Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 30

Thread: Telstra Saturn Digital Cable

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    29

    Telstra Saturn Digital Cable

    Hi all, it looks like Telstra Saturn are finally gearing up to launch digital cable. I got this link from a colleague who received an offer from Telstra to upgrade to digital cable.

    http://www.telstracleartv.co.nz

    So while I look forward to the improved video quality of digital cable, the questions are:
    • How will this effect the nz tivo community channel lineup and guide data?

    • Will we be able to control the new digital set top box with the Tivo IR blaster?


    I am keen to get some thought on this started so we can hopefully be able to support digital cable. Obviously we have no real details from Telstra yet, but I hope the channel lineup numbers will remain the same with maybe additional channels not found on sky?

    I recall that digital cable in the UK with ntl needed to use an additional adapter box to allow the Tivo to blast the ntl digital cable set top box.

    Anyway here's hoping its a smooth transition....
    Last edited by tarx; 09-08-2005 at 09:24 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,036
    Telstraclear have been announcing the move to digital since 2003. The reason given for the delays was trouble securing the STB's. At that time they were to be Advanced Digital Broadcast (ADB) STB's. I don't know if they have changed suppliers for their plans to start later this year.

    Even both www.stuff.co.nz and http://www.nzherald.co.nz/ don't have any recent info, let alone details.

    But getting back to your questions, It's way to early to even guess what the situation will be if and when it finally gets going.

    But the following points will apply.

    • We won't know if we can capture the codes to control the STB till we try.
    • Most channels will already have guide data from sky.
    • If new channels are added and guides are available online, then there is a good chance someone will write a scrapper for it.


    Peter.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Wellington, NZ
    Posts
    573
    I'm on the trial.

    Yes, it will work with the box.. Using a pre-existing OZTiVO IR Code (Austar).

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,036
    So what is the actual model number of the box you have been supplied ?

    Peter.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Wellington, NZ
    Posts
    573
    The box is made by ADB and the model number is: I-CAN 3000C-Q68-TNZ.
    ADB also make the Austar Boxes. I have the Saturn Digital Box I have here working with my box using the Austar OZTiVo IR Code. Looks like it's just a standard release box that's been re-branded.

  6. #6
    Whats the picture quality like? Any better than the horrible artifact full stuff from Sky Digital?

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by zollymonsta
    The box is made by ADB and the model number is: I-CAN 3000C-Q68-TNZ.
    ADB also make the Austar Boxes. I have the Saturn Digital Box I have here working with my box using the Austar OZTiVo IR Code. Looks like it's just a standard release box that's been re-branded.
    Quick question on the Saturn Digital Box, does it have support for scart RGB out like the Sky boxes do? When I had Sky I definately noticed a big improvement in picture quality using that connection.

    Cheers,

    Markt.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Wellington, NZ
    Posts
    573
    Quote Originally Posted by Gazzagazzanz
    Whats the picture quality like? Any better than the horrible artifact full stuff from Sky Digital?

    I haven't seen Sky Digital so can't comment on the picture quality. But it's very good and the EPG on the box is excellent.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Wellington, NZ
    Posts
    573
    Quote Originally Posted by markt
    Quick question on the Saturn Digital Box, does it have support for scart RGB out like the Sky boxes do? When I had Sky I definately noticed a big improvement in picture quality using that connection.
    This box doesn't but I'm guessing that might be a future thing. It does have two sets of Video/Left/Right out though which can be handy.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    29
    This is sounding good so far, IR working and guide data working - I like it!!

    The digital cable box must be something like in the following URL. Can you confirm this zollymonsta?
    http://www.adbglobal.com/products/do...000_Series.pdf

    It would certainly be great to get the new digital cable boxes with scart RGB output which my UK Thomson Tivo running 2.5.5 would love as video input.

    Come on Telstra, hurry up and deploy digital to my house soon....

Similar Threads

  1. Digital Saturn TV - Channel 17...
    By MrGadget in forum New Zealand TV Guide Issues
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13-01-2010, 05:17 PM
  2. Saturn Digital ?
    By zollymonsta in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 01-10-2006, 12:09 PM
  3. Telstra Saturn Cable, GS Problems and a 'Jerrold Impulse 550?'
    By slangnz in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-02-2006, 10:38 PM
  4. Saturn Cable Box
    By maddog in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-07-2005, 02:48 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •