Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 43

Thread: Failed. Service unavailable

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    The last mailing list posting was by me about 20 minutes ago. If you are not getting messages then you may have a problem with your mail getting through, but is it not associated with your TiVo failing.

    Was there any other file you edited?

    Can you attach a copy of your /var/log/tclient log here.

    Peter.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, VIC
    Posts
    100
    I have attached the file.
    No, I didn't edit any other file.
    Also , I have gone through all the network diagnostics that you have in the Wiki and it all worked with flying colours.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by JustinD; 10-10-2008 at 06:47 AM.
    Justin

    TivoHD w/1tb "update"
    TiVo SVR2000 unit w/200Gb Seagate, Turbonetcard & Dlink-810 wireless bridge, FTA Strong STB. Latest image 1.6.###

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    Ok, your DialConfig setting seems to be missing.

    Go into TiVoWeb(Plus)'s MFS module, and click on State, then PhoneConfig.

    Can you please copy the details from that page and paste here.

    Peter.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, VIC
    Posts
    100
    PhoneConfig 2359/10 {
    Version = 17718
    CallWaitingPrefix = {}
    LocalAreaCode = 003
    TollFreeNum = 0
    DialInAreaCode = {}
    DialInPrefix = {}
    DialInNum = 1272240
    LastDialInUpdateDate = 14152
    InventoryFile = {}
    LastSuccessCallSecInDay = 1222762637
    LastSuccessPgdCallSecInDay = 1222762637
    DialConfig = 127
    DialPrefix = ,#401
    LastCallAttemptSecInDay = 1223665516
    CallStatusInfo = 48
    LastCallStatus = Failed
    NextCallAttemptSecInDay = 1223683681
    IndexPath = /State/PhoneConfig
    Justin

    TivoHD w/1tb "update"
    TiVo SVR2000 unit w/200Gb Seagate, Turbonetcard & Dlink-810 wireless bridge, FTA Strong STB. Latest image 1.6.###

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    Did you perhaps also try editing tclient.conf?

    Peter.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, VIC
    Posts
    100
    No -I only edited oztivo.conf as it was mentioned in this thread and I was having problems with the guide and failed calls. If the tivo is working its best left well alone (in my opinion). That said, last night I did try and edit resolv.conf as per a post in the mailing group, putting in some other name servers (I think thats what it did)

    eg. echo nameserver ..../etc/resolv.conf

    But otherwise nothing. No point in trying to edit them if I have no clue, and I only tried resolv.conf since I am a bit desperate. As I said, I can do a passable monkey impression
    Last edited by JustinD; 11-10-2008 at 09:40 AM. Reason: clarification of innocence
    Justin

    TivoHD w/1tb "update"
    TiVo SVR2000 unit w/200Gb Seagate, Turbonetcard & Dlink-810 wireless bridge, FTA Strong STB. Latest image 1.6.###

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    Can you post your /etc/tclient.conf file (cat /etc/tclient.conf).

    Peter.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, VIC
    Posts
    100
    I have included two files. One is the tclient.conf.orig and another is tclient.conf.oztivo
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Justin

    TivoHD w/1tb "update"
    TiVo SVR2000 unit w/200Gb Seagate, Turbonetcard & Dlink-810 wireless bridge, FTA Strong STB. Latest image 1.6.###

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    Ok, Then for some reason you no longer have the needed tclient.conf file.

    Try these commands one after the other.
    Code:
    rw
    cp /etc/tclient.conf-oztivo /etc/tclient.conf
    ro
    reboot
    Then try a daily call again.

    Peter.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, VIC
    Posts
    100
    thanks. it seems to be downloading and indexing the guilde data now.

    I guess when I did ftp'd the other day something must have happened

    Anyway, seems to work now. thanks!

    Also, now I have got my serial connection thingy setup if I run into further issues at some point. Also, I know now to only use Joe or something similar for edits
    Justin

    TivoHD w/1tb "update"
    TiVo SVR2000 unit w/200Gb Seagate, Turbonetcard & Dlink-810 wireless bridge, FTA Strong STB. Latest image 1.6.###

Similar Threads

  1. Failed. Service unavailable
    By MelissaH in forum TV Guide Issues
    Replies: 51
    Last Post: 10-06-2009, 06:20 PM
  2. Failed: Service unavailable
    By SteveP in forum TV Guide Issues
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 15-04-2009, 01:00 AM
  3. Failed. Service unavailable
    By kiltannen in forum New Zealand TV Guide Issues
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 17-12-2008, 09:01 PM
  4. Failed. Service unavailable
    By amilgrom in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 16-10-2006, 10:13 PM
  5. Failed. Service unavailable
    By RalphMesiti in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 24-05-2006, 03:26 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •