Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Is "Network Remote Control" Available on OZ TivoHD?

  1. #1

    Is "Network Remote Control" Available on OZ TivoHD?

    I'm an American software developer who has created a remote control app for the iPhone. It works by using a telnet interface on port 31339 of the Tivo.

    I was dismayed to see one user report that the application did not work on his Australian unit.

    Can someone confirm that the telnet interface (activated with Network Remote Control) exists on on Australian unit?

    I am happy to give some free copies of the application (DVR Remote) to people who help me troubleshoot this issue.

    If the telnet interface just doesn't exist, I will remove my app from the Australian App Store.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,033
    No it is not in the current software.

    From memory it was only made available around V9.1

    Peter.
    Last edited by petestrash; 24-01-2009 at 01:48 PM.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  3. #3
    Thanks Peter,

    I have removed DVR Remote from the Australian App Store as a result and will resubmit it at such a time as it will actually work for people.

    My apologies to the Australian TiVo community for the mixup on my part!

  4. #4
    Hi Guys,

    I had a customer inquire about DVR Remote for Australia - have they added the Network Remote Control feature to your firmware yet?

    I'm eager to throw the Aussie switch once they do!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,033
    No, it is still not enabled and may never be as Creston is not locally supported here.

    Peter
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  6. #6

    DVR Remote

    Hi Peter & Stutsman,

    I for one would love to be able to use the DVR remote on my iPhone, and being a bit cheesed off with the way the Tivo is hobbled here except for Really useful things like "Ordering a Pizza" and Listening to some crap Radio breakfast show on the Tivo!! (Sarcasm intended!) I wrote to Tivo Customer Support. I include the text of the email here......

    "There is a great iPhone app called DVR remote which I would love to take
    advantage of but it requires the Network Remote Control Menu item which
    appears on the Messages & Settings/ Settings/ Remote, Cablecard &
    Devices Menu on overseas Tivo HD DVR's. Is there any reason this cannot
    be activated on Australian Tivos? I, and I am sure many other Tivo HD
    owners, would much prefer this facility rather than Ordering a Pizza, or
    listening to some Radio Breakfast show on the TV???? What is that all
    about??
    So please consider the addition of something that would truly be
    useful on our Hobbled Tivos instead of some other inane idea.
    I look forward to reading your comments."

    Well, as is normal, I received a reply within 5 minutes. The reply simply said " As a valued customer we appreciate your feedback. As you mentioned, this feature is not yet enabled here in Australia.
    Remember you can always find out about TiVo's latest features and find help for a number of common queries at: www.tivo.com.au"

    So, We continue to be hobbled and fed crap. Serves me right for trusting that useful apps would be added later and buying one!

    Sorry Peter, but why would lack of support for Crestron here apply to an iPhone app.??

    Mick.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,033
    The Telnet port that the iPhone app that Strutsman and others use was designed and paid for in the US by TiVo Partner Crestron to use in their Home Automation systems.

    This open port was discovered by hackers, and made public. People then wrote applications to make using the command line instructions prettier and more user friendly.

    HTS (TiVo Australia) have no commercial relationship with Crestron and would receive no royalties from the app writers.

    Peter
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,033
    Looks like Hybrid have finally enabled the network remote feature used by iPhone/iPod.

    If you have the 11.3a update.

    Go into Settings > Remote & Devices > Network Remote Control and enable that feature.

    Then download the FREE MyDVR app from the app store and you can control your TiVo by Apple.

    If you don't have an iPod/iPhone, there is also a python GUI version at TiVo Community:
    http://tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb/showpost.php?p=7054269

    Should run under Windows/Mac/*nix once Python is installed.

    Peter.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 31-01-2018, 08:34 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-11-2011, 04:57 PM
  3. Guided setup stalling on "connecting" during final call.
    By DaForce in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 19-06-2006, 08:54 PM
  4. All Channel logos now "Cartoon Network"
    By sadrake in forum New Zealand TV Guide Issues
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-09-2005, 06:29 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •