Thread: Tivo freezes at start up

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Tivo freezes at start up

Hello All
    I have been using the TIVO for a few months now and it has been working perfectly however recently the power to the house went off and now the Tivo will not boot up. It gets to the "Your PTV Receiver is starting up. Please wait a moment" screen and will not progress any further.
    The HDD appears to be fine as it is recognised in Device Manager by my computer running Windows XP.
    I have tried to re-image the drive however with the latest image installer I get a "Drive Not Ready - System Halted" error from the Intel Boot Agent. If I use an older image then it works OK but I did not try to install the image as a) I need the later version and b) I would prefer not to re-image the drive as I have saved shows I would like to view. Unfortunately I do not have another drive to try.

Does anyone know the solution to this problem? What stage of the boot process is the TIVO at when that screen is viewed? Could the problem be hardware related and not the hard drive image?

Regards

Phil

Hi Phil

The "Your PTV Receiver is starting up. Please wait a moment" screen is also known as the Boot PROM screen and is actually in a chip on the motherboard. You would even see this screen with NO hard disk connected.

As such you are either faced with a few scenarios here:

1. The IDE controller on the TiVo motherboard has failed. Unlikely however.

2. The power supply in the TiVo has failed in a fashion that still allows power for kicking the TiVo into life but not fully. Possible, but unlikely.

3. The hard disk has died. Most likely. Even if your PC BIOS can recognise it that is no certainty the drive is being read and therefore you won't get past the Boot PROM screen on the TiVo. Hard drives that are working fine and appear OK can fail after a power cycle.