Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Channel logo slice

  1. #1

    Channel logo slice

    anyone want to have a go at one. I tried making channel logos ages ago but had trouble with the palettes. I am sure I had it correct, ie using the existing palettes for each type of image but for some reason could'nt get them to work very well.

    would be cool to have a channel logo slice. not sure how you make the slice tho..

    another good little activity for someone to do. Not me tho, LOL...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Wellington, NZ
    Posts
    570
    Quote Originally Posted by timmy
    anyone want to have a go at one. I tried making channel logos ages ago but had trouble with the palettes. I am sure I had it correct, ie using the existing palettes for each type of image but for some reason could'nt get them to work very well.

    would be cool to have a channel logo slice. not sure how you make the slice tho..

    another good little activity for someone to do. Not me tho, LOL...
    Hi Tim,

    I was looking at that last night on TiVo web.. lets you simply browse to a file on your desktop and upload it to a specific channel on your TiVo.

    I'm keen to have a crack at it, once I've got my TiVo stable

    There are about 4 logos on the OzTivo image that are valid for over here.

  3. #3
    yeah having the logo's is a nice touch eh. You can probably find some more online and maybe from oztivo. here is a link to some also www.satlogo.com

    You'll have to use nzoom and sky to make some tho. I found it really hard to make them look clean tho because alot of images have antialiased edges so trying to make a transparent background for them takes some fiddling.

  4. #4
    can anyone confirm what image editors are known to work well for editing these images. I tried paintshop pro and failed horribly (the image didn't remap properly to the existing pallete). I am told photoshop works a treat.

    I know Jaidev made logos but he had the problem that the colours farked up after a couple of months. weird...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Wellington, NZ
    Posts
    570
    I started playing with this today.

    Getting a resonable result with Photoshop, as good as can be expected for low resolution/8 bit.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    67
    A freeware app is Irfanview

    Does a sweet job! If you don't have the very expensive Adobe Photoshop.

    I'm slowly making a nice local flava set
    Last edited by deanm; 04-05-2004 at 11:19 AM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Wellington, NZ
    Posts
    570
    Yep, I'm slowly getting there. A bit delayed at the moment as I'm in the house checking/buying process (oh the stress!) but will get there

  8. #8
    u guys might like to compare images and build a superset

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    67
    Here's a 'near complete' set (for Sky channels inc. 1, 2, 3, C4, Prime).. a few minor palette problems may exist, but I'm without a TiVO for the next month or so, making it 'difficult' to really test them.

    Will complete the set as soon as I'm back up and running.

    If anyone would like to add to the set.. or would like my PSD originals.. PM me and i'll send you a copy.

    To install.. use the Tivoweb logo module (1 at a time)
    or Sanderton has a nice tcl script to batch upload here
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by deanm; 04-07-2004 at 02:01 PM.
    US Series 1 Philips TiVo
    nzTiVo-Philips-Installer.img
    200Gb HDD 8Mb Cache, Turbonet
    Slices: Sky Digital, Auckland
    Hacks: TyServer, Manual Record & TivoTitle, TiVoX 1.5

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    31
    The script didn't work, just kept complaining :

    bash: ./loadlogos.tcl: No such file or directory

    even though it was clearly there. Even tried putting it in a folder in the path and excluding the ./, but it still complained it couldn't find it, even though it found and mentioned the exact directory I just put it in!?!?

    So loaded them fine with tivoweb, np there. Only the 3 sky sports chans missing logos now.

    Logos not really essential functionality, but does add a nice touch.

Similar Threads

  1. Complete Logo Slice (NZ)
    By DJC in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 52
    Last Post: 16-08-2006, 05:16 PM
  2. Lets Choose a new Logo - Time to Vote
    By AndrewJ in forum General Chat
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 19-09-2004, 08:21 PM
  3. Channel slice for loadguide users
    By jrice in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 27-07-2004, 07:48 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •