Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Freeview GS

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    216

    Freeview GS

    Found my TiVo on my network, now having problems with Guided Setup. I'm using satellite freeview, so used 02110 postcode. Get an error message saying "no cable provider in your area"........if I carry on with GS using Sky postcode (02113) GS completes fine, albeit with the wrong set of guide data! Any clues?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    251
    My freeview tivo is on 02112 from what I recall I didn't have any problems with GS. I have set it for two inputs (tuner and composite in). The image it is running is NZ Tivo v1.5 but others I have set up are Oztivo latest version. I would recommend the latest Oztivo image as there is more useful hacks on it.
    Last edited by Islander; 06-06-2013 at 04:28 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    463
    Yes I get the same thing whenever I switch post codes. The only way to solve this I have found is to either "clear and delete all" or re-image the drive.

    TiVo Series3 TiVoHD x2

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    216
    clear and delete all worked fine. Just need to get an IR blaster cable now...atm, TiVo isn't changing channels on the DishTV STB, hopefully it's the lack of IR cable...but I wonder...doesn't Tivo also send an IR signal out through the front panel? I've sat the STB in front of the Tivo box, but no joy....

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    463
    Is DishTV on the list of available TiVo or OzTiVo(user uploaded) IR code sets? I can't check as oztivo.net seems to be down at the moment. Try a different code set if there is more than one listed for DishTV.

    Look at the front of the TiVo with a digital camera to see if the built-in IR transmitter is working.

    TiVo Series3 TiVoHD x2

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    216
    Hmm, interesting.....no sign of an IR transmission from Tivo box, neither from the built in blaster or the outputs on the end of the (new from weaknees) IR cable. TiVo was changing channels on a Shy decoder set up fine before we moved house....any one any ideas?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    216
    Apologies, careful checking reveals TiVo is sending out IR from both sources...so it'sIR coding that's wrong. I used Oztivo DishTV code during GS....but clearly this doen't work with the particular DishTV decoder I have. Can anyone advise an easily available in NZ Freeview decoder that is know to work with IR codes that are in the current NZ image? I'm happy to buy a new decoder to get TiVo working!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    463
    Have you checked this list? You have to register on oztivo.net first.
    http://www.oztivo.net/tivo-bin/irdatabase.cgi
    I have a chinese clone DM500S dreambox, but the codes don't work perfectly on mine. I previously had a Strong satellite receiver which worked well.

    TiVo Series3 TiVoHD x2

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    216
    TiVo is emitting IR code, but the code is incorrect for the particular model of DishTV that we inherited with our rental house, so yesterday I bought another DishTV (model 7070R) and that doesn't work with the OzTivo DishTV GS code either!

    Help!!!!! I need to know what brand and model decoder I can obtain in NZ that will work from OzTivo IR codes........getting desperate!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    463
    The Strong 4300 sold by Pace Electronics is listed in the OzTiVo IR database.

    TiVo Series3 TiVoHD x2

Similar Threads

  1. S1 Tivo and Freeview
    By tonys in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-05-2013, 07:17 AM
  2. NZ Freeview STB codes
    By Trevor Nash in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 13-02-2011, 07:52 PM
  3. Tivo with freeview STB
    By slangnz in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 19-10-2008, 08:58 PM
  4. Freeview
    By KiwiKen in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16-08-2008, 07:16 PM
  5. Help doing GS for Freeview with UK 2.5.5
    By tarx in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-12-2007, 08:17 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •