Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Problems with more than one tivo on network

Problems with more than one tivo on network

I'm no expert, but have managed to keep one tivo going for the past 2 1/2 years.

Recently tried to add second tivo to my network - and can't work out why it isn't working. Both have airnet card, with different static IP addresses. Both have prism 2.5 802.11b network cards. Problem is that both tivos' MAC addresses show up as attached devices on my wireless router - but only one with an IP address.

Don't know where to begin troubleshooting - any thoughts would be helpful!

I had a similar problem, think you have to reset the MAC address one one or both of the network cards, here's a link to the relevant thread: http://forums.oztivo.net/showthread.php?t=1096
    Last edited by tonys; 18-07-2007 at 09:35 AM.

thanks for the advice / link-

I'm not sure how I wil change the MAC address, given that it is supplied by the wireless card (both tivos are running through airnet rather than turbonet), but will see if I can dig out a method.

will see if nic_config_tivo can force a MAC address change (??)
    - will try tonight

Update: just tried. nic_config_tivo doesn't give me the option to change the MAC address - I am certain that the two boxes are reporting a different MAC address, so shouldn't be causing problems? Also, changed IP address of the tivo I can get into - and the other doesn't appear, so I don't think it is an IP address clash.
    Last edited by MMooney; 18-07-2007 at 03:45 PM.

If you turn OFF the good TiVo, then reboot the unseen TiVo, can you find it on the network?

Peter.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

Yes!

Any thoughts on what might be causing the conflict?

can confirm that both are using different (static) IP addresses, differnt MAC addresses.