Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Question From a Newbie

Question From a Newbie

HI all,
    I am new to this and have a few questions to ask.

1) How hard is it to actually get a tivo from the USA up and running?
    2) How long does it take?
    3) What is the approx cost of a tivo shipped to aust?
    4) What happens about the different power?
    5) Is it possible to buy a DVR here in aust and have it record foxtel digital?
    Finally
    6) Is it possible to buy tivo allready set up here in aust (second hand mabye?)

Thanks

I just bought a tivo in the last fortnight - and i'll try to answer your questions from one newbie to another :P I LOVE MY TIVO!!

1) How hard is it to actually get a tivo from the USA up and running?

A: Not very. Follow the Guided Setup doc at:
    http://minnie.tuhs.org/twiki/bin/vie.../GuidedSetup30

2) How long does it take?

I would have spent a few hours all up...maybe half a day.

3) What is the approx cost of a tivo shipped to aust?

OK - I shipped mine from George at Eksys.com and the frieght was 1/3 the total cost (but I wanted it quickly

Total cost of the tivo in AUD: $370 - about $120 of that was freight (5-7 days). Get the ethernet card.

4) What happens about the different power?

The tivo can take aus 240v no worries - but you need to buy yourself a figure 8 appliance type cord from dick smith or tandy etc. Most video's use the same sort of cord. They are about $10.

5) Is it possible to buy a DVR here in aust and have it record foxtel digital?

Dont know - I dont have foxtel.

Finally
    6) Is it possible to buy tivo allready set up here in aust (second hand mabye?)

Maybe - but I doubt it. Once you get a tivo you want a second one ! (no one would *ever* sell one after they've used it!

All up i've spent about $500-$600 - including a new 120GB hdd (usa supplier sells them without hdd), cables, remote, hdd bracket etc.

Check this for basically what I did (this thread made me buy it!) :