Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Tivo keeps resetting

  1. #1

    Tivo keeps resetting

    Hi from a first time poster, can anyone tell me why my 30 month old Tivo keeps resetting itself every after 3 or 4 minutes of watching Tv? It resets as though the power has gone off and then back on again and therefore runs through the whole reboot thing?

    Any help appreciated.
    Regards
    Kevin

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    It's impossible to tell for certain, but the most likely culprit is the hard drive failing as it is usually the first thing to go.

    Pete
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Victoria
    Posts
    1,202
    Peter is correct. A "30 month old" TiVo = 2 1/2 years of constant hard disk punishment. Anything more than 18 months is a bonus!
    Darren King
    OzTiVo Repairs and Modifications
    If your TiVo requires repairs or modifications
    then visit: http://kingey1971.wix.com/tivorepairs

  4. #4

    Has my hard drive failed?

    Hi Darren,

    I wanted to get in touch with you but it appears your website has been hacked as I get Malware alerts on Google.

    My TiVo started to make a funny noise and then it restarted and now it doesn't accept have a signal.

    Could you please let me know if you are still repairing TiVo's and if so how to get in contact with you.

    Thanks in advance

    Neil

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    463
    Neil if you are reasonably confident with computers, it is easy enough to copy the old TiVo drive onto a new one with your PC, using WinMFS.

    TiVo Series3 TiVoHD x2

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Victoria
    Posts
    1,202
    Quote Originally Posted by oxnam View Post
    I wanted to get in touch with you but it appears your website has been hacked as I get Malware alerts on Google.
    Google has been a pain in the bum of late. There is NO malware or trojans or hacking. I've done my own scans, and even when Google still refused to listen BUT won't tell me specifically what it is they have alleged to have found.

    I had a 3rd party review the site (at cost, mind you) and they are going to inform Google to take me off their blacklist as they cannot find anything either.
    Darren King
    OzTiVo Repairs and Modifications
    If your TiVo requires repairs or modifications
    then visit: http://kingey1971.wix.com/tivorepairs

  7. #7

    Bonus?

    Quote Originally Posted by Darren King View Post
    Peter is correct. A "30 month old" TiVo = 2 1/2 years of constant hard disk punishment. Anything more than 18 months is a bonus!

    I currently still have the ORIGINAL tivo (darn near 13 years) and it is JUST starting to go goofy
    Now that tivo is back with directv, im not so worried about it.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    If you are still on the original hard drive it is more of a miracle than a bonus.

    I don't know of anyone in our community that is still using the original HDD in their Series ones.

    Pete.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  9. #9
    Quite honestly, i think it started going goofy because i plugged the phone line back into it about a year ago. Unfortunately my tivo days may be over direvtv wants to charge 200 bucks PLUS $25/mo. service fee for as long as you are using it... AND it wont have all of tivos features

    Unless i can fix/replace the HD on my tired tivo, im going to be stuck with directv crappy dvr.. *GASP!!!*

    i dont think i can handle that

Similar Threads

  1. TiVo suddenly resetting for no good reason.
    By lynfran in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30-10-2018, 08:36 PM
  2. resetting post code for kidzone
    By AdamJ in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 17-07-2018, 07:03 PM
  3. Resetting remote
    By tonys in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 28-06-2006, 10:05 AM
  4. Resetting Tivo from Foxtel Analogue to Digital
    By moman_matt in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28-04-2006, 03:41 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •