Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Sky Decoder upgrades and Tivo S1 compatibility

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    48

    Sky Decoder upgrades and Tivo S1 compatibility

    Sky NZ are swapping out their old PACE decoders for newer decoders.

    I'm guessing the IR control of the new decoders wont work with the S1.

    The Sky decoder model that I have now is a Kaon NS1120-500.

    Back down to composite video ;-(

    That I can live with as an interim, but how do I change the IR blaster control ?

    Cheers

    Dieter

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    251
    Ref http://www.oztivo.net/twiki/bin/view/IR/WebHome for methods of importing / learning IR codes. I have tried importing pronto codes some time ago can't quite recall the success or not though.
    Can a S1 TiVo record the composite output from the new box?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Carterton
    Posts
    105
    From what I have read, you cannot use composite video. (or any output to the TiVo) .It has macrovision locking.
    I have also read the codes are PACE, but that isn't going to help much.

    Cheers,
    Divxmaster

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    251
    Just did a quick Google and found this: http://tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb/sho...d.php?t=351071

    It sounds like an S1 may record ok?

    Has anyone had the new sky box installed and tried it out on their S1?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Carterton
    Posts
    105
    Well that post is good news, if it works out. good that the TiVo hopefully can record macrovision output, although its not supposed too!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Carterton
    Posts
    105
    anybody out there got the new STB yet? I haven't heard anything from 'Skodaphone'

Similar Threads

  1. Mac compatibility
    By Chieftain in forum Australian TiVoHD
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 13-12-2009, 08:58 PM
  2. HD decoder to use with Tivo
    By graemeh in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 13-07-2009, 02:14 PM
  3. using tivo to control a mysky decoder?
    By kfm in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-12-2006, 01:33 PM
  4. Tivo Versus Foxtel decoder (and others)
    By erbachem in forum General Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-09-2005, 09:23 PM
  5. Sky Decoder playing up
    By jaidev in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-11-2004, 02:28 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •