics' and work your way through the tests there. If you get stuck at one let us know and can try to help further.

    Peter.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    19

    thanks for feedback

    i will try as suggested. this is the first time this has happened and nothing is different about the network. has been working perfectly for over a year

    thanks for the prompt replies.
    CC

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    19

    checked some diagnostics

    i notice the mtu size is 1500 whereas with my adsl service i had to change my router to 1492 to get it to work. i have not changed any network settings on the tivo?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    MTU isn't the issue, all TiVo's I've played with use 1500 and my ADSL uses 1492 same as yours.

    Keep going down the list.

    The most common thing to cause what you have, is your ISP inserting a transparent proxy into your service. Not all proxies will handle TiVo headers properly.

    Anyway, we will find out as you go through the list.

    Peter.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    19

    proxy

    from some further investigation it seems that it may be tpg proxy causing the problem as some others have had similar issues. strange how it only just happened. i have repeated guided setup and it fails at connection.

    will try to use the emuproxy feature as suggested. thanks

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    19

    solved, rather diagnosed

    firstly, thanks for the replies

    i confirmed that the problem was indeed my tpg account and their transparent proxy service. took the adsl off the network and fell back to trusty bigpond dial up and viola, program data.

    strange because i have always had tpg adsl and it has only impacted in the last week. this may help other users on tpg internet who are scratching their heads.

    anyway looks like a manual dial up for the interim.

    again, thanks for the prompt replies.

    CC

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    It's worth talking to TPG.

    I had the same problem crop up using Swiftdsl (now PeopleTelecom).

    I told them they are the cause of this new problem and they need to fix it or I'll change providers.

    I asked them to either exclude 131.244.9.101 from the new proxies or fix them to accept HTTP/1.0.

    The issue was fixed in a couple of days.

    Peter.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    19

    Tpg

    Thanks petestrash, i sent TPG support an email regarding the issue and to their credit they replied in under 10 hours asking for the IP address etc to be passed on to their support team. I will do so and post the results.

    CC

Similar Threads

  1. Daily Call Failed: Service unavailable
    By imcdermid in forum TV Guide Issues
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 31-05-2016, 10:39 AM
  2. Help - Tivo phone call fails - FAILED. Service unavailable
    By derekbb in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16-08-2011, 10:59 AM
  3. Failed. Service unavailable when attempting test daily call please help!
    By goldendel in forum Request For HELP! in my State
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 26-07-2009, 03:07 AM
  4. Failed. Service unavailable
    By MelissaH in forum TV Guide Issues
    Replies: 51
    Last Post: 10-06-2009, 05:20 PM
  5. Daily call fails - service unavailable
    By gley in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 53
    Last Post: 23-10-2007, 07:08 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •