Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: HELP - our TiVo freezes at Your Recorder is starting up, please wait a moment....

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Wellington, NZ
    Posts
    6

    Unhappy HELP - our TiVo freezes at Your Recorder is starting up, please wait a moment....

    Firstly, a big thank you to all who make TiVo possible in NZ/Aust!

    We've had our TiVo nearly a year now and just love it

    I thought I'ld make a small improvement to it, namely, to see if there was a setting to check for dial tone before dialling out to get data (currently wife has to run to pull out TiVo's phone cord if it dials out while she's on the phone).

    I had thought I had found such a setting in the rc.sysinit.tivohack file with dbsetx /State/PhoneConfig DialToneCheck 0, so I commented out the line with a # (perhaps I should have changed the 0 to a 1 instead). So I;
    rw
    nano rc.sysinit.tivohack (and did the above edit and saved the change)
    ro
    reboot

    Now our TiVo sits (all night) with Your Recorder is starting up, please wait a moment.... with the colour picture.

    Is there anything I can do to get TiVo to boot? TiVoweb and Telnet (through PuTTY) are unresponsive (I'm sure it hasn't booted or finished booting).

    Do I really have to reimage the hard drive?

    If I reimage a brand new hard drive, can I get any of the TV programs off the old hard drive?

    And, is there a safe way to enable dial tone checking?

    All help much appreciated.

    regards,
    Sandy

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    Try:
    Howto/StopRebootLoop

    Even though you are not in a reboot loop, It deal with methods that you can use to try and fix your tivo.

    Peter.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

Similar Threads

  1. New software turns PC into TiVo TV recorder
    By ozNick in forum General Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 30-11-2008, 02:17 AM
  2. Tivo Freezes on Startup..
    By star in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 22-02-2007, 05:29 PM
  3. Tivo Freezes and Sound cuts out...
    By arvesolland in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 01-03-2006, 04:59 PM
  4. Tivo freezes at start up
    By Phil_C in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 02-09-2005, 07:53 PM
  5. Tivo Non Responsive to remote/freezes
    By cslack in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 31-07-2005, 06:53 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •