Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Failed Connection in Guided Setup / New Server

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    45

    Failed Connection in Guided Setup / New Server

    Hi,

    I am trying to run the Guided Setup again in order to change my channels setup.
    (I am using the Tivo as a VCR in Israel, but when setting up, I made the mistake and
    chose an area with very few channels I need many more now).

    I can connect to the Tivo without trouble using telnet (it's over wireless).

    However when making the phone call after "connecting" I get the message
    "Failed. Service unavailable."

    More info:
    I remember when setting this unit up with a new image, I chose the server in
    Netherlands. That was a serious mistake on my part, and I would like to change back
    to the OZ server. How do I do that? Could it be that the server in the Netherlands is
    down?

    Thanks,
    Gideon.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    45
    Hello again,

    I am now in deep trouble...
    I restarted the Tivo, but I cannot receive any signal from my cable box.
    The Tivo thinks there is no signal.
    I double checked the "Connector" parameter, via the MFS and it shows 3,
    which is composite and correct.

    Any ideas if the fact that I got stuck during the Guided Setup while connecting would
    prevent me from returning to normal settings?

    Thanks,
    Gideon.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    It may not be seeing the correct TV system, did you change to PAL guided setup mode?

    See here.

    Peter.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    45
    I changed back to PAL via the tivoweb .
    In Tivo web, the current status says:
    Current TiVo Boot Parameters:

    root=/dev/hda4 runideturbo=false TV_STD=PAL

    Anyway, I think I should better address the original issue, and this will
    be solved anyway.

    I think a fist simple step would be to make sure that I am addressing
    the correct server.

    Thanks,
    Gideon.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    45

    I had to reinstall the image

    Just to close off this thread.
    With no solution, I resorted to a new installation of the OZTivo image.

    I am now connected to the OZ server and all is well (in this respect).
    Thanks,

    Gideon.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    Ok I'm glad you got it sorted.

    Sometimes it is just easier to start from scratch.

    Peter.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

Similar Threads

  1. Are you having the same connection problems. (Failed while configuring) Error N18
    By Frozzysnots in forum Request For HELP! in my State
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-02-2019, 04:40 PM
  2. Guided setup without mod
    By Charliektm400exc in forum Australian TiVoHD
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 30-12-2018, 11:24 AM
  3. Cant get thru Guided Setup
    By dieterm in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-05-2008, 02:27 PM
  4. Guided setup help
    By Paul in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 30-05-2006, 09:23 PM
  5. PAL Guided Setup
    By ibart in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-03-2005, 07:39 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •