Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: PAL Guided Setup

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    21

    PAL Guided Setup

    My Tivo runs fine - but ever in search of perfection I decided to try and get rid of the big black line at the bottom of the screen in the menus.

    I thought I had to make sure mode is PAL and enable guided setup PAL mode via Tivoweb (which I did), reboot (which i did), and rerun guided setup (which i did).

    But it is still the same? I'm thinking I must have missed something. Thanks if anybody can help.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    144
    I'm pretty sure the menu is only designed in NTSC mode and as such will always take up less space when displayed in PAL mode. You can change the TiVo to use NTSC and it will display in the original proportions.... but then you can't watch TV on it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Victoria
    Posts
    1,202
    All menus (which if you look close are animated backgrounds) and introduction animation are in NTSC which has less scan lines than PAL. When you make these NTSC based graphics play back in PAL mode the scan lines bunch up hence the black band at the bottom.

    You cannot switch between NTSC for menus and PAL for playing/recording. Worse still these animations are not a standard MPEG stream - they are proprietary - so you cannot simply copy them to your PC stretch them and place them back. It simply won't work.

    If you want "perfection" in the menu department you go and buy a Thompson UK TiVo which are much more expensive and supported much less by virtue there are not many of them here.

    Other than that if you have a lot of time and the knowledge you can try making TyTools in reverse. That is, TyTools can convert a Ty video format to MPEG but nobody has made it do the reverse. Do that and you might be in luck.
    Darren King
    OzTiVo Repairs and Modifications
    If your TiVo requires repairs or modifications
    then visit: http://kingey1971.wix.com/tivorepairs

Similar Threads

  1. Guided setup without mod
    By Charliektm400exc in forum Australian TiVoHD
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 30-12-2018, 11:24 AM
  2. Cant get thru Guided Setup
    By dieterm in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-05-2008, 02:27 PM
  3. Guided setup help
    By Paul in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 30-05-2006, 09:23 PM
  4. Repeating Guided Setup
    By Pastos in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 16-01-2005, 05:53 AM
  5. re-run guided setup mode
    By scroll in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-11-2004, 01:04 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •