Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: Hack for External or Larger HDD ?

  1. #1

    Hack for External or Larger HDD ?

    Hi All,

    I just bought my shinny new TiVo HD from HN's yesterday & am very happy. I have searched and searched forums, but I can't seem to find the answer to what I thought would be a simple question....

    How can I hack my Aussie Tivo HD, to allow an external drive? Or, can I manually swap that 160gig drive to a 1tb drive (obviously imaging the drive)?

    Thanks in advance !

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Victoria
    Posts
    1,202
    There is no way of enabling an external eSATA hard disk as this time. You can however put a 1TB hard disk (or whatever size you want but 1TB has been tested by several OzTiVo members and it works) in the TiVo and use the following webpage instructions here:

    http://www.engadgethd.com/2008/04/17...d-with-winmfs/

    use the following WinMFS configuration settings:
    Custom Linux swap size: 500 MB
    MfsSupersize: On

    Remember however: You break it, you own all the pieces and no warranty
    Last edited by Darren King; 03-08-2008 at 09:10 PM.
    Darren King
    OzTiVo Repairs and Modifications
    If your TiVo requires repairs or modifications
    then visit: http://kingey1971.wix.com/tivorepairs

  3. #3
    Thanks Darren, You are an absolute champion!
    I will be swapping that internal HDD to a larger one, quick smart. I will also report back, how it went.

    Few last questions for you or anyone else...

    1) Is there a way that I can take the content from the TiVo, & send it to my PC's HDD. To store for the long term ? If so what file types are they, is there an easy way to convert them to something that will play in say VLC player ?

    2) Is there a way to schedule a recording via a website. The official TiVo site says, early next year ?

    3) Can my TiVo connect or see a network drive (or media server) & play video’s from there ?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    1. No, not at this stage. promised as and extra cost upgrade in the new year.
    2. I believe it is running in a beta form using yahoo's TV site.
    3. See #1

    Peter
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  5. #5
    Thanks for the reply petestrash!

    I understand, they are the official responses. I was wondering if there was a way around, these locked features??
    I.e. A SW hack/crack?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Victoria
    Posts
    1,202
    Not at this stage. Maybe later on there may be a hack but like the USA TiVo it will require removal of the PROM chip (like the BIOS in a PC) and replacing with a modified chip that will allow some added features. Of course this will require expertise in delicate soldering work which will rule out most people from doing it themselves.
    Darren King
    OzTiVo Repairs and Modifications
    If your TiVo requires repairs or modifications
    then visit: http://kingey1971.wix.com/tivorepairs

  7. #7
    Has anyone socketed their PROM yet? Maybe someone with legendary soldering skills? ;-)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Victoria
    Posts
    1,202
    If that question was directed at me then the answer is: No.
    Darren King
    OzTiVo Repairs and Modifications
    If your TiVo requires repairs or modifications
    then visit: http://kingey1971.wix.com/tivorepairs

  9. #9
    Socketing the PROM would open up the likes of bufferhack, (the potential for) 30 second skip, and enable other hacks (trickey and such). But I can understand the hesitancy to engage in any SMD rework given the $700 cost.

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by Darren King View Post
    There is no way of enabling an external eSATA hard disk as this time.
    I am new here and may be out of line, but from an internal shot that I saw of the tiVo, it appears that all they are using is an adapter cable (as expected as there is no difference between sata and esata other than the connector).

    So if you wanted to use an external drive could you not just swap the internal connector on the board over, this will enable the external port and disable the internal drive.

    Would allow multiple drives to be used and possibly moving the files to the PC.

    Mick

Similar Threads

  1. External HD?
    By ozzydave in forum Australian TiVoHD
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 18-06-2011, 10:26 AM
  2. 30 sec skip hack doesn't work
    By ghhsmith in forum Australian TiVoHD
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-08-2008, 07:59 PM
  3. /var/hack folder?
    By sparker in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 16-10-2007, 02:18 PM
  4. Running External Programs on Tivo
    By Scar in forum General Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-11-2005, 04:53 PM
  5. Negative padding hack
    By tonys in forum Software Upgrades/Mods
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 27-08-2005, 12:24 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •