Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: warped clock

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    4

    warped clock

    Hi

    I am having a terrible time with my TiVo

    I thought that everything was OK but noticed that my free-to-air clock was 5 hours behind - I checked the FAQ guides and they indicated that maybe I had a warped clock, followed the procedure to check if I had a warped clock and I did find a line that said ---clock is warped--- - but then an entry says that if my problem occurred after April a warped clock could not be the issue

    The FAQ gave some telnet instructions but as my Tivo is after April and as I do not understand telnet I did not go down that track

    I thought that maybe my daily calls had been unsuccessful but I checked and a daily call was successful yesterday (Friday) pm at 3.42 - I then tried to force a daily call through the Tivo web project - but each time it failed with service unavailable - test calls failed in the same way.

    I then decided to do my guided setup again as maybe there was a problem when I last did the guided setup - but the guided setup won't work now as I get service unavailable

    I can access my Tivo through the tivo web project and I can ping it from my computer and I don't know why I can't get a setup call to work as they all worked before!

    Any help would be really appreciated

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    39
    As you are aware from your PM to me the server must be down this afternoon as I cannot 'make the call' either and I know it's not my network and/or card etc.

    Lets hope it comes back up soon as I want/need to get my tivo working again as it should.

    Just thought I would post this if somebody else was having the same drama trying to make the daily call etc.
    ______________________
    3 x TiVo HD [1TB HDD], HNP

    TiVo HD212 [300gb HHD, Turbocard] For Sale
    TiVo HD312 [300gb HHD, Turbocard] For Sale

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Victoria
    Posts
    1,228
    Just posted a "news" thread regarding the outage.
    Darren King
    OzTiVo Repairs and Modifications
    If your TiVo requires repairs or modifications
    then visit: http://kingey1971.wix.com/tivorepairs

    NOW ALSO REPAIRING FETCH TOO!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    39
    Thanks Darren. I knew it was out but I am happy to hear it officially from you.

    http://forums.oztivo.net/showthread.php?t=1153
    ______________________
    3 x TiVo HD [1TB HDD], HNP

    TiVo HD212 [300gb HHD, Turbocard] For Sale
    TiVo HD312 [300gb HHD, Turbocard] For Sale

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Victoria
    Posts
    1,228
    No problems

    And I am happy to report it is now operational again.
    Darren King
    OzTiVo Repairs and Modifications
    If your TiVo requires repairs or modifications
    then visit: http://kingey1971.wix.com/tivorepairs

    NOW ALSO REPAIRING FETCH TOO!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Victoria
    Posts
    1,228
    Hi Trevor

    Just in case you redo Guided Setup and still experience the warped clock messages this is not hard to remedy via telnet.

    Grab yourself a copy of a program called PuTTY. This is a freeware program that will give you the ability to telnet. You can get it from here: http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~s.../download.html

    Or just do a Google for: putty telnet

    Once you have it you will need to change one of the settings in PuTTY. You will need to disable "Return key sends telnet New Line instead of ^M" in the Connection settings.

    From the system menu select "Change Settings...".
    Click on "Connection" in the Category window.
    Deselect "Return key sends telnet New Line instead of ^M".
    Click the "Apply" button.

    Then all you need to do is enter in your IP address, ensure it is for Port 23 and select Telnet as your protocol. You should then see a telnet session with the TiVo bash prompt: [TiVo [p0] ~]#

    Then just follow the instructions as per #6 of the instructions for fixing a warped clock

    [TiVo [p0] ~]# touch /var/timestamp
    [TiVo [p0] ~]# /hack/bin/force_index.tcl

    While I am on the subject of the instructions for fixing a warped clock, nowhere does it say that you SHOULDN'T follow the instructions if you using R1.4 software after April (2005). You can still get the odd occurrance of a warped clock at any time. What it IS trying to point out by that statement is you are more likely to get it if that software release of the oztivo image was used.

    Darren
    Darren King
    OzTiVo Repairs and Modifications
    If your TiVo requires repairs or modifications
    then visit: http://kingey1971.wix.com/tivorepairs

    NOW ALSO REPAIRING FETCH TOO!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    4

    warped clock

    Thanks Darren

    I will give the telnet thing a go tomorrow

    You advise that it is operational again - but I have just tried the setup call and a test call again and I still get "service unavailable"

    Everything looks fine at my end as I can access Tivo web project and I can ping my TiVo without problem??????

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Victoria
    Posts
    1,228
    All works fine this way. Just tried several test calls and a manual download of guide data.... all worked fine.
    Darren King
    OzTiVo Repairs and Modifications
    If your TiVo requires repairs or modifications
    then visit: http://kingey1971.wix.com/tivorepairs

    NOW ALSO REPAIRING FETCH TOO!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    39
    Yes I tried it twice and works fine after 8pm tonight.
    ______________________
    3 x TiVo HD [1TB HDD], HNP

    TiVo HD212 [300gb HHD, Turbocard] For Sale
    TiVo HD312 [300gb HHD, Turbocard] For Sale

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    4

    warped clock

    I rebooted the TiVo and the setup worked - thanks everyone

    But my clock is still 5 hours behind - it says 07.35pm at 00.35am - I will try the telnet thing again tomorrow when I am more awake

Similar Threads

  1. Setting the clock on a Thomson
    By ianjf2000 in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 27-04-2008, 04:12 PM
  2. Clock warped
    By Tony in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 13-06-2006, 09:36 AM
  3. Warped Clock - Constant Problem
    By specialk23 in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 18-05-2006, 02:25 PM
  4. Warped Clock
    By dyrplq in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 13-03-2006, 10:31 AM
  5. The clock runs slow in this image!!!
    By 105547111 in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 28-04-2004, 08:50 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •