Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Picture Comparison for New TivoHD

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland
    Posts
    4

    Smile Picture Comparison for New TivoHD

    Hey All, Picked up my new Tivo HD on Friday last week and spent the weekend doing a comparison.

    Tivo HD v Tivo S1
    Tivo HD v LG 4100 STB

    I did a side by side comparison using 2 x 50PX LG Plasmas, looking mainly at picture quality improvements of the Tivo HD over the S1 with the 4100 as the digital source. And this is what I found...

    S1 menu is a lot smoother with less glitches than the Tivo HD.
    S1 menu is faster than the Tivo HD
    Using the 4100 straight into the plasma (no S1), the digital picture quality was less (noticeably) pixilated than the Tivo HD...sometimes, mainly this happened only when the Tivo HD was recording a program while watching live TV.

    And now those buggers over at Seven have removed my wonderful music streaming option....

    Saying all this I still love it so much (Tivo HD), that I went out and purchased another unit...may even increase it to 3 sometimes in the near future....that is when the prices come down a little more
    Last edited by Omnialpha; 22-07-2008 at 12:22 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    When comparing the output of the TiVoHD to the LG 4100 direct, did you use the same physical connection (cvbs/svhs) and what output mode were they both in?

    Peter.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Traralgon, Vic
    Posts
    12
    All I know is that the TiVo HD picture quality is a better one than my Digital TV Tuner inbuilt into my Bravia X Series, and that's not to say that the X Series tuner is dodgy, but there is definately a noticable quality jump there

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland
    Posts
    4
    Hello, I used the same connection for all my testing which was the component RGB with optical out.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    Thanks did you have the TiVo set to native?

    Peter
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland
    Posts
    4
    Sure did, both going for 1080i...Sorry that I forgot to add this info earlier

Similar Threads

  1. Losing sound, still picture
    By viewer in forum Australian TiVoHD
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 25-02-2018, 09:18 PM
  2. Garbled picture or no sound
    By Skolink in forum NZ TiVoHD
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 20-10-2010, 10:50 AM
  3. Picture/System Freezing
    By GeoffWilson in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 43
    Last Post: 03-09-2008, 12:20 AM
  4. TiVo MySky comparison
    By Larry Spitz in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16-01-2008, 06:42 PM
  5. Picture Quality
    By 1downunder in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-06-2007, 08:49 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •