Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: SATA HDD on S1 Tivo

  1. #1

    SATA HDD on S1 Tivo

    Hello,

    I'm wondering if anyone has tried using a SATA HDD, with a SATA -> IDE adapter, on Series 1 Tivo? As you all aware it's getting difficult to get brand new decent size IDE HDD now...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    463
    Yes, well aware
    http://forums.oztivo.net/showthread.php?t=2046

    People on the mailing list recently suggested:

    Western digital green power 24/7 drives from MSY

    Seagate option listed here, including the SV35 AV drives.
    http://www.staticice.com.au/cgi-bin/...gb+pata&spos=3
    http://www.staticice.com.au/cgi-bin/...b+-sata&spos=1
    Last edited by Skolink; 27-04-2009 at 07:44 AM.

    TiVo Series3 TiVoHD x2

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    463

    Thumbs up SATA-IDE adaptor

    I have successfully used a SATA-IDE adaptor which has a SunPlus SATALink SPIF223A-H022 chipset, in conjunction with a Samsung HD502IJ 500GB drive.

    [IMG]Sunplus 223A adaptor.JPG[/IMG]

    In order to image the drive the adaptor had to be plugged into the Secondary IDE controller on my PC (and the CDROM on Primary) otherwise it would not boot. BIOS reported the drive as 137Gb but the ozTiVo boot disk reconised it as 500Gb.
    Attached Images Attached Images

    TiVo Series3 TiVoHD x2

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    Skolink, you may want to be clear in your previous posts.

    99.9% of IDE-SATA convertors on the market do not work with TiVo.

    This is one of the rare .1% that seem to.

    Peter.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  5. #5
    Would be interesting to know where you sourced it - could find no reference to a Sunplus adapter with GoogleFu

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    463

    Ebay adaptors

    I just bought 5 of these, so when they arrive I'll let you know if they work.
    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=350255745731
    Pretty pricy at 99c each

    TiVo Series3 TiVoHD x2

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    There seems to be small differences between your board and the eBay one. Is this the same seller you bought the first board from?

    Peter.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    463
    No I have no idea who I bought the first one off. It could have been 2 years ago, and I only just tried it a week ago.
    Yes I noticed that Q1 is not fitted on the photo of the latest ones. It looks similar enough that I decided to risk a few $.

    TiVo Series3 TiVoHD x2

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    The board model number appears to be the same, just a few slight differences in population.

    When did you order these?

    Peter.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  10. #10
    US99c - the only ones I could find from Dynamix were above $30 - wow

    Let us know if they work and what the postage was in $NZ as I bet there might be a few people interested.

Similar Threads

  1. IDE to SATA converters - making the move to a new hard drive
    By deswong in forum Hardware Upgrades/Mods
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 17-02-2009, 01:02 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •