Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Using New Emulator ... -13 hr time problem

  1. #1

    Using New Emulator ... -13 hr time problem

    Hi,

    Quick intro, I've had my Tivo for over a year now & have been very happy with it & most grateful to all the helpful people in this forum who have usually already posted answers to my questions before I've even had to ask them. So thanks for your excellent efforts, especially those of you who have been providing the guide data...its what makes Tivo so good !

    I've been away on holiday for a couple of weeks & missed both the daylight savings issues & the recent issues with the original emulator ( where I was getting my guide data from, usually very successfully), Got back from holiday, read the forums & decided to make the jump to the new emulator.

    Following the instructions, all went well & I've got guide data from 210.48.107.133:80 no probs. Guide data even looks better. However...

    It seems that every time I call up & get new data, the clock gets set to GMT, with no daylight savings...ie 13 hrs out.

    I'm hoping someone out there can give me a clue as to what I've done wrong.

    Here's some info & what I've done so far:

    I'm on version 1.3 ...it was set up in august 2004. Startup screen says Version 3.0, release 1.

    To try & fix the time problem:
    I downloaded the postcodezones & Auckland files , installed as per instructions in one of the old posts.
    Fixtivotime complained about not finding postcode 2113.
    Found the post on editing postcodezones file to change Pacific/Auckland postcode to 2113. Did this.
    Fixtivotime then ran, but set Tivo to be at GMT, with no daylight savings...thus 13 hrs out.
    Ran timezoneadj30.tcl & set timezone to 7 , rebooted.
    Settime to correct time.
    Ran fixtivotime again to check all is well ...and it reset the time to gmt again...13 hrs out again!
    So did a settime again to set correct time & went away to see if I could find an answer to my problem in the forums. For once I couldn't find an answer.

    This morning, Tivo called the new emulator again & got new guide data ...also seems to have reset clock again & its now 13 hrs out again.

    Output from fixtivotime looks like this :

    [TiVo [p0] ~]# fixtivotime
    Our postcode is 02113. Found matching timezone Pacific/Auckland
    Offset 0 for timezone GMT, daylight saving is 0
    Connecting to time server 207.126.98.204
    t was 3337922370 from server
    t is now 1128933570
    Time is 2005-10-10 08:39:30
    Time set to: Mon Oct 10 08:39:30 2005
    Have a nice day.
    Time set to: Mon Oct 10 08:39:30 2005
    Have a nice day.

    This looks wrong to me ...shouldn't offset be 12 & daylight saving be 1 ?
    If so, can anyone help me fix this ?? Is the problem with my Auckland file ?

    BTW I'm in Auckland, Tivo connected via ethernet , DSL & Xtra. Using Sky Pace box. Series 1 Tivo.

    Sorry for the long post, but thought more info would be better than less.

    Thanks in advance for any help you can give.

    David

    EDIT/DJC: The correct postcodezones file for nz is located at ftp://orac.caffeine.co.nz/install/postcodezones for those not running the NZ customised instalk images.
    Last edited by DJC; 02-06-2006 at 07:49 PM.

  2. #2
    Quote Originally Posted by dread
    Our postcode is 02113. Found matching timezone Pacific/Auckland
    Offset 0 for timezone GMT, daylight saving is 0
    Boy does this bring memories back...

    Have a look at

    http://tivo/mfs/State/LocationConfig

    If you don't see a line that says:
    PostalCode = 00800

    do this.

    dbsetx /State/LocationConfig PostalCode 00800

    reboot and try the fixtimezone again.

    Original reference:
    http://minnie.tuhs.org/pipermail/ozt...ch/011367.html

    NZ mod:
    http://oztivo.net/forums/printthread...7&page=2&pp=10

  3. #3
    Hi Wibble,

    Thanks for this, have tried it, but it still doesn't fix the problem.

    What this seems to do is set the Tivo postalcode to 0800, which is then used to look up the postalcodes file, & match it to a timezone file...which should be Pacific/Auckland.

    So I'm guessing therefore that you also set the postalcodes file back to have a line :
    0800 Pacific/Auckland

    doing that, still gets me:

    Our postcode is 00800. Found matching timezone Pacific/Auckland
    Offset 0 for timezone GMT, daylight saving is 0


    which still ends up with the time 13 hrs out.

    I'm not an expert, but it seems like the Auckland timezone file should have an offset of 12 ??? Just not sure how to get this.

    Any further help greatly appreciated.

    D

  4. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by dread
    Hi Wibble,

    Thanks for this, have tried it, but it still doesn't fix the problem.
    Other thing I remember (ages since I did this)
    When ftp'ing make sure it is set to binary,
    1st time I tried it was set to text and none of this worked..
    Check the filesize of the Auckland file on your tivo against the original one.
    If they are different ftp it again as binary.
    (Same for the postcodezones)

    This is my /etc/postcodezones file:
    # Two columns, separated by one tab only.
    #
    00800 Pacific/Auckland
    02000 Australia/Sydney
    02600 Australia/Sydney
    03000 Australia/Melbourne
    04000 Australia/Brisbane
    05000 Australia/Adelaide
    06000 Australia/Perth
    07000 Australia/Hobart

    From the instructions I followed:

    *cd /var/hack/zoneinfo/ *
    *mkdir Pacific *
    FTP this file (Auckland <tivo/Auckland>) to the
    */var/hack/zoneinfo/Pacific* directory
    *chmod 777 Auckland *
    *ro *
    *fixtivotime*

  5. #5
    Hi Wibble,

    Thanks ...it was the binary mode transfer that made the difference. I transferred the Auckland file again in binary mode.

    Now settivotime does this:

    Our postcode is 00800. Found matching timezone Pacific/Auckland
    Offset 46800 for timezone NZDT, daylight saving is 1
    Connecting to time server 207.126.98.204
    t was 3338006877 from server
    t is now 1129064877
    Time is 2005-10-11 21:07:57
    Time set to: Tue Oct 11 21:07:57 2005
    Have a nice day.
    Time set to: Tue Oct 11 21:07:58 2005
    Have a nice day.


    Which looks good & leaves me with the correct time UNTIL the Tivo makes a call & sets the clock during the call. After the call I'm back to 13 hrs out again.

    Is there something else I need to do to get the right time from the emulator ?

    Feels like we're almost there...

    D

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by dread
    Which looks good & leaves me with the correct time UNTIL the Tivo makes a call & sets the clock during the call. After the call I'm back to 13 hrs out again.
    D
    Well your fixtivotime is setup properly, this is what I got this morning:
    [TiVo [p0] ~]# /hack/bin/fixtivotime
    Our postcode is 00800. Found matching timezone Pacific/Auckland
    Offset 46800 for timezone NZDT, daylight saving is 1
    Connecting to time server 207.126.98.204
    t was 3338047054 from server
    t is now 1129105054
    Time is 2005-10-12 08:17:34
    Time set to: Wed Oct 12 08:17:34 2005
    Have a nice day.
    Time set to: Wed Oct 12 08:17:35 2005
    Have a nice day.


    Did you reboot the tivo after your setup the postcode?
    That's the only thing I can think of.

  7. #7
    Yup, have rebooted. Its definitely something that happens when I call the emulator...I can watch the call proceed & as soon at it gets to the "setting clock" msg, the clock gets reset to 13hrs out.

    I've tried a postalcode of 00800 and 02113 and get the same result. ( A line in the tclient log shows that the emulator thinks it's in postalcode 02113 , so thought I'd try that...makes no difference though).

    Is there someone who understands how the emulator works that may be able to shed some light on this ?

    Or maybe is there a log that is generated that may shed some light on this ?

    thanks for your help
    Dread

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    Stepping over the pond here...

    Are you running r1.4 of the OzTiVo image ?

    if you are, try setting the time correctly then run

    Code:
    ntpdate 207.126.98.204
    Has the time changed like it does during the call to the emulator ?

    Peter
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  9. #9
    Hi,

    I'm running 1.3 Oztivo image .

    ntpdate still seemed to run when I tried it though & yes it did reset the time just like the emulator does.

    what does this tell us ?

    D

  10. #10
    You might have a different version of the ntpdate than I have.

    Try this:
    ls -la /bin/ntpdate*

    This is what I get:
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 0 0 24 Mar 16 2004 ntpdate -> ../hack/bin/fixtime.cron
    -rwxr-xr-x 1 0 0 299512 May 30 2002 ntpdate.orig

    if your ntpdate is not the link to /hack/bin/fixtime.cron
    do the following:
    rw
    cd /bin
    mv ntpdate ntpdate.orig
    ln -s /hack/bin/fixtime.cron ntpdate
    ro

    Now run /bin/ntpdate which should give you the right time.

Similar Threads

  1. Time issues with Daylight Saving and Guide Time
    By Ray in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-04-2010, 06:55 AM
  2. New Emulator Migration problem
    By GeoffWilson in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23-06-2008, 10:48 PM
  3. Problem with Setting the Time
    By gideon_friedmann in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-04-2006, 08:46 AM
  4. TiVo time problem
    By Wanted in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 27-01-2006, 09:09 PM
  5. Tivo Time Problem
    By sadrake in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 10-08-2005, 06:47 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •