Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: New Zealand Install Images Testing

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    The Mainland
    Posts
    542

    New Zealand Install Images Testing

    Quote Originally Posted by petestrash
    Hi,

    The pvr10uk.255.oztivo_emulator.release1.3beta image will pass the OzTiVo guided setup, I am not aware of anyone localising it for NZ.

    The only reason we have stuck with 3.0 is that we have now modified it enough that one image will run on all hardware (Sony, Philips, Thomson, TiVo) making support for the group much easier.

    Some people prefer the loopsets in the Sony or Thomson images to go with their machines, but we do not encourage using them and at this point we have no intention of releasing updated OzTiVo versions.

    Peter.
    Thanks Peter, as a note I am current working on localising the images HDR, SVR 3.0 and the PVR 2.5.5 for NZ. Basically not much to be done just a few tweaks and they are well progressed.

    It does tie in with some significant emulator changes to bring the NZ system inline with the OZ system. I tested the UK tivo here and it would not work on the existing system, but they do pass the new headends ok with a little emu cgi tweak.

    ---- update --->

    The first New Zealand customised ozTiVo ISO images have been created and released on orac for testing. (call it beta at this stage looking for some feedback from testers)

    Location: ftp://orac.caffeine.co.nz/install_images/

    There is one for the HDR-x12 (philips) and one for the SVR-2000 (sony).

    They are both version 3.0 as per the ozTiVo images.

    Minor New Zealand specific customisations have been done such as working directly with the NZ emulator.

    This should make the installation process painless, and coupled with a new emulator rollout shortly [1st March onto port 8000] the process of setting up a TiVo in NZ should be significantly simplified.
    Last edited by DJC; 28-02-2006 at 10:34 PM.
    1 x Philips TiVo Series 1, Cachecard, 1 x 1TB SATA (with recent TradeMe sourced adaptor), Mk II Pal Tuner Mod, NZ Emulator, Previously Dual A/V Source, Now Pay Satellite
    2 x TiVo HD, Freeview, HNP, 2TB (WD-AV) jmfs upgraded
    1 x Thomson UK TiVo, Cachecard, 200GB, Testing Work

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    74

    IR Codes

    This sounds great guys. Has anything been done with implementing IR Codes for Sky and Saturn in the image or is this something that can't be changed like that and will always have to be applied manually?

    Phil

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    The Mainland
    Posts
    542

    Volunteers

    IR Stuff hasn't been updated on the images. The new emulator supplies an IR slice to new setups and this would be the place to do it.

    All we need to do is for someone with these devices to volunteer a bit of time and create the necessary codes, then perhaps if we can include them in the oztivo IR slice, then the emulator will feed new setups with the needed codes.

    I have a pace so cannot help.. and have put too much time in recently .

    Volunteers?

    - Saturn analogue/digital..
    - Sky non pace decoder..
    Last edited by DJC; 16-02-2006 at 09:11 AM.
    1 x Philips TiVo Series 1, Cachecard, 1 x 1TB SATA (with recent TradeMe sourced adaptor), Mk II Pal Tuner Mod, NZ Emulator, Previously Dual A/V Source, Now Pay Satellite
    2 x TiVo HD, Freeview, HNP, 2TB (WD-AV) jmfs upgraded
    1 x Thomson UK TiVo, Cachecard, 200GB, Testing Work

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    74

    Zenith

    I have the Zenith Sky ir codes. Have no idea where I would need to put them in the image or anything but am happy to supply them to somebody who does.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    The Mainland
    Posts
    542
    Quote Originally Posted by dyrplq
    I have the Zenith Sky ir codes. Have no idea where I would need to put them in the image or anything but am happy to supply them to somebody who does.
    Look here http://minnie.tuhs.org/tivo-bin/irdatabase.cgi

    And from http://minnie.tuhs.org/twiki/bin/vie...ersionAndSetup
    • Upload the files to the IR Database so they get put in the IR slices!
    I've uploaded the skyZenith slice and the skyMotorola codes ... lets see how it goes ...

    EDIT: Someone with these decoders should check (or update) the entries as necessary

    UPDATE: Peter from OzTiVo has graciously agreed to update the IR slice for us
    Last edited by DJC; 16-02-2006 at 12:56 PM.
    1 x Philips TiVo Series 1, Cachecard, 1 x 1TB SATA (with recent TradeMe sourced adaptor), Mk II Pal Tuner Mod, NZ Emulator, Previously Dual A/V Source, Now Pay Satellite
    2 x TiVo HD, Freeview, HNP, 2TB (WD-AV) jmfs upgraded
    1 x Thomson UK TiVo, Cachecard, 200GB, Testing Work

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Wellington, NZ
    Posts
    570
    Quote Originally Posted by DJC
    - Saturn analogue/digital...
    Analogue is included as standard in the TiVo ir slice (General Instrument).
    The digital one is included in the OzTivo IR slice, labelled as 'OzTivo Austar'.
    The Austar code works with the Saturn Digital Box (Made by the same manufacturer). So, no ir capture is required.

    ZollyMonsta

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    74

    Done then?

    So do we now have all versions of Sky & Saturn IR codes?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Hamilton, NZ
    Posts
    196
    Quote Originally Posted by dyrplq
    So do we now have all versions of Sky & Saturn IR codes?
    No sky uhf - but since those remotes are carrier-less it is very difficult to learn, and chances are that the tivo hardware couldn't generate the correct IR blaster signals anyway (if you did find some method to learn it)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Wellington, NZ
    Posts
    570
    Quote Originally Posted by catdog
    No sky uhf - but since those remotes are carrier-less it is very difficult to learn, and chances are that the tivo hardware couldn't generate the correct IR blaster signals anyway (if you did find some method to learn it)

    *giggles at Sky UHF*

    Personally, I don't think it's really worth worrying about Sky UHF on it. But that's just my opinion.

    ZollyMonsta

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    The Mainland
    Posts
    542
    Ok the OZ guys have rolled a new slice, many thanks goes to petestrash for his help and quick response on it.

    I've looked at the slice and the codes that we uploaded into the IR database a day or so ago are included (not surprisingly).

    The new slice is up in the new emulator staging area at present and I've tested a daily call against it, which worked and updated nicely.

    So, the upshot is that IR codes should no longer be a problem for the main decoders once the new emulator system is rolled out.

    And in the future, for any additional STB's or FTA DVB receivers or VCR's, we should follow the course of getting the codes into the oztivo IR database.
    1 x Philips TiVo Series 1, Cachecard, 1 x 1TB SATA (with recent TradeMe sourced adaptor), Mk II Pal Tuner Mod, NZ Emulator, Previously Dual A/V Source, Now Pay Satellite
    2 x TiVo HD, Freeview, HNP, 2TB (WD-AV) jmfs upgraded
    1 x Thomson UK TiVo, Cachecard, 200GB, Testing Work

Similar Threads

  1. Testing latest nztivo Dec06RC1 UK image
    By slangnz in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-08-2008, 09:15 PM
  2. Are there any slice files to use against the current images?
    By section.leader.klegg in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-05-2007, 07:31 AM
  3. roxio toast software and oztivo images
    By lenman74 in forum Software Upgrades/Mods
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-02-2007, 11:41 PM
  4. FAQ: New Zealand Custom Install Images
    By DJC in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 18-12-2006, 04:41 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •