Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Make Tivo over the Internet

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    NSW
    Posts
    19

    Make Tivo over the Internet

    Hi All,

    I am using the HowTo:PasswordProtectedRemoteAccess and I have created the file dyndns.sh, placed it in the /var/hack directory and made it executable.
    When I try to test it I get:
    [TiVo [p0] ~]# ./dyndns.sh
    bash: ./dyndns.sh: No such file or directory
    [TiVo [p0] ~]#

    I get the same if I put in the path:
    [TiVo [p0] /]# /var/hack/dyndns.sh
    bash: /var/hack/dyndns.sh: No such file or directory
    [TiVo [p0] /]# cd /var/hack
    [TiVo [p0] /var/hack]# dyndns.sh
    bash: dyndns.sh: command not found

    The file is there and the permissions are OK.

    [TiVo [p0] ~]# find /var/hack/dyndns.sh
    /var/hack/dyndns.sh
    [TiVo [p0] ~]# cd /var/hack
    [TiVo [p0] /var/hack]# ls -l dyndns.sh
    -rwxr-xr-x 1 0 0 854 May 2 10:32 dyndns.sh

    The first line of the file is: #!/bin/sh
    so I don't think that's the problem.

    To create the file I simply copied & pasted from the HowTo to a new file in xint. I modified the Host Name etc and saved it as dyndns.sh

    I am not very experienced in Linux so I would be grateful if anyone could point out the error of my ways!

    Regards
    Mike Sharkey

    Phillips Series 1 Tivo running v.1.5 Image

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Hamilton, NZ
    Posts
    196
    Taking a guess here - did you create the file on a windows machine? (or ftp in ascii mode?)

    you probably need to run:
    dos2unix dyndns.sh
    chmod 755 dyndns

    then try again

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    NSW
    Posts
    19
    You are spot on....I did create the file on a Windows PC, so I did what you suggested and I got the file to execute. Thank you for that.

    I found I had to change some of the paths in the file location section of dyndns.sh (/devbin instead of /hack/bin).
    Now I get to the part where it's supposed to get my IP address and it falls over.
    [TiVo [p0] /var/hack]# /var/hack/dyndns.sh
    --13:34:44-- http://www.myipaddress.com/
    => `index.html'
    Resolving www.myipaddress.com... failed: Host not found.
    grep: index.html: No such file or directory
    rm: indexhtml: No such file or directory
    /bin/cat: /tmp/ip.txt: No such file or directory

    I don't believe the router (Netcomm NB1300PLUS4) is a problem as the Tivo makes the daily call OK.

    Any thoughts?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    NSW
    Posts
    108
    It looks to me like you don't have a nameserver setup on your tivo. Either edit /etc/resolv.conf and add your ISPs nameserver or change the dyndns.sh script to use the ip address of www.myipaddress.com instead of the host name.

    My /etc/resolv.conf contains:
    Code:
    # Example resolv.conf file
    # ns.optus.net.au:
    nameserver 61.88.88.88

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    NSW
    Posts
    19
    Thanks Matt, you were right. I edited the dyndns.sh file replacing the Host Name with the IP address (although I had to go away from www.myipaddress.com as they seem to have introduced a security feature which prevented the script working). Anyway I used http://checkip.dyndns.com (204.13.249.51) and it worked......up to a point!

    There was another Host Name in the script (http://members.dyndns.org/nic etc) which it uses to update the IP database. When I set about trying to find the IP address for this site I came across an announcement from dyndns.com dated April 2003 to the effect that members 'NIC' was being retired.

    "For the forseeable future, links within members.dyndns.org will be automatically redirected to the new locations within www.dyndns.org, but please be sure to update any bookmarks pointing to members.dyndns.org appropriately. Update clients should continue to use members.dyndns.org, not www.dyndns.org, to perform updates." (http://www.dyndns.com/news/releases/...c_retired.html)

    So now I'm stumped again!

    As before, grateful for any suggestions

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    NSW
    Posts
    108
    According to the the Dyndns API https://www.dyndns.com/developers/specs/syntax.html , members.dyndns.org is the correct host to use.
    What problems are you seeing now?
    I would recommend at this stage that you update /etc/resolv.conf to contain a valid nameserver. To do this enter the following commands on the tivo (you can copy and paste everything inside the blue box)
    Code:
    rw
    cp /etc/resolv.conf /etc/resolv.conf.bak
    echo "nameserver 61.88.88.88" >> /etc/resolv.conf
    ro
    cat /etc/resolv.conf
    ls -l /etc/resolv.conf*
    Please post the output of the above commands

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    NSW
    Posts
    19
    All is well!
    I should have read your first post more carefully, Matt.
    I followed your first suggestion and edited the resolv.conf file to include the Bigpond nameserver and the script worked perfectly (including the www.myipaddress.com lookup)

    I have put the line 15,45 * * * * /var/hack/dyndns.sh into /hack/etc/crontab..............I presume that's the place for it?

    Thanks for all your help

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    NSW
    Posts
    108
    Quote Originally Posted by Mike Sharkey View Post
    I have put the line 15,45 * * * * /var/hack/dyndns.sh into /hack/etc/crontab..............I presume that's the place for it?
    I guess that will work (not tried it myself) but it may get overwritten if you update your tivo.
    May be better move that line to a new file in /hack/etc/cron.d ?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    NSW
    Posts
    19
    I just checked the execution again and I noticed it ran the full script even though my IP address had not changed.
    Looks to me as if the comparison of old and current IP is not working.
    Is there a way that I can check the value of OLDIP=`$CAT $CACHE`?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    NSW
    Posts
    108
    Assuming your using the script from the wiki
    Code:
    cat /tmp/ip.txt
    You may also like to try
    Code:
    sh -x ./dyndns.sh
    which will show the output of each command as it's run

Similar Threads

  1. Slingbox - Viewing my TiVo anywhere via the internet
    By SeanOffShotgun in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 27-02-2008, 06:46 AM
  2. NZ Tivo able to make use of keywords/actors/etc?
    By BenMorgan in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29-11-2006, 03:30 PM
  3. Tivo interfering with Internet???
    By kim in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29-08-2006, 08:21 PM
  4. cant force phone/internet connect
    By vex in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-04-2006, 12:55 AM
  5. Tivo and No internet
    By Expon in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-11-2005, 06:19 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •