Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Failed while loading series.' Error on Setup Call

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Pinehaven, Upper Hutt, New Zealand
    Posts
    19

    Red face Failed while loading series.' Error on Setup Call

    I have come across exactly the same problem as posted almost exactly 1 year ago ( ... that's spooky ...) by Dave Hatt.

    http://forums.oztivo.net/showthread....loading+series

    I have a UK TiVo which I had to re-image because I played with some settings and managed to cause it freeze-up immediately on startup

    I re-imaged it with the same version it had ( ...before I broke it ...) - Dec06 RC1. And now, I can't get past the Setup Call screen because I get the following error message at the 'Importing' step:

    Failed while loading series

    I have a Freeview STB, and tried lots of combinations of options and always got this error - except for one combination which is

    Aerial + Analog Cable, with postcode 2115 (Saturn Analog)

    ... which would be fine if I wanted to configure for a Saturn/TelstraClear analog STB

    So, any advice gratefully accepted ...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    138
    Just getting "failed while preparing data" whilst re-guiding to 2114 postcode, dont know if the problems are related. Will try 2119

    Series 1 plus Dreambox
    Series 3 TiVo HD x 2

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    138
    Update 2119 works fine I had selected satellite not cable

    Series 1 plus Dreambox
    Series 3 TiVo HD x 2

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Pinehaven, Upper Hutt, New Zealand
    Posts
    19

    Swap File Size

    I seem to have solved the problem. I remembered that the last time I had the TiVo working, that I had set the Swap file to be 256Mb rather than the default 127Mb. So I re-imaged with 256Mb swap file last night and GS without a hitch the first time through.

    Now attached a sticker to the TiVo with Swap file size, source details, postcode setting, route.tivo info, and dbsetx commands - for getting it up and running the next time I break it

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    The number in Mb for the swap file should be half your drives size in Gb.

    E.g. 500Gb drive, 250Mb swap.

    Having too small a swap will cause trouble, but bigger is ok.

    Peter.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  6. #6
    I'm still getting that "failed preparing data" message. Have reimaged (twice), set my swap file to 500Mb, and it gets about 6% through then kicks the bucket every time. Have made multiple attempts at it (by running the ClearAndDelete.tcl script in /hack/bin/) and rerunning the Guided Setup.

    For a little while it was failing to make a connection at all to ORAC, but then started working again. Even when it does connect though, it still fails the Importing step.

    For reference, I'm on a Phillips TiVo, Seagate 250Gb, 1.5 NZTiVo image, using postcode=02113 (for Sky Digital) and area code 002.

    Any ideas? Will also post this in the other related thread ...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    are you selecting cable or satellite? Try using the other one.

    Peter.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    246
    I think that that this thread has some similarity to this one: http://forums.oztivo.net/showthread.php?t=1444

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    I'll close this thread to avoid duplication.

    All followups to here.

    Peter.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

Similar Threads

  1. Are you having the same connection problems. (Failed while configuring) Error N18
    By Frozzysnots in forum Request For HELP! in my State
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-02-2019, 05:40 PM
  2. S03 error on setup
    By petercad in forum Australian TiVoHD
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 27-04-2018, 08:23 PM
  3. Failed to record due to recorder internal error 4
    By Charlie Crackle in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-10-2008, 01:44 AM
  4. 'Failed while loading series.' Error on Setup Call
    By Dave Hatt in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 17-10-2007, 07:27 PM
  5. Daily call: "Failed. Call Interrupted"
    By leanne in forum TV Guide Issues
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 18-07-2005, 06:07 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •