Thread: Updating, improving or adding Guide Data

Updating, improving or adding Guide Data

I often have free time in work while waiting for my computer to process something and I thought as I'm not a coder/hacker by any stretch of the imagination it'd be a good way for me to give something back... is there some way to do this and decent instructions on how to do it properly? I did notice an old thread pointing to a website but it dated originally from 2004 so I'm not sure a) if it's still in use and b) how the heck to use it!

You can update show information at:
    http://orac.caffeine.co.nz/shows/

As an arbitrary example, "ONE News At 4.30" has no description, and if you look on your tivo it says:
    ONE News At 4.30 - Contribute to the nzTiVo community, add a show description for 'ONE News At 4.30' to the community guide at http://orac.caffeine.co.nz/shows/

To update it, go to the web page and enter
    one news%
    into the second box and hit search.

The % is a wild card, so any shows named one news..... will show up. You can now select ONE News At 4.30 on TV1 from the list, and add a description in the large box on the right. I suggest leaving the "action" setting to the default IFBLANK - if a description already exists it will be used, or if there is none then the description you added will be used instead.

Finally hit the save button. The same method can be used to update existing descriptions. It will take a few days for the change to filter its way through the system before it shows up on your tivo, so don't be disappointed if it is not there immediately after the next daily call.

hmmm followed that link, it was working earlier today when I looked but now it's givin me this:

Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 8388608 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 46 bytes) in /home/tivo/www/shows/libs/orac_ez_sql.php on line 341