Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Enter key and IR codes

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Sydney, NSW
    Posts
    27

    Enter key and IR codes

    Ive been playing with my new series 1 Tivo remote control codes trying to answer my own question. But I managed to get it so it wouldnt change to some two digit channels at all, in short I got it very confused. So I ended up redoing guided setup and the custom IR code generation using irSliceCreator and taking a break !

    At that point I figured it might be easier to ask someone who actually knows .

    Firstly :

    When asked "does your STB use an enter key", does this mean "does the STB HAVE to have enter pressed in order to select a channel" or does it mean "can you use the enter key to speed up channel selection if you prefer" ?

    I am hoping the latter as my STB will change channel instantly when the enter key is used, such as 2 2 enter - goes immediately to channel 22. Im hoping the TiVo can do this for me rather than me having to wait.

    Which leads me to my next question :

    When I use irSliceCreator and then TiVosh as instructed, tivosh complains about "invalid attribute DigEnter. So I edited the .tcl output file and removed the reference to DigEnter for now just so I could get my codes recognised.

    Why is it doing this, and how can I get the enter key recognised (if indeed this will do me any good, as per question 1).

    logs copied below.

    many thanks for any help.


    [TiVo [p0] /hack/etc/ircodes]# cat soniq_dv3.tcl
    source /tvlib/tcl/tv/mfslib.tcl

    proc setIr { irObj field irSequence } {
    set savedInitial 0

    foreach irPart $irSequence {

    if {$savedInitial == 0} {
    set savedInitial 1
    dbobj $irObj set $field $irPart
    } else {
    dbobj $irObj add $field $irPart
    }
    }
    }

    proc soniq_dv3 {} {

    set db [dbopen]

    puts "Setting soniq_dv3 codes for TiVo 29992..."

    RetryTransaction {

    set tivoir [db $db open /Component/Ir/TivoFormat/29992]

    setIr $tivoir "Dig1" "0 38 36 0 519 256 28 29 30 28 30 30 28 29 30 29 28 28 30 30 28 29 30 93 30 93 28 94 29 93 31 92 29 94 29 28 28 95 28 30 28 95 28 28 28 30 30 94 28 29 29 93 28 31 28 94 28 29 30 93 28 95 28 30 28 95 28 28 29 94 30 366 517 127 30 367 "
    setIr $tivoir "Dig2" "0 38 36 0 519 256 28 29 29 29 28 29 29 29 29 29 28 29 30 28 29 30 29 94 28 94 28 94 29 94 29 94 29 94 28 29 29 93 29 29 28 29 29 29 28 29 30 94 28 29 30 94 28 29 29 94 28 95 28 94 28 94 29 28 30 94 28 30 29 94 28 367 519 127 29 371 "
    setIr $tivoir "Dig3" "0 38 36 0 519 255 30 27 31 28 29 29 29 28 30 28 29 29 29 29 30 28 28 95 29 93 29 94 28 94 30 93 29 94 28 30 29 94 28 28 30 29 30 28 28 30 29 94 28 30 29 29 29 29 28 95 29 93 30 94 28 94 29 29 28 94 30 93 29 94 28 366 519 127 29 366 "
    setIr $tivoir "Dig4" "0 38 36 0 520 256 29 28 30 28 28 30 30 28 29 29 28 30 30 28 29 29 28 95 28 94 29 93 28 95 29 93 30 94 27 30 31 93 28 30 29 94 28 95 29 28 28 95 29 28 28 96 28 29 28 95 28 28 29 30 28 94 28 30 30 93 28 30 30 94 27 371 520 125 28 365 "
    setIr $tivoir "Dig5" "0 38 36 0 519 256 29 29 29 28 29 29 29 29 30 28 29 29 29 29 30 29 28 94 30 93 29 94 29 94 29 93 29 94 29 29 28 94 28 29 30 29 29 94 28 30 29 94 29 28 30 94 28 29 29 93 29 94 29 29 29 94 28 29 29 94 29 29 28 94 28 367 519 126 29 368 "
    setIr $tivoir "Dig6" "0 38 36 0 520 257 28 30 29 30 29 29 29 30 29 29 30 29 30 28 30 30 29 95 29 95 28 95 29 94 29 94 30 94 29 30 29 94 30 29 29 30 30 94 29 28 30 94 30 29 29 30 29 29 30 95 29 95 29 29 29 95 29 30 28 95 28 95 30 94 29 371 519 126 29 368 "
    setIr $tivoir "Dig7" "0 38 36 0 517 257 27 30 30 29 28 28 29 29 30 29 29 28 28 28 31 28 30 94 28 94 27 96 28 94 30 94 27 95 29 28 29 93 31 27 28 96 28 94 30 94 28 30 30 29 28 94 28 29 30 93 28 28 29 29 28 30 30 94 28 95 29 30 27 95 29 364 519 127 30 364 "
    setIr $tivoir "Dig8" "0 38 36 0 519 256 29 28 29 30 28 29 29 29 30 28 29 28 29 30 30 28 29 94 30 93 29 94 28 94 29 93 29 94 28 28 30 95 28 29 30 29 30 93 30 94 28 28 29 30 30 93 28 30 29 94 28 95 27 29 30 30 28 94 28 95 28 30 28 95 28 366 519 127 30 368 "
    setIr $tivoir "Dig9" "0 38 36 0 520 255 30 27 28 29 29 29 31 28 27 30 30 28 30 28 28 30 29 94 28 94 30 92 28 95 27 96 29 93 30 28 30 93 28 30 30 28 28 96 29 93 28 29 30 30 27 30 30 28 30 93 28 95 27 31 28 30 30 93 28 94 27 96 29 93 29 364 519 126 27 369 "
    setIr $tivoir "Dig0" "0 38 36 0 519 257 28 30 28 29 31 28 28 29 29 28 31 28 29 30 27 30 31 91 30 95 28 94 31 92 30 94 28 94 30 28 28 94 30 93 28 96 27 95 30 93 28 30 30 28 28 29 28 29 31 27 28 28 30 30 30 28 28 95 30 92 28 94 29 93 31 363 517 127 29 369 "
    setIr $tivoir "DigEnter" "0 38 36 0 517 256 29 30 28 29 29 29 29 29 30 30 28 28 29 30 29 28 30 93 29 93 28 95 28 94 29 94 28 93 30 28 29 94 28 29 29 94 28 29 29 94 28 94 29 30 28 29 28 29 30 94 28 29 30 93 29 30 28 30 28 94 29 94 28 94 29 369 519 127 29 369 "
    }
    puts "Finished! Reboot your TiVo for the new codes to take effect."

    dbclose $db
    }

    [TiVo [p0] /hack/etc/ircodes]# tivosh
    % source soniq_dv3.tcl
    % soniq_dv3
    Setting soniq_dv3 codes for TiVo 29992...
    invalid attribute: DigEnter
    %

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,037
    Quote Originally Posted by NerdCat View Post
    When asked "does your STB use an enter key", does this mean "does the STB HAVE to have enter pressed in order to select a channel"
    Yes that is what the question means.

    Quote Originally Posted by NerdCat View Post
    I am hoping the latter as my STB will change channel instantly when the enter key is used, such as 2 2 enter - goes immediately to channel 22. Im hoping the TiVo can do this for me rather than me having to wait.
    It would probably speed it up, but I haven't tested. In all reality you should never be channel surfing any more, as you will always have something already recorded to watch.

    Quote Originally Posted by NerdCat View Post
    When I use irSliceCreator and then TiVosh as instructed, tivosh complains about "invalid attribute DigEnter. So I edited the .tcl output file and removed the reference to DigEnter for now just so I could get my codes recognised.
    Did irSliceCreator give you the DigEnter variable? I think it should be Enter, not DigEnter.

    Peter.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Sydney, NSW
    Posts
    27
    It gave me DigEnter. The script execution, including the error, at the end of my last post is a straight Putty paste. The other digits that work are Dig1, Dig2 etc .... followed by DigEnter that doesnt ?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,037
    Ok, so try just using Enter in the file...

    Peter.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

Similar Threads

  1. Unable to enter recorder and phone setup
    By timbix in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 17-09-2006, 08:31 PM
  2. SERVICE LOCKING - Enter PIN number
    By AceEagle in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 25-08-2005, 09:49 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •