Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 36

Thread: Daily call failed since swapping to optus

  1. #1

    Daily call failed since swapping to optus

    I've been running two tivos for years, with no problems.

    But a week ago I swaped from adsl1 (exetel) to adsl2 (exetel) - which is provided by optus.

    Daily calls haven't worked since..

    First thing I did was follow http://minnie.tuhs.org/twiki/bin/vie...entProxyServer and test for a proxy server.

    However, both
    http://www.lagado.com/proxy-test
    and
    http://www.lagado.com/tools/cache-test

    didn't think there was a proxy

    and

    C:\tracetcp ftp.monash.edu.au:ftp
    C:\tracetcp ftp.monash.edu.au:http

    also didn't think there was ie

    Code:
    >tracetcp ftp.monash.edu.au:ftp
    
    Tracing route to 130.194.11.222 [ringtail.its.monash.edu.au] on port 21
    Over a maximum of 30 hops.
    1       2 ms    2 ms    2 ms    192.168.34.138  [home.gateway]
    2       Destination Reached in 51 ms. Connection established to 130.194.11.222
    Trace Complete.
    
    >tracetcp ftp.monash.edu.au:http
    
    Tracing route to 130.194.11.222 [ringtail.its.monash.edu.au] on port 80
    Over a maximum of 30 hops.
    1       2 ms    2 ms    2 ms    192.168.34.138  [home.gateway]
    2       Destination Reached in 52 ms. Connection established to 130.194.11.222
    Trace Complete.
    >
    I've been reading MelissaH 's long posts (and her new one) and have tried a fair bit of that, ie -

    Code:
    [TiVo [p0] ~]# netstat -atn
    Active Internet connections (including servers)
    Proto Recv-Q Send-Q Local Address           Foreign Address         State
    tcp        0      0 0.0.0.0:21              0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN
    tcp        0    132 192.168.34.1:23         192.168.34.139:1480     ESTABLISHED
    tcp        0      0 0.0.0.0:23              0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN
    tcp     8784      0 127.0.0.1:8000          127.0.0.1:1031          CLOSE_WAIT
    tcp     8433      0 127.0.0.1:8000          127.0.0.1:1026          CLOSE_WAIT
    tcp        0      0 0.0.0.0:8000            0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN
    tcp        0      0 0.0.0.0:80              0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN
    [TiVo [p0] ~]#
    I can wget as well ie

    Code:
    [TiVo [p0] ~]# wget  -v http://minnie.tuhs.org  -O direct_test.html
    --21:25:43--  http://minnie.tuhs.org/
               => `direct_test.html'
    Resolving minnie.tuhs.org... done.
    Connecting to minnie.tuhs.org[131.244.9.101]:80... connected.
    HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
    Length: 7,388 [text/html]
    
     0% [                                     ] 7,388          0.00B/s    ETA 00:00
    
    Last-modified header invalid -- time-stamp ignored.
    21:25:44 (0.00 GB/s) - `direct_test.html' saved [7388/7388]
    
    [TiVo [p0] ~]#
    Though I am getting invalid time stamps.

    But the local hosts one is failing ie

    Code:
    [TiVo [p0] ~]# wget  -v http://localhost:8000  -O proxy_test.html
    --21:29:20--  http://localhost:8000/
               => `proxy_test.html'
    Resolving localhost... done.
    Connecting to localhost[127.0.0.1]:8000... connected.
    HTTP request sent, awaiting response...
    - and didn't come back.

    DNS is NOT working - its getting minnie out of cache, but nothing else ie

    Code:
    [TiVo [p0] ~]# wget -v -t 1 http://www.abc.com.au
    --21:31:46--  http://www.abc.com.au/
               => `index.html.1'
    Resolving www.abc.com.au... failed: Host not found.
    [TiVo [p0] ~]#

    Thoughts anyone? The tivo's have been running for years, so it's got to be something to do with the isp... Though I did change one thing locally, my home network used to be 10.0.* is now 192.168.* as exetel are putting a 10.0.* in their route (!) and I change mine just to make sure that wasn't causing the problem (tivo's picked it up fine, and I can telnet to them , and use tivoweb).

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    What does 'route' show?

    do you know what software version you are using? the newer releases are better able to cope with these sorts of issues automatically.

    Peter.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  3. #3
    Hi Peter

    From /etc/oztivo_version - "1.6.2-20070128" which I think is the latest.

    This is doing a route on the tivo -

    Code:
    [TiVo [p0] ~]# traceroute -n 131.244.9.101
    traceroute to 131.244.9.101 (131.244.9.101), 30 hops max, 40 byte packets
     1  192.168.34.138  1.028 ms  0.857 ms  0.816 ms
     2  220.233.1.149  36.171 ms  35.603 ms  35.699 ms
     3  220.233.0.241  35.839 ms  37.520 ms  42.611 ms
     4  10.0.1.2  34.545 ms  35.337 ms  34.605 ms
     5  220.233.2.34  35.421 ms  34.594 ms  36.457 ms
     6  203.202.84.65  36.363 ms  37.340 ms  37.918 ms
     7  61.88.240.117  210.637 ms  247.539 ms  222.010 ms
     8  59.154.4.2  49.383 ms  53.625 ms  51.376 ms
     9  203.22.124.33  55.339 ms  54.020 ms  53.246 ms
    10  203.13.70.21  56.109 ms  57.047 ms  54.463 ms
    11  203.13.70.226  57.566 ms  59.712 ms  53.276 ms
    12  203.144.10.94  54.483 ms  55.658 ms  54.664 ms
    13  192.48.109.2  55.522 ms  54.375 ms  53.267 ms
    14  * * *
    15  * *
    And this is from the PC -

    Code:
    tracert 131.244.9.101
    
    Tracing route to minnie.tuhs.org [131.244.9.101]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:
    
      1    35 ms     1 ms     1 ms  home.gateway [192.168.34.138]
      2    37 ms    35 ms    38 ms  149.1.233.220.exetel.com.au [220.233.1.149]
      3    37 ms    36 ms    35 ms  241.0.233.220.exetel.com.au [220.233.0.241]
      4    34 ms    35 ms    35 ms  10.0.1.2
      5    48 ms    34 ms    36 ms  34.2.233.220.exetel.com.au [220.233.2.34]
      6    37 ms    35 ms    36 ms  Vlan366.o2gsc76f03.optus.net.au [203.202.84.65]
    
      7    50 ms    50 ms    49 ms  61.88.240.117
      8    48 ms    49 ms    51 ms  uecommltdvic.14vfc76f06.optus.net.au [59.154.4.2
    ]
      9    55 ms    53 ms    55 ms  briswi-lsr1.onthenet.net [203.22.124.33]
     10    57 ms    53 ms    55 ms  gcva-gw-fe4-0.OntheNet.net [203.13.70.21]
     11    53 ms    53 ms    53 ms  fast1-1-gcva-sr1-gw2.OntheNet.net [203.13.70.226
    ]
     12    54 ms    56 ms    53 ms  bond-gw1.OntheNet.net [203.144.10.94]
     13    54 ms    56 ms    53 ms  bdr0-hssi0.mgt.bond.edu.au [192.48.109.2]
     14     *        *        *     Request timed out.
     15     *        *        *     Request timed out.
     16     *        *        *     Request timed out.
    Does that help?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    Can you just try 'route' on the TiVo, not traceroute.

    also clear tclient.log and force a daily call, then post the results here.

    Peter.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  5. #5
    route -

    Code:
    [TiVo [p0] ~]# route
    route_info, afname=inet, options=33
    Kernel IP routing table
    Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
    192.168.34.0    *               255.255.255.0   U     32767  0        0 eth0
    default         192.168.34.138  0.0.0.0         UG    0      0        0 eth0
    [TiVo [p0] ~]#
    192.168.34.138 IS my adsl router.

    With the tclient.log - I found a tclient file (no .log) in /var/log, is that the one you mean?

    If so, blanking it and running a 'phone now' from tiviweb resulted in there being nothing in the file...

    Ian

  6. #6
    And a manual wget works OK ie

    Code:
    wget http://131.244.9.101/tivo-static/listings/VI03001_13913-13927.slice.gz
    returns the slice file..

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    route is fine.

    I have never seen an empty tclient log file, after forcing a daily call. what was the status shown in TiVoWebPlus?

    I think your main issue may be DNS resolution. Try the wget again using minnie.tuhs.org instead.

    Peter.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    Ian,

    Have you had any PC issues since since swapping to ADSL2? or is it only the TiVo that is having issues.

    Peter.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  9. #9
    So the file I should be looking in is /var/log/tclient ? Yep, empty.

    From tivoweb, it gets up to 'connecting...' and will eventually time out and say failed.

    DNS is definitely down (which I mentioned in my first post), but it obviously has the address for minnie.tuhs.org saved ie

    Code:
    [TiVo [p0] /tmp]# wget http://minnie.tuhs.org/tivo-static/listings/VI03001_13913-13927.slice.gz
    --09:47:23--  http://minnie.tuhs.org/tivo-static/listings/VI03001_13913-13927.slice.gz
               => `VI03001_13913-13927.slice.gz.2'
    Resolving minnie.tuhs.org... done.
    Connecting to minnie.tuhs.org[131.244.9.101]:80... connected.
    HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
    Length: 79,928 [text/plain]
    
     0% [                                     ] 79,928         0.00G/s    ETA 00:00
    
    Last-modified header invalid -- time-stamp ignored.
    09:47:27 (0.00 GB/s) - `VI03001_13913-13927.slice.gz.2' saved [79928/79928]
    
    [TiVo [p0] /tmp]#
    As for other adsl issues, I've had trouble with my VPN to work - though I suspect it is at the work end as the server is stuffed.. And it has worked since I swapped, it just keeps on dying.. The work server is being replaced soon, so hopefully that will be fixed.

    Apart from that, just the tivo stopping to download..

    And thanks a lot for the help!

    Ian

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    Quote Originally Posted by ian View Post
    So the file I should be looking in is /var/log/tclient ? Yep, empty.

    From tivoweb, it gets up to 'connecting...' and will eventually time out and say failed.
    I'm a bit miffed, TiVo should be writing to /var/log/tclient each time you try a daily call. I've never seen an empty tclient.

    tclient is the log we rely on to troubleshoot daily call issues.

    not sure where to go from here.

    Peter.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

Similar Threads

  1. Daily Call Failed: Service unavailable
    By imcdermid in forum TV Guide Issues
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 31-05-2016, 11:39 AM
  2. Failed daily call
    By tonys in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-07-2009, 08:55 AM
  3. Daily call failed.
    By lenman74 in forum TV Guide Issues
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 13-05-2009, 04:48 AM
  4. Daily call failing since moving ISP's to Optus
    By eden in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 60
    Last Post: 26-10-2008, 06:55 PM
  5. Failed Daily call
    By palmag in forum TV Guide Issues
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 28-09-2008, 02:53 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •