Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Tivo in New Zealand

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Wellington, NZ
    Posts
    570

    Exclamation Tivo in New Zealand

    Weeeee Hoooo!!!

    Let's get some convo going about getting Tivo working in New Zealand.

    *dribbles incoherently*

    Still trying to track down a series 1 tivo to buy, lemme know if you have one spare
    Last edited by zollymonsta; 27-03-2004 at 01:01 PM.

  2. #2

    eksys.com, ebay.com - best places to buy

    Hi zolly!

    The best places to get your TiVo from are either George at www.eksys.com (I got mine from him and he is very very helpful and will accommodate most requests for variations in psting methods, etc., will install a turbonet card for you if you buy one amongst other things.) He sells factory refurbished Philips Series 1 TiVos, which is what you want.

    Or, alternatively, just do a search on ebay.com and go for a Philips Series 1 on there. If you want to try to win an auction on ebay, try out bidnapper - www.bidnapper.com - it works brilliantly and I've won every auction I've entered with it.

    Cheers and good luck.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Wellington, NZ
    Posts
    570
    Thanks for that, I've bookmarked their site. I notice they're not shipping at the moment so I'll send them an email and find out when they are, and their prices.
    Bidsniper sounds rather interesting. I've seen quite a few tivo's on ebay (series 1), sadly they all have hard drives and usually have a reserve of a couple of hundred (combined with no shipping outside of the USA).

    Cheers.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    87

    Shipping TIVOs from EKSYS

    Just to Note George at Eksys was/is on holidays until the 28th (USA). He will be back then and i am sure will help - i have had heaps of help from him.

    Also note that getting him to ship the Turbonet cards with your TIVO will save you a heap on shipping charges as against buying separately from 9th Tee in the USA.

    Craig

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Wellington, NZ
    Posts
    570
    Yep. I mentioned I'm interested in having a turbonet card fitted too.. plus noted, no hard drives installed, but the bracket so I could mount two inside.

    Oh, and asked prices for two.. as a friend wants to get one too.

    I shall sit and wait to hear back from him.

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    22

    Smile Mine arrives today!

    According tot he Fedex tracking website, it's on a truck heading in my general direction I got mine from PowerOn (www.poweron.com) although they weren't to easy to deal with on shipping options, it is here 5 days after I payed for it.

    Lets all get stuck in and get the NZ community up and running!

    Cheers

    B

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Wellington, NZ
    Posts
    570
    Quote Originally Posted by Benji
    According tot he Fedex tracking website, it's on a truck heading in my general direction I got mine from PowerOn (www.poweron.com) although they weren't to easy to deal with on shipping options, it is here 5 days after I payed for it.

    Lets all get stuck in and get the NZ community up and running!

    Cheers

    B
    I've looked at Poweron's site, but according to their website they're not currently shipping (?) Perhaps I missed the boat I'm waiting to see if I hear back from George at the other place mentioned above. I may hear tommorow *fingers crossed*

    Yep, a NZ Tivo community would be good. Along with a NZ Dedicated CD Setup ISO (rather than using the Aussie one and using different settings... something which I don't even have any ideas about as of yet)

    Did you get a turbonet card as well Benji?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    22

    Turobnet

    Actually I picked up a cachecard instead, the $30 price difference seemed worth it, and the speed increase is supposed to be reasonable. I'm a little concerned as they've (9th-tee) rev'd the firmware on the cards, so I hope I get a updated model as there were some video issues with the previous firmware and some Tivos.

    Agreed on the ISO idea, Tim from www.tjv.info has been mumbling about it, and also offers a partly finished FAQ + unstall guide for Sky Digital users, and is also spinning guide data, so I've been following his lead on this, so far so good as I've been able to image a drive using the 1.3 oztivo image and at least boot mine

    It would be good to see some coordination of efforts and resources.

    Cheers

    B

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Wellington, NZ
    Posts
    570
    Quote Originally Posted by Benji
    Agreed on the ISO idea, Tim from www.tjv.info has been mumbling about it, and also offers a partly finished FAQ + unstall guide for Sky Digital users, and is also spinning guide data, so I've been following his lead on this, so far so good as I've been able to image a drive using the 1.3 oztivo image and at least boot mine
    B
    Excellent! I ordered mine this morning thru George at eksys. Ordered the network card at the same time (save money on freight).

    So have you been able to get your Tivo fully working off the Oztivo image?
    I've been reading the setup guide but unsure what you do when you get to the area code settings (seeing as we're in NZ).

    There will be a few sleepless nights here until my Tivo safely arrives.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    22

    Definately check out

    Tims page (www.tjv.info) , his FAQ and setup guide are NZ specific and walk you through it. I'm still waiting on the cachecard, and my sky install, however I've imaged a drive and installed the cachcard drivers, put it in my tiv and it boots! So at least a small measure of success. Networking next, then the customisation for NZ.

    Cheers

    B

Similar Threads

  1. Australian and New Zealand whirlpoolers
    By viewer in forum Australian TiVoHD
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 28-11-2017, 06:38 PM
  2. Will a New Zealand Tivo work in Australia?
    By scairns in forum Australian TiVoHD
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 18-10-2012, 08:18 PM
  3. TiVo coming to Australia and New Zealand - Official
    By Charliektm400exc in forum General Chat
    Replies: 40
    Last Post: 09-01-2008, 05:40 PM
  4. FAQ: Current New Zealand Postcodes
    By DJC in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 25-11-2006, 01:10 PM
  5. FAQ: New Zealand Emulator(s) and Setup
    By ehintz in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-04-2004, 08:25 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •