Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: What the largest hard drive Tivo can support

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Christchurch, NZ
    Posts
    31

    What the largest hard drive Tivo can support

    Anyone know?

    With the price of hard drives dropping it feels like time to upgrade the drive and reimage... and might as well go big while I'm at it

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Victoria
    Posts
    1,218
    I do know 750GB have been used but nobody has reported larger than this, although there is no reason why not.

    Remember the proviso you ensure it is not a SATA interface and if it is Seagate you stick to one drive only as per these guidelines: http://www.oztivo.net/twiki/bin/view...Hints_and_Tips

    PS: your other identical post in the NZ specific area was deleted. Please do not crosspost.
    Darren King
    OzTiVo Repairs and Modifications
    If your TiVo requires repairs or modifications
    then visit: http://kingey1971.wix.com/tivorepairs

  3. #3
    There are many different barriers in place for drive sizes.

    With the right preparation you could use a 2TB drive in the S1 but you have to build the file system by hand. The current version of MFSTools will let a drive upto 1tb work. With the latest version of WinMFS should allow you to use a 1.5 or 2TB drive but only 1TB + your original capacity would be usable.

    The most likely limit of a properly configured S1 is 2.2TB.

    Threads of interest include -
    http://mfslive.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=257 starting on page 6 is when it gets real fun
    http://tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb/sho...d.php?t=416133 similar discussion

    I have personally used an S1 with two 500gb drives at one time.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Victoria
    Posts
    1,218
    Given most people rely on the prepared installer CD and for ease of troubleshooting the practical limit would be 1TB. As pointed out in another recent thread there are also very good reasons for loss of bulk recordings if a hard disk fails why you probably should not consider more than this figure anyway.
    Darren King
    OzTiVo Repairs and Modifications
    If your TiVo requires repairs or modifications
    then visit: http://kingey1971.wix.com/tivorepairs

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Wellington, NZ
    Posts
    24
    Ciper, you could help me by telling what brand/model of 500gb drives you're using. I'm beginning to think my two Western Digital WD AV WD5000AVJB Hard Disk Drives, 500GB, 7200rpm, 8MB Cache, ATA-6/100 aren't compatible, or at least not in a pair.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    463
    I can tell you the Western Digital Caviar Blue (WD5000AAKB and WD5000AAJB) are definitely not compatible. I hope that is not also the case with the AV drives.

    TiVo Series3 TiVoHD x2

Similar Threads

  1. Tivo 663320 Hard Drive Failure
    By stifilz in forum Australian TiVoHD
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 14-04-2013, 01:16 PM
  2. Added second hard drive and system will tivo will not boot
    By pug in forum Hardware Upgrades/Mods
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-05-2010, 09:31 AM
  3. Is there a max size hard drive that Tivo can use?
    By jamesthecarman in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21-04-2007, 07:39 PM
  4. Tivo Startup Problem(Is it my Hard Drive?)
    By aekara_omadara in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-08-2006, 01:22 AM
  5. Hard Drive Space on Tivo
    By zollymonsta in forum Hardware Upgrades/Mods
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-04-2004, 08:29 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •