Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Anyone running both new and old Tivos?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    174

    Anyone running both new and old Tivos?

    I know two series 1 Tivos can 'talk' to share playing lists etc, and I know two of the new Tivos can share their Now Playing - but (and I suspect I know the answer) can a new HD Tivo and an old series 1 connect together?

    Also, while I know there is no guide data to support it, can the new HD Tivo's control a Sky decoder ? I would love one, but would miss out on recording Mythbusters, Click etc off Sky - and I wouldn't mind being able to record these in some manner...

    Appreciate any feedback,

    Thanks
    Neil
    US Philips HDR212 Series 1 Tivo, Cachecard with 512MB RAM, 320GB hard disk, OzTivo Image 1.6.2-20061109. Tivo rocks!
    New Zealand

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    Quote Originally Posted by MrGadget View Post
    I know two series 1 Tivos can 'talk' to share playing lists etc
    Only by installing hacks (don't forget TiVo never included networking for the S1's). Only S2 & S3 have a sharing ability built in.

    Quote Originally Posted by MrGadget View Post
    and I know two of the new Tivos can share their Now Playing - but (and I suspect I know the answer) can a new HD Tivo and an old series 1 connect together?
    No, but you can transfer and convert your S1 recordings to mpg on a PC and use that PC as a server that the S3 can see if you have the TiVo Home Networking Package.

    Quote Originally Posted by MrGadget View Post
    Also, while I know there is no guide data to support it, can the new HD Tivo's control a Sky decoder ? I would love one, but would miss out on recording Mythbusters, Click etc off Sky - and I wouldn't mind being able to record these in some manner...
    There is no external inputs or IR blaster, so you cannot use any external sources with an AU/NZ TiVo HD.

    Peter.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    174
    Thanks - those a pretty much the answers I was expecting. Thanks for the quick reply...
    Still, I can see me parting with $920 in the near future - just have to work a way to throw the old Tivo up in the bedroom and have something to act as a tuner.

    Any chance there's someone in Christchurch that can add a tuner to a series one?
    US Philips HDR212 Series 1 Tivo, Cachecard with 512MB RAM, 320GB hard disk, OzTivo Image 1.6.2-20061109. Tivo rocks!
    New Zealand

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    You can buy a digital STB to run your S1 for the FTA channels.

    There are a few that already have S1 IR codes.

    Peter.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    463
    Quote Originally Posted by MrGadget View Post
    Any chance there's someone in Christchurch that can add a tuner to a series one?
    Yes PM / email me

    TiVo Series3 TiVoHD x2

Similar Threads

  1. How hard was it to get modded and up and running again?
    By viewer in forum Australian TiVoHD
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-12-2017, 01:47 PM
  2. Guide Data Running Out
    By Ray in forum New Zealand TV Guide Issues
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: 18-03-2015, 06:06 PM
  3. No audio after running palmod_config
    By gazman88 in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 14-03-2007, 02:20 PM
  4. Guide Data Running out...
    By SeanOffShotgun in forum New Zealand TV Guide Issues
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 17-11-2006, 12:43 PM
  5. Running out of data
    By Muzza in forum New Zealand TV Guide Issues
    Replies: 55
    Last Post: 05-02-2006, 10:45 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •