Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: is 1.2tb the limit on upgrading drive?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, VIC
    Posts
    100

    is 1.2tb the limit on upgrading drive?

    looking to upgrade to the tivoHD and my searches came up with the 1.2tb limit - is that still applicable?

    Now that drives are so cheap, it makes little difference to upgrade to the WD green 1.5tb drive @ $140 vs $110 for 1tb.
    Is there anything I am missing here? I guess, at least I will get another 200gb of storage for my $30 difference.
    Justin

    TivoHD w/1tb "update"
    TiVo SVR2000 unit w/200Gb Seagate, Turbonetcard & Dlink-810 wireless bridge, FTA Strong STB. Latest image 1.6.###

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Victoria
    Posts
    1,218
    It is the limit unless you want to start looking installing software patches, which of course requires the need to get the prom swapped on the motherboard.
    Darren King
    OzTiVo Repairs and Modifications
    If your TiVo requires repairs or modifications
    then visit: http://kingey1971.wix.com/tivorepairs

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, VIC
    Posts
    100
    thanks for the clarification. I guess I will get the 1.5tb drive.
    Justin

    TivoHD w/1tb "update"
    TiVo SVR2000 unit w/200Gb Seagate, Turbonetcard & Dlink-810 wireless bridge, FTA Strong STB. Latest image 1.6.###

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    I don't believe anyone makes a 1.5Tb AV rated drive though.

    Standard drives do work, but I have seen stutter on some peoples upgrades.

    Peter.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, VIC
    Posts
    100
    Quote Originally Posted by petestrash View Post
    I don't believe anyone makes a 1.5Tb AV rated drive though.

    Standard drives do work, but I have seen stutter on some peoples upgrades.

    Peter.
    thanks for that Peter. I hadn't been thinking of this - so I did a bit of research and ordered the ST31000322CS drive. Apparently its the 1TB Seagate Pipeline drive thats an AV drive. Hopefully that will work out.
    Justin

    TivoHD w/1tb "update"
    TiVo SVR2000 unit w/200Gb Seagate, Turbonetcard & Dlink-810 wireless bridge, FTA Strong STB. Latest image 1.6.###

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    Sounds good.

    Have not heard anything about them in a TiVo, which is usually a good thing.

    Peter.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, VIC
    Posts
    100
    I just went with the "tested" drive list given on:
    Tivo Community forum
    that I used to frequent when living in the big bad land of the "free"
    Justin

    TivoHD w/1tb "update"
    TiVo SVR2000 unit w/200Gb Seagate, Turbonetcard & Dlink-810 wireless bridge, FTA Strong STB. Latest image 1.6.###

  8. #8
    Justin,

    Just wondering if you have any feedback on the new drive you installed.

    Were there any problems and in particular do you notice any increase in noise given it's rating of "7".

    Thanks

    Darryl.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, VIC
    Posts
    100
    The drive is noisy but I watch my 42 inch tv from around 3mtrs away in a large room so unless I am standing beside the tivo I cannot hear it. Standing beside it, with also my old S1 running beside it, it is noticably noisy.

    So, if you watch in a smaller room, bedroom, etc and its quiet, then you probably will not want this drive. But if you watch in large back room (you know, the standard living room/kitchen/general room that probably was an extension - mine is around 60sq mts) then this drive is excellent.

    Otherwise the upgrade was super easy - much easier than when I updated the S1. I had recently purchase an eSATA external HDD dock from Brando for backup purposes.
    Brando External HDD Dock
    I had also purchased an eSATA thingy from them that enabled eSATA from my a spare SATA connection I had on the motherboard
    SATA to eSATA thingy
    This meant that I just needed to drop the original drive into the dock and then this one and the update was done in about 5-10mins - Extremely painless.
    Last edited by JustinD; 21-01-2010 at 10:28 AM.
    Justin

    TivoHD w/1tb "update"
    TiVo SVR2000 unit w/200Gb Seagate, Turbonetcard & Dlink-810 wireless bridge, FTA Strong STB. Latest image 1.6.###

Similar Threads

  1. 4.2GB limit in TServer
    By Ray in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-11-2008, 11:25 PM
  2. upgrading to svideo
    By dkmc in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-03-2007, 12:29 AM
  3. Bufferhack - What is the limit?
    By zollymonsta in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 08-01-2007, 03:32 PM
  4. Using Ghost when upgrading HDD?
    By mr_gibbon in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-11-2006, 04:45 PM
  5. Upgrading palmod
    By mobelby in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 21-09-2004, 08:20 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •