Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Dud TiVo box . . . Telecom and Caspa run around on replacement

  1. #1

    Dud TiVo box . . . Telecom and Caspa run around on replacement

    Anyone else had problems getting sorted? Telecom promise replacement boxes if something goes wrong. What they don't tell you prior to purchase, is that you have to deal with Caspa in Australia. Friday, we were told to email reference number and details to Caspa in Australia, and after acknowledgement from Caspa, we would receive a replacement box within 3 or 4 days. We are now almost a week later, and still have had no acknowledgement from Caspa. Telecom continue to pass the buck, and although they have TiVo boxes in-store "it is not their policy" to swap faulty ones out. No one can get hold of anyone sensible in Australia to talk to, to get a response. Anyone had a problem like this and able to resolve it?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    463
    Yes, at least one persone has returned theirs to a Telecom store for a replacement
    http://forums.oztivo.net/showthread....rience&post=15
    I presume you mean Hybrid TV Services, not Caspa which is the video-on-demand service offered by Hybrid in NZ and Aus

    TiVo Series3 TiVoHD x2

  3. #3

    Yeah, I mean for Freeview services. Don't use the ondemand Caspa movies

    . . . Telecom keep telling us its Caspa in Australia that need to sort it out.

    They refuse to allow us to swap the box at the Telecom store where we purchased it. We've emailed them again, citing the Consumer Guarantees Act, which states that our purchase from them, means that our contract is with them, and that its their responsibility to resolve this not keep fobbing us off to Caspa.

    I'm in NZ

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    463
    I would package the TiVo up in it's original box with all the accessories, and physically take it back to the same store where you purchased it. If they tell you to call/email the support number tell them you have done that several times in the last few weeks, and you want a box that works (or your money back)...now.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    can you PM me with your contact details, reference number, what is wrong with the TiVo, who you have spoken to and any other details. I'll see if I can do anything.

    Peter.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  6. #6
    Any luck yet Peter?

    Thanks

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    I have forwarded on your details, and this is what I have received back.

    Hi Peter,

    We’ve looked into the case history and the customer has reported poor reception.

    The customer’s current address comes up with “likely with high aerial”, and the customer has advised that he just has a regular aerial, not up high.

    The customer has also advised that he is moving to a different address where the Freeview|HD coverage shows as “very likely”, and advised that he would report back to us once he has relocated.

    I hope this is of help but please feel free to let me know if there is any misunderstanding
    So as far as they are concerned they appear to be waiting for you to move house and see if the problem remains.

    It is true that a twin tuner TiVo requires a better signal than a single tuner TV or STB. so if your signal quality (not strength) is marginal it may not always work with your current setup. it could be a simple as a bird has done a little damage to your aerial which was enough to push a marginal signal to no signal (on TiVo). With digital once you reach that point signal disappears, there is no in between.

    Peter.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  8. #8

    High aerial

    Hi, and thanks for all of your help. I'm afraid they have twisted this. WE DO have a high aerial, we did tests on reception on very first day of reporting faults to Telecom. I even went and (humoured them) got indoor bunny ears. We repeatedly did aerial tests, picture without TIVO was Ok, we still watching tv direct from aerial. TIVO and reception was great for 6 weeks?
    Oz said they were not preared to do anything until we have moved, and performed all tests. Jason in NZ was aghast at this, and immediately offered to cancel our TIVO, as he thought they were being unreasonable. I firmly beleive he has been messed around by Oz couterparts. It due to be collected tomorrow, but of course I will try, as essentially, we want a TIVO service.
    Thanks again for all your help. Much appreciated. Onward with start of move today! ;o>
    Dave

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    Just curious do you have a Digital TV, and why not wait a couple of days till you move before getting the TiVo collected?

    Peter.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  10. #10
    No, we don't have digital TV set. And yes, as said in previous post, we'll give it a go at the new place. Moving today/tomorrow.

    Cheers Dave

Similar Threads

  1. Replacement TiVo remote
    By Cristella in forum Australian TiVoHD
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-02-2014, 07:20 AM
  2. CASPA message showing at bottom of TIVo Central menus
    By landmark in forum Australian TiVoHD
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 26-04-2012, 04:28 PM
  3. Telecom giving away free TiVoHD to customers.
    By Skolink in forum NZ TiVoHD
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27-03-2012, 08:23 AM
  4. TiVoHD only $360 (for Telecom customers)
    By Skolink in forum NZ TiVoHD
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 23-09-2010, 08:08 AM
  5. fried pace STB, replacement compatible with tivo S1?
    By divxmaster in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 21-05-2010, 06:28 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •