Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Saturn Cable Box

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    9

    Saturn Cable Box

    Hi All
    My lovely series 1 Phillips Tivo arrived at great speed from George and is now setup with a big fat drive just waiting for action.
    A problem though - no sound.
    I have a General Instruments Saturn STB and it only has the choice of using the RF Coaxial connector or a video and mono audio connector.
    Which one should I have connected it up with and could this be the cause of my problem? (I used the video out connector). How do I connect up the sound?
    Thanks for any help you can provide.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Victoria
    Posts
    1,213
    Hi.

    You can't use the RF option as the internal tuner is not compatible in it's current un-modified state.

    So that leaves you with the mono audio output from the STB. You will need to buy an RCA "Y" cable that splits up the mono audio output from the STB and feeds this into the left and right audio inputs on the back of the TiVo.
    Darren King
    OzTiVo Repairs and Modifications
    If your TiVo requires repairs or modifications
    then visit: http://kingey1971.wix.com/tivorepairs

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    144
    I traded by old STB with Saturn that had just the one audio channel out for a newer version that has two audio outputs. I was getting my cable modem installed at the time and I just told them I had a new home theatre system and wanted the two outputs.

    It was just a small lie, I just wanted the newer one with the better remote and OSD and didn't have TiVo at the time either. They just swapped it out. Maybe you could call and give it a go. They didn't moan when I did it. I did already have a newer one for my 2nd STB and the guy was going to be there anyway to run cables but you never know.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    9
    Thanks Darren that did the trick
    Wanted - thanks for your suggestion - I'll give that a go too.
    Is the sound that comes down the saturn cable in stereo?
    Any other good tricks I should know about?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Wellington, NZ
    Posts
    570
    Quote Originally Posted by maddog
    Thanks Darren that did the trick
    Wanted - thanks for your suggestion - I'll give that a go too.
    Is the sound that comes down the saturn cable in stereo?
    Any other good tricks I should know about?
    The General Instruments 2200 decoders only output stereo sound via RF out (no good for use with a tivo). The two audio jacks on the back cheat, it's actually mono out left/right. The newer models (3300) have a built in nicam decoder (Saturn use Nicam, just like TV1 and TV2) which works perfectly for Tivo as you can connect the left/right and video into the rca jacks direct on your tivo.

    Hints and tips?.... Well the only one I can suggest is to get some wide black tape and make sure you mask off the IR blaster on the front of the box (so no other light can get in), otherwise there can be issues with these boxes not changing channels correctly.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    9
    Thanks all.
    One further question and rather off topic, the file containing postcode data seems to be unavailable - can I just add a random but unique postcode to the existing file?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Wellington, NZ
    Posts
    570
    It should be there.
    No, it needs to be correct with the correct one (02115 for Saturn I think from memory) else you won't be able to complete guided setup, or get guide data.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by zollymonsta
    It should be there.
    No, it needs to be correct with the correct one (02115 for Saturn I think from memory) else you won't be able to complete guided setup, or get guide data.
    Ok..it must have been included somewhere as I managed both of those things.
    I think I may have misunderstood some of the documentation - I was trying to correct the time which was 12 hours out. Did it with a commandline hack in the end. Has anyone set up syncing to a NTP server?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Wellington, NZ
    Posts
    570
    did you try setting GMT to +7 (I think it was that.. been a few months since I last re-imaged).

    There is a script called 'fixtivotime' which will connect to a time server and depending on if your timezone is set correctly, it will sync up the time.

    I'm not sure wether the emulator corrects the time or not, or if 'fixtivotime' is on the latest image. If you want it, let me know.

    I set up a cron job to run 'fixtivotime' each day at 2am. Just to make sure my time is always correct.

    ZollyMonsta

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by maddog
    Has anyone set up syncing to a NTP server?
    Both emulator and manual load should sync to an NTP/TIME server.
    The emulator setup give an NTP/TIME server address to your tivo.

    The LOADGUIDE slice loader calls /hack/bin/fixtivotime (also known as ntpdate) wich does the following:
    # Stop time warp messages
    touch /var/timestamp
    # Set the time to time server with appropriate timezone offset
    /tvbin/settime `rtimetz -v 207.126.98.204 207.126.98.204 129.6.15.28 131.107.1.10`

    Some versions of fixtivotime/ntpdate use the TIME protocol (port 37) some of the newer images use the NTP protocol (port 123)
    This caused DJC and I some problems when setting up the emulator on Orac.

Similar Threads

  1. Saturn Digital ?
    By zollymonsta in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 01-10-2006, 12:09 PM
  2. Telstra Saturn Cable, GS Problems and a 'Jerrold Impulse 550?'
    By slangnz in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-02-2006, 10:38 PM
  3. Saturn Digital Postcode
    By KaroriPete in forum New Zealand TV Guide Issues
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 29-11-2005, 07:57 AM
  4. Telstra Saturn Digital Cable
    By tarx in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 30-08-2005, 06:42 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •