Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 36

Thread: Daily call failed since swapping to optus

  1. #11
    I could wipe the disk an do a clean install... Could anything be locking the tclient file?

  2. #12
    I tell a lie, the tivo just needed to be rebooted and then it was writing to the tclient file... One of my unix friends told me to do that, as he said it might be a locking problem.

    OK, tclient file attached (renamed to tclient.txt) (I did a reboot, the a forced phone call which failed..)

    Ian
    Attached Files Attached Files

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    Feb 5 19:49:24 (none) comm[150]: Uploading HTTP Header for modLog of /var/log/svclog: POST /tivo-service/mlog.cgi HTTP/1.0^M Content-Length: 13706^M ^M
    Feb 5 19:52:21 (none) comm[150]: XferRqst timeout waiting to read
    This is what we typically see when a newer transparent proxy is involved.

    Peter.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    Try tracetcp again with a server further from you.

    EG.
    C:\>tracetcp ftp.download.com:ftp
    and
    C:\>tracetcp ftp.download.com:http

    Doesn't matter if it doesn't complete. Post the first few lines here if different.

    Peter.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  5. #15
    Interesting, it is a bit different. Works for http, doesn't for ftp.

    Code:
    >tracetcp ftp.download.com:ftp
    
    Tracing route to 216.239.120.101 [c18-gdl-ftp3.cnet.com] on port 21
    Over a maximum of 30 hops.
    1       22 ms   2 ms    2 ms    192.168.34.138  [home.gateway]
    2       *       *       *       Request timed out.
    3       *       *       *       Request timed out.
    Terminate Event Occurred.
    
    >tracetcp ftp.download.com:http
    
    Tracing route to 216.239.120.101 [c18-gdl-ftp3.cnet.com] on port 80
    Over a maximum of 30 hops.
    1       2 ms    2 ms    2 ms    192.168.34.138  [home.gateway]
    2       39 ms   37 ms   35 ms   220.233.1.149   [149.1.233.220.exetel.com.au]
    3       37 ms   37 ms   37 ms   220.233.0.241   [241.0.233.220.exetel.com.au]
    4       38 ms   37 ms   38 ms   10.0.1.1
    5       39 ms   37 ms   37 ms   220.233.2.38    [38.2.233.220.exetel.com.au]
    6       39 ms   37 ms   39 ms   203.166.92.57   [359-ge-0-0-0.GW5.SYD2.ALTER.NET
    ]
    7       40 ms   37 ms   37 ms   210.80.33.189   [0.so-0-2-0.XT1.SYD2.ALTER.NET]
    8       188 ms  187 ms  185 ms  210.80.50.249   [0.so-4-3-0.IR1.LAX12.ALTER.NET]
    
    9       189 ms  186 ms  186 ms  152.63.48.65    [0.so-5-0-0.IL1.LAX9.ALTER.NET]
    10      191 ms  190 ms  190 ms  152.63.112.53   [0.so-6-0-0.XL1.LAX15.ALTER.NET]
    
    11      191 ms  188 ms  188 ms  152.63.116.21   [0.so-6-0-0.BR1.LAX15.ALTER.NET]
    
    12      265 ms  301 ms  303 ms  204.255.168.30
    13      232 ms  232 ms  231 ms  12.127.3.218
    14      *       *       *       Request timed out.
    Terminate Event Occurred.
    So I suppose that means a proxy issue? How do I get around it? Or something wrong with my router setup, as it doesn't seem to be getting out of that? Though I haven't changed that - though it probably has downloaded a stack of new settings from the new isp connection...



    Ian

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    Try the C:\>tracetcp ftp.download.com:ftp command a few more times to see if you can get a better result.

    Also ask exetel if there is a transparent proxy on port 80 of your ADSL2 service.

    Peter
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  7. #17
    Tried it (C:\>tracetcp ftp.download.com:ftp) a few times, it never works.

    A tracert does ie

    Code:
    >tracert ftp.download.com
    
    Tracing route to ftp.download.com [216.239.120.101]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:
    
      1    12 ms     1 ms     1 ms  home.gateway [192.168.34.138]
      2    76 ms    38 ms    36 ms  149.1.233.220.exetel.com.au [220.233.1.149]
      3    46 ms    39 ms    39 ms  241.0.233.220.exetel.com.au [220.233.0.241]
      4    44 ms    38 ms    36 ms  10.0.1.1
      5    51 ms    35 ms    36 ms  38.2.233.220.exetel.com.au [220.233.2.38]
      6    42 ms    41 ms    37 ms  359-ge-0-0-0.GW5.SYD2.ALTER.NET [203.166.92.57]
    
      7    54 ms    49 ms    35 ms  0.so-0-2-0.XT1.SYD2.ALTER.NET [210.80.33.189]
      8   190 ms   191 ms   206 ms  0.so-4-3-0.IR1.LAX12.ALTER.NET [210.80.50.249]
      9   192 ms   199 ms   198 ms  0.so-5-0-0.IL1.LAX9.ALTER.NET [152.63.48.65]
     10   198 ms   196 ms   187 ms  0.so-6-0-0.XL1.LAX15.ALTER.NET [152.63.112.53]
     11   190 ms   187 ms   196 ms  0.so-6-0-0.BR1.LAX15.ALTER.NET [152.63.116.21]
     12   195 ms   200 ms   187 ms  204.255.168.30
     13   235 ms   228 ms   228 ms  12.127.3.218
     14   230 ms   224 ms   226 ms  tbr1.dlstx.ip.att.net [12.122.10.49]
     15   229 ms   220 ms   220 ms  gar10.dlstx.ip.att.net [12.122.100.41]
     16   237 ms   228 ms   225 ms  12.87.121.22
     17   232 ms   223 ms   223 ms  c18-gdl-ftp3.cnet.com [216.239.120.101]
    
    Trace complete.

    With exetel, they are unlikely to answer the question if I post it, as they aren't exactly the best at customer relationships (they abused my for raising my initial problem with adsl2 (which turned out to be that they had given me an incorrect ip address...) so I suspect that they aren't going to answer...

    Assuming there is one, how do I get around it? And why would it be on port 80 if it is the ftp tracetcp that is failing?

    Ian

    Ian
    Last edited by ian; 06-02-2008 at 10:30 AM. Reason: added stuff

  8. #18
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Victoria
    Posts
    1,218
    Quote Originally Posted by ian View Post
    With exetel, they are unlikely to answer the question if I post it, as they aren't exactly the best at customer relationships

    Assuming there is one, how do I get around it?
    Well you are in a catch 22. Best way to get around it is to get the OzTiVo server (minnie.tuhs.org) removed from their transparent proxy. If you reckon they won't help you then life with a TiVo gets a little difficult.
    Darren King
    OzTiVo Repairs and Modifications
    If your TiVo requires repairs or modifications
    then visit: http://kingey1971.wix.com/tivorepairs

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    From your tclient it appears to be a transparent proxy issue.

    If it is a transparent proxy, then we need the IP address from exetel to work around it, or even better for them to exclude minnie.tuhs.org from it.

    I don't know why tracetcp is failing for FTP, there should be no proxy for ftp traffic, only http.

    Peter.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  10. #20
    I've posted a support request for exetel - but they are the 'zero service' isp ie great plans, good quotas, speeds good, but no customer support..

    I'll post something up at whirlpool...

    There is no way around it if we don't know what it is? Would it be one of the ones on the tracert? If we do find out what it is - is there a way around it that doesn't involve them (exetel) doing anything (as there is no chance of that)?

    I mean, it does work when I do a manual wget of the slice, and then load it in and do an index update.. If that works, why can't the auto one work?

    Ian
    Last edited by ian; 06-02-2008 at 09:23 PM. Reason: extra

Similar Threads

  1. Daily Call Failed: Service unavailable
    By imcdermid in forum TV Guide Issues
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 31-05-2016, 11:39 AM
  2. Failed daily call
    By tonys in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-07-2009, 08:55 AM
  3. Daily call failed.
    By lenman74 in forum TV Guide Issues
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 13-05-2009, 04:48 AM
  4. Daily call failing since moving ISP's to Optus
    By eden in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 60
    Last Post: 26-10-2008, 06:55 PM
  5. Failed Daily call
    By palmag in forum TV Guide Issues
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 28-09-2008, 02:53 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •