Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: Stuck in guided setup

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Vic
    Posts
    51

    Stuck in guided setup

    I was changing to the new emulator but I used the instructions for 1.4 not 1.5 without realising. I then tried to make a daily call however the call failed as "dial-in number" could not be chosen. Stupidly I then thought there was something wrong with my phone settings so I then tried to do a guided setup to check them. At this point I then realised that maybe my TiVo image wasn't 1.4 and found out it was 1.5. So then I upgraded my image to 1.6 and performed the remote transfer to the new emulator.

    My problem is that i can not get out of the guided setup, make a daily call or watch live tv and there is no guide data.

    I can still telnet in...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Tasmania
    Posts
    77
    Hi Eden

    I am brand new here with very little knowledge but I found it so simple to remove the hd from the tivo, and install a brand new oztivo image that I thought I'd just suggest it. That way you can be sure you're starting off cleanly, and anyone else who posts will know exactly what you have on the tivo HD at the outset.

    You've probably already thought of this and I'm sorry if I'm wasting your time.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Vic
    Posts
    51
    Thanks NetMedic, I have thought of doing that but I think that might have to be a last resort option.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    What is stopping you from completing Guided setup?

    Peter
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Vic
    Posts
    51
    It fails when I make a daily call. It says "Failed. No dial-in number chosen" as the reason.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    What postcode are you entering and what source(s) have you selected?

    Peter.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Vic
    Posts
    51
    The program source is cable (I have a dgtech hd set top box because of an ntsc tuner) and the postcode is 03000. After all this is put in it fails when doing the first phone home.

    eden

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    Do you know how to look up the logs?

    If you do could you please zip up your tclient.log and post it here.

    if you don't then let me know and I will type up some instructions.

    Peter.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Vic
    Posts
    51
    Sorry peter I think i'll need some instructions. I think I know what you are talking about but I'm a bit scared I'll make more of a mess than I already have.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    ok, what program are you using to access your TiVo, and have you used a program called vi (or vim) or joe before?

    Peter.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

Similar Threads

  1. Guided setup without mod
    By Charliektm400exc in forum Australian TiVoHD
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 30-12-2018, 12:24 PM
  2. Cant get thru Guided Setup
    By dieterm in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-05-2008, 03:27 PM
  3. Guided setup help
    By Paul in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 30-05-2006, 10:23 PM
  4. No Access to Guided Setup
    By medkraft in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 21-08-2005, 06:50 PM
  5. PAL Guided Setup
    By ibart in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-03-2005, 08:39 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •