Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Remote stops working every few days

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    25

    Remote stops working every few days

    I have a new Sony TiVo with a Thomson remote
    Seems to work fine for 3-4 days then it stops responding to the remote.

    No response when I try Tivoweb but it responds to pings and I can Telnet in (with Putty)

    I have 2 Thomson remotes and it does the same thing with both.

    Works fine after reboot until...
    TiVo HD with dual HD tuners and now 1 TB disk upgrade

    Free to a good home;
    Sony SVR-2000 series 1 TiVo with Seagate 320GB disk, TurboNZet card, internal PAL Tuner, stereo sound and second A/V input

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Victoria
    Posts
    1,218
    Common problem. Use the search function in these forums using the phrase event
    Darren King
    OzTiVo Repairs and Modifications
    If your TiVo requires repairs or modifications
    then visit: http://kingey1971.wix.com/tivorepairs

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    25
    Lots of posts referencing the event switcher bug in v3.0 starting from vague references in 2003 and firming up end of 2004. But no permanent fixs or semi-permanent work arounds.

    Having the unit fail to respond to the remote every few days and requiring a reboot or power cycle is a pretty significant fault especially to non-techincal users that you are trying to convince that the TiVo is a 'good idea'.

    If it is fixed in the v4.0 release then has anybody done or are they doing any work to extract the fixed modules and retrofit them to v3.0 ?
    What can I do to help ?
    Last edited by BurnieM; 07-10-2007 at 11:21 AM.
    TiVo HD with dual HD tuners and now 1 TB disk upgrade

    Free to a good home;
    Sony SVR-2000 series 1 TiVo with Seagate 320GB disk, TurboNZet card, internal PAL Tuner, stereo sound and second A/V input

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Wellington, NZ
    Posts
    477
    You can try the usual workarounds such as reducing the IR load on the system. By this I mean having the unit in a spot that does not receive IR interference (like away from windows and any other IR blasters/repeaters). This may reduce the frequency. Otherwise the best thing to do is just trial and error - try lots of different things and see if you can improve your "uptime", then let everybody else know what you find is the best solution.

    I have a UK v2.5.5 unit which is not prone to the 3.0 Event Bug, but also have a US v3.0 unit which has become unresponsive to the remote only twice in the three years that I have used it - so different people seem to have different experiences with the "bug". The main cause seems to be when a process hooks into the event handler and is unable to process the events in the timely manner. Things such as performing daily calls via the TivoWeb Phone module could increase the likelyhood of this happening, although I am not sure this has ever been proven.

Similar Threads

  1. Remote Control stops working nzTivo 1.5
    By sadrake in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 21-07-2007, 07:50 PM
  2. More than 8 days of XMLTV Data??
    By LittleBlackDuck in forum TV Guide Issues
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 18-05-2007, 11:03 PM
  3. Tivo remote not responding + TivoWeb not working after few days
    By spawn154 in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 18-09-2006, 05:13 PM
  4. Remote stops working
    By the3rdplace in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-06-2006, 06:44 PM
  5. SONY Remote Isn't Working
    By woz_331 in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30-09-2005, 07:54 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •