Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Tivo 320 NZ upgrade to 1 TB

  1. #1

    Post Tivo 320 NZ upgrade to 1 TB

    Hi to all.
    Im new to Tivo, and this site so be gentle

    I have a NZ series 3 320 tivo. no mods done.
    I have seen instructions posted at various sites for the upgrade process, but none specifically say that this will work on the NZ tivo , one being endgadget, all using WinMFS.

    Does anyone have info on this re NZ tivos , will it work, anything specific to be done?
    links would be appreciated

    cheers
    Ant

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    463
    Although I still haven't upgraded my own TiVoHD, it works on NZ TiVoHD and is quite easy. Just use WinMFS to do a backup and restore, or disk-to-disk copy if you want to keep your shows.

    TiVo Series3 TiVoHD x2

  3. #3
    Quote Originally Posted by Skolink View Post
    Although I still haven't upgraded my own TiVoHD, it works on NZ TiVoHD and is quite easy. Just use WinMFS to do a backup and restore, or disk-to-disk copy if you want to keep your shows.
    Thanks for that. Do u have any preferred /recommended sites which give details to do this?
    Can i do it with win7?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    463
    Just use the guide on the mfslive website http://www.mfslive.org/winmfs/
    I think in Win7 you need to run WinMFS with administative privaledges (not just be logged in as an administrator) for the drive to be accessible.

    TiVo Series3 TiVoHD x2

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    463
    Just follow the WinMFS 9.3f guide on the MFSlive website. I can't post the link or my reply doesn't show up.
    In Win7 you need to run WinMFS with administrative rights, not just be logged on as an administrator, otherwise the drive will not be visible.

    TiVo Series3 TiVoHD x2

  6. #6
    Cool thanks for the help

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Hamilton, NZ
    Posts
    196
    You should use WinMFS Beta 9.3g (for Australian Tivos), not 9.3f. Also, if you want to use a Western Digital green drive, then you need to disable the Intellipark feature using wdidle3.exe.

    I have successfully upgraded two NZ tivos using 1.5 TB Western Digital drives (although it is limited to using ~1.4TB)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Hamilton, NZ
    Posts
    196
    Useful link to upgrade instructions and options:
    http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb/showthread.php?t=370784#S5

    Link to WinMFS download (requires registration):
    http://www.mfslive.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=976

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by catdog View Post
    You should use WinMFS Beta 9.3g (for Australian Tivos), not 9.3f. Also, if you want to use a Western Digital green drive, then you need to disable the Intellipark feature using wdidle3.exe.

    I have successfully upgraded two NZ tivos using 1.5 TB Western Digital drives (although it is limited to using ~1.4TB)
    Thanks, for taking the time to reply.
    Out of curiosity who is the 9.3f aimed at?

    The drive i have is a hitachi 1 TB

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    58
    Blog Entries
    1
    There is a guy on TradeMe who is offering a service to upgrade TiVos to 1TB. He keeps the old drive - but he claims the new drive is PVR-rated so its not as bad as it could be. Might be a better option if you're not comfortable with the process.
    Steve Shipway
    Auckland, New Zealand
    2x S3 TiVo HD 320GB (FreeView) - Orcon Internet
    1x S3 TiVo HD 320GB - Power supply reparied, see how I did it here
    UK S1 TiVo - Needs conversion to TivoNZ - For sale

Similar Threads

  1. TiVo Remote Functions post upgrade
    By MarkH-NZ in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-02-2018, 03:29 PM
  2. Brisbane area TiVo upgrade services
    By 302w_cobra in forum Hardware Upgrades/Mods
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-02-2018, 11:35 PM
  3. Tivo hiccups after upgrade
    By dread in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 26-05-2007, 04:28 PM
  4. How do you upgrade the TIVO OS..
    By 105547111 in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 21-04-2004, 08:51 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •