Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: IR Codes for Sky KAON NS1120

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Invercargill NZ
    Posts
    91

    IR Codes for Sky KAON NS1120

    KAONNS1120.zip

    Attached is the tcl file for setting up the KAON NS1120 Sky box on TiVo 29994

    It gives all the numbers for the IR blaster but at present is erratic and tends to double send. I suspect this is the KAON box though as my Sky remote does this when the batteries are low. I have tried a range of delay settings and this does not seem to help. If anyone has further ideas I can try please advise. Meantime I will continue to work on it. Also if anyone can send the CableBoxCodeNum they use for the older Sky digital box so I can check settings that might be of help.
    TiVo series 1 UK Thomson, Cachecard, 500GB, Sky Digital
    TiVo series 1 USA Philips, Turbonet, 230GB, Freeview Dish TV

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Carterton
    Posts
    105
    Hi Ray,
    I have a very old large black PACE box from 2001. It has this in the MFS:
    (p.s, for anyone looking for cableboxcodenum, fire up tivoweb, go to mfs, setup, click on number next to source =)

    SignalSource 2274/12 {
    SignalType = 5
    Headend = 3197/-1
    LineupType = 1
    RFChannel = 4
    Component = 1113/-1
    RecieverNumDigits = 3
    CableBoxCodeNum = 20001
    TunerDigitDelay = 150
    UnattendedTunerDigitDelay = 800
    Connector = 5
    VariableBitrate = 0

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    251
    Not sure if this will help but I've been doing a bit of digging.

    Note you will need to change the colon slash and dots for the real thing as for some weird reason my login will send my post to moderation.

    In the forums a mention of ir codes for mysky : http colon slash slash forums dot oztivo dot net dot showthread dot php?1104-using-tivo-to-control-a-mysky-decoder&highlight=mysky
    Using 20017
    from there a link to: http colon slash slash www dot garysargent dot co dot uk slash tivo slash stb.htm
    scroll down to pace sky+ codes 20017 for Sky key before each channel change to turn the box on. 20010 without Sky key before each channel change.

    I stoked up a S1 UK TiVo with uk2.5.5 software and poked around in the mfs and found under /Component/Ir/TivoFormat/20017:

    Object: 1771
    ServerVersion 12
    Dig1 0 50 23 0 152 51 25 25 25 25 25 49 25 49 51 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 51 49 51 25 25 25 25 25 25 49 51 25 25 25 25 51
    Dig2 0 50 24 0 152 51 25 25 25 25 25 49 25 49 51 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 51 49 51 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 49 25 25 25 25 25 51
    Dig3 0 50 23 0 152 51 25 25 25 25 25 49 25 49 51 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 51 49 51 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 49 25 25 51 51
    Dig4 0 50 23 0 152 51 25 25 25 25 25 49 25 49 51 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 51 49 51 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 49 51 49 25 51
    Dig5 0 50 23 0 152 51 25 25 25 25 25 49 25 49 51 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 51 49 51 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 49 51 25 25 51
    Dig6 0 50 24 0 152 51 25 25 25 25 25 49 25 49 51 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 51 49 51 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 49 25 25 25 51
    Dig7 0 50 23 0 152 51 25 25 25 25 25 49 25 49 51 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 51 49 51 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 49 51 51
    Dig8 0 50 24 0 152 51 25 25 25 25 25 49 25 49 51 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 51 49 51 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 49 25 51
    Dig9 0 50 24 0 152 51 25 25 25 25 25 49 25 49 51 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 51 49 51 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 51
    Dig0 0 50 23 0 152 51 25 25 25 25 25 49 25 49 51 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 51 49 51 25 25 25 25 25 25 49 51 25 25 49 25 51
    DeviceName 20017
    PowerOn 750 50 24 0 152 51 25 25 25 25 25 49 25 49 51 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 51 49 51 49 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 51
    ServerId 441965
    Version 1
    IndexPath /Component/Ir/TivoFormat/20017 /Server/441965

    And under 20010:

    Object: 1765
    ServerVersion 13
    Dig1 0 50 23 0 152 51 25 25 25 25 25 49 25 49 51 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 51 49 51 25 25 25 25 25 25 49 51 25 25 25 25 51
    Dig2 0 50 24 0 152 51 25 25 25 25 25 49 25 49 51 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 51 49 51 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 49 25 25 25 25 25 51
    Dig3 0 50 23 0 152 51 25 25 25 25 25 49 25 49 51 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 51 49 51 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 49 25 25 51 51
    Dig4 0 50 23 0 152 51 25 25 25 25 25 49 25 49 51 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 51 49 51 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 49 51 49 25 51
    Dig5 0 50 23 0 152 51 25 25 25 25 25 49 25 49 51 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 51 49 51 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 49 51 25 25 51
    Dig6 0 50 24 0 152 51 25 25 25 25 25 49 25 49 51 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 51 49 51 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 49 25 25 25 51
    Dig7 0 50 23 0 152 51 25 25 25 25 25 49 25 49 51 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 51 49 51 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 49 51 51
    Dig8 0 50 24 0 152 51 25 25 25 25 25 49 25 49 51 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 51 49 51 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 49 25 51
    Dig9 0 50 24 0 152 51 25 25 25 25 25 49 25 49 51 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 51 49 51 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 51
    Dig0 0 50 23 0 152 51 25 25 25 25 25 49 25 49 51 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 25 51 49 51 25 25 25 25 25 25 49 51 25 25 49 25 51
    DeviceName 20010
    ServerId 351192
    Version 1
    IndexPath /Component/Ir/TivoFormat/20010 /Server/351192

    Any use?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Invercargill NZ
    Posts
    91
    Thanks both. I tried some of the settings and managed to get some strange video effects. No improvement though so returned to original.

    SignalSource 305471/2261 {
    DBSRemoteMethod = 2
    Headend = 1319872/-1
    Channel = REMOVED as a lot
    Component = 2172/-1
    CableBoxCodeNum = 29994
    TunerDigitDelay = 20
    UnattendedTunerDigitDelay = 400
    VariableBitrate = 1
    SignalType = 3
    Connector = 7
    LineupType = 1
    RecieverNumDigits = 1
    }

    The Sky codes are the old UK ones - at least explains where they all came from. Thanks for that anyway.

    I have not successfully recorded a programme automatically by TiVo sadly. Always misses a digit or doubles one up. I tried setiing my Philips up but no luck there at all (no surprise as I could never get the old box to work with it). I tried an IR resender to see if a signal boost might help as the IR blaser needs to be close to the box whereas the remote works far away. No joy there though the Sky remote does rebroadcast ok. Still a couple of ideas, building a foil shield around the IR blaster (but then remote will not work) and then maybe some tweaks to the IR codes to see if I can get them matching the Sky more closely.

    As for the MySky box - getting a better handle on the Series Link but it can be problematic. Still want TiVo, maybe build a robot working on IR codes to press the Sky remote buttons?
    TiVo series 1 UK Thomson, Cachecard, 500GB, Sky Digital
    TiVo series 1 USA Philips, Turbonet, 230GB, Freeview Dish TV

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    251
    I suspected the 20017 codes wouldn't work as it was a link via a photo of an earlier remote.

    Your comment about the robot however has been done before.... twice in different ways.

    One method is to hack a remote and make a translator as shown here: http forums oztivo net/showthread.php?1977-Success-with-IR-translator-for-Austar-Flinders&highlight=austar

    I think there was another version but can't recall what it was for.

    The other option is a serial code converter shown here: http forums oztivo net/showthread.php?1524-Tivo-with-freeview-STB&p=10620#post10620 post #9

    I have the one shown there and it is still working flawlessly.

    For the second option it would serial control of the sky box which I don't think exists.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    251
    Finished translator info here: http forums.oztivo.net/showthread.php?2051-Austar-Flinders-Mystar-Advice&highlight=austar

    Also I have been bludgeoned by Sky to upgrade next Friday after putting them off several times. The word is they all have to be upgraded by Xmas.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Invercargill NZ
    Posts
    91
    Interesting - but looking complicated. I was more into getting my old Meccano set out and doing something more agricultural!

    I have had a bit more success today having a closer look at the signals the IR blaster is sending out. I found another little miscalculation in the converter and can now almost precisely mimic the Sky remote. Single digits working ~90% of the time but struggling with doubles and trebles. A bit more tweaking yet before I give up.
    TiVo series 1 UK Thomson, Cachecard, 500GB, Sky Digital
    TiVo series 1 USA Philips, Turbonet, 230GB, Freeview Dish TV

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Carterton
    Posts
    105
    And at worst case scenario you can always use the TiVo as a passthru record device. i.e, as far as I know the mysky
    does not 'always record' like the TiVo does. I lose count of the number of times watching live tv that I go, what was that, and
    skip back. At least we can pass it through the TiVo, and only do recording on mysky, and use TiVo pause/live skip back.
    Another option is a CAM for the sky card on my pc, but I read somewhere that the new cards create problems, and it still
    wont be the TiVo

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Carterton
    Posts
    105
    Hi Ray,
    a lot of interesting info in this thread, not sure if you have seen it:
    http://www.geekzone.co.nz/forums.asp...topicid=199099

    Although it is from a pc, they do say they pretty much have blasting working.

    Cheers,
    Mike

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Invercargill NZ
    Posts
    91
    Yes I saw that link, reason I keep trying. Position in mine is too sensitive, mm precision. Still unreliable. Will be interesting to see if anyone else can do better. I suspect either my IR sender of the TiVo itself.

    Meantime I am down another more promising track. Built an Arduino system that can read the IR codes from the remote, they are equivalent to the Pronto codes I logged. Not yet got a transmitter working (I am very much a newbie with Auduino and electronics but is great fun). I am looking to get another remote though and I should be able to hack that as a sender and use the TiVo as transmitter. This is a sledgehammer solution but should work.
    TiVo series 1 UK Thomson, Cachecard, 500GB, Sky Digital
    TiVo series 1 USA Philips, Turbonet, 230GB, Freeview Dish TV

Similar Threads

  1. Kaon NS1120 from Sky and TiVo
    By Ray in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-11-2016, 09:17 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •