Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Setting up a UK tivo

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1

    Setting up a UK tivo

    I've finally unpacked my series 1 tivo that I brought from the UK last year, and am trying to figure out how to make it work here.
    From my understanding of what I've read on this site, it appears that I have to install the oztivo image on the hard drive by installing the HD in a PC.
    This may sound like a dumb question, but I only have a laptop. Is there a way that I can install what I need to install by using a laptop?
    The Tivo is a series 1 Thompson with a 250gb HD and an installed cachecard

    Thanks for your help

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    Hi, and welcome,

    Firstly can you please add your location to your profile so that we know where you are from, as the instructions differ between Australia and New Zealand.

    At the moment, yes you need a real PC to put the image onto the hard drive and setup the TiVo. We are currently working on the next version which we hope will support USB to IDE convertors.

    The best option is to use a real PC, any old PC that support the size of your drive (see if a friend will help).

    Next if your comfortable with PC's there is a write up by one of our member about how he used a USB to IDE convertor on the current image here.

    As a final option you can contact Darren King as he offers a service imaging drives for people.

    Peter.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

Similar Threads

  1. Problems setting the time
    By gideon_friedmann in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-06-2010, 10:22 PM
  2. Setting up a Series 2 .. a few q's
    By 1downunder in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-12-2006, 01:24 PM
  3. Setting up Tivo service outside Australia
    By arvesolland in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 30-05-2006, 09:03 AM
  4. Tivo throws setting each reboot
    By Tony in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 20-11-2004, 06:27 PM
  5. setting up free to air
    By timmy in forum New Zealand TV Guide Issues
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 13-11-2004, 08:29 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •