Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Large hard drives that work on Series 1?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Wellington, NZ
    Posts
    24

    Large hard drives that work on Series 1?

    I'm wanting to reimage with two 500GB hard drives (Western Digital WD5000AVJB ) and the Tivo won't get past the first splash screen with either 1 or 2 installed.

    Any advice on specific large hard drives that do work either singly or in pairs that do work on a Series 1 would be fantastic.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    Unfortunately those drives may not work in TiVo's.

    It's possible that most of WD's current range may not work.

    We had documented some of the models on our Prepare Disk Page, but I have not had any reports about this particular drive though.

    Have you tried with just one drive?

    Peter.
    Last edited by petestrash; 11-06-2010 at 04:28 PM. Reason: corrected my reply.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Wellington, NZ
    Posts
    24
    These WD 500GBs won't work in pairs or alone, or with a Seagate 250GB that does work together with one of the WDs as a 2nd drive.

    So I think these are safe to say no-go on a Tivo, and I continue my search for some bigger drives.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    No worries I'll add it to the list.

    Peter.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Hamilton, NZ
    Posts
    196

    Intellipark?

    Do these Western Digital drives include the intellipark feature? Or is that only for >1TB green drives?

    See point 29: Where are the Western Digital "Green" drives? Weren't those recommended before?
    http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=370784

    If it is intellipark that is causing the problem, then it is easy to disable using the instructions provided.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    the Intellipark issue with TiVo HD's is not relevent here, as it only effects soft reboots. Hard reboots are fine even on TiVo HD's without intellipark disabled. It only becomes an issue after a soft reboot from the menus or after a software update.

    The problem is a change made by WD to the firmware of some drives starting around Jan 2009 which made them incompatible (even the same model which worked in 2008 did not work if made in 2009), WD had promised to correct the issue by mid 2009 but never did.

    I don't know which new "feature" actually causes the issue.

    Peter.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

Similar Threads

  1. Bigger Hard Drives
    By LiveToRide in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 24-08-2008, 03:38 PM
  2. Hard Drives: re-purposing (partitioning for other machines)
    By brindafella in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 23-09-2007, 05:41 PM
  3. Current Recommendations for Hard Drives?
    By BenMorgan in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 16-01-2007, 04:21 PM
  4. Update Change Hard Drives.
    By daggo in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 24-07-2006, 12:10 PM
  5. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-06-2006, 12:04 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •