Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: TIVOWebPlus not starting

  1. #1

    Question TIVOWebPlus not starting

    I cannot get TIVOWebPlus to start.

    It was working previously but after a recent hanging, it no longer starts.

    I can ftp and telnet to OZTivo on 192.168.0.200 (DHCP) but do not have web access

    Here are some of the information requested in other posts related to TIVOWebPlus problems

    Thanks for any help
    ================================================== ====

    [TiVo [p0] /etc/rc.d]# ls -l
    total 79
    -rwxrwxr-x 1 0 0 1776 Feb 28 2002 finishInstall.tcl
    -r-xr-xr-x 1 0 0 4177 Nov 4 07:53 rc.arch
    -rwxr-xr-x 1 0 0 3739 May 24 2005 rc.arch.original
    -r-xr-xr-x 1 0 0 2993 Dec 22 23:33 rc.net
    -rwxrwxr-x 1 0 0 187 Jan 26 2005 rc.net.airnet
    -rwxr-xr-x 1 0 0 267 Jan 26 2005 rc.net.airnet.static
    -rwxrwxr-x 1 0 0 188 Jan 26 2005 rc.net.cachecard
    -rwxr-xr-x 1 0 0 188 Jan 26 2005 rc.net.cachecard.static
    -rwxrwxr-x 1 0 0 200 Jan 7 2004 rc.net.tivonet
    -rwxrwxr-x 1 0 0 196 Jan 26 2005 rc.net.turbonet
    -rwxr-xr-x 1 0 0 246 Jan 26 2005 rc.net.turbonet.static
    -r-xr-xr-x 1 0 0 160 Nov 3 23:48 rc.ppp
    -r-xr-xr-x 1 0 0 23283 Nov 25 21:37 rc.sysinit
    -r-xr-xr-x 1 0 0 4670 Nov 9 03:19 rc.sysinit.author
    -r-xr-xr-x 1 0 0 4643 Dec 26 01:36 rc.sysinit.author.backup
    -rwxr-xr-x 1 0 0 3056 Apr 14 2005 rc.sysinit.noservices
    -rwxr-xr-x 1 0 0 19083 May 24 2005 rc.sysinit.orig


    ftp://192.168.0.200/etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit.author


    #### OZTIVO-SPECIFIC TOOLS ####
    # $Revision: 1.6 $
    #
    # DON'T EDIT THIS FILE! To control what is run by this script, create
    # a file called /etc/sysinit.conf, copy the relevant "enable" lines from
    # /etc/dflt_sysinit.conf into /etc/sysinit.conf, and change them to be
    # "YES" or "NO" as required.

    # Load default parameters and any overrides and network parameters
    . /etc/dflt_sysinit.conf
    . /etc/sysinit.conf
    . /etc/oztivo.conf

    export MY_SERVER=10.0.0.1
    export NFS_SERVER=$MY_SERVER
    export SMB_SERVER=$MY_SERVER
    #export TIME_SERVER=$MY_SERVER

    # Use extra libs (termcap, etc)
    export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/hack/lib

    #### Mount Network Shares #######

    # mount NFS shares (if you have them) Change the NFS_SERVER variable above to the ip of box with share
    #insmod -f /lib/modules/nfs.o
    #mount -t nfs -o rsize=8192,wsize=8192 ${NFS_SERVER}:/home/tivo /hack/nfs

    # Mount shares on your windows boxen.
    # This doesn't work too well.
    # insmod -f /lib/modules/smbfs.o
    # smbmount //${SMB_SERVER}/SHARE /hack/smb -s putrename -c tivo -I x.x.x.x -U user -D WORKGROUP -P password

    #### Start Programs ######

    # CCXSTREAM - stream to XBOX
    # google for ccxstream or search forums at xboxmediacenter.de
    if checkyesno ccxstream_enable; then
    ccxstream &
    fi

    # Start Cron
    # Edit /hack/etc/crontab to configure it
    if checkyesno cron_enable; then
    cron &
    fi

    # Start FTP daemon
    # This is ADH's (from Deal Database) version that saves you from chmod +x
    #
    if checkyesno tivoftpd_enable; then
    tivoftpd &
    fi

    # Start TiVoWeb or TivoWebPlus
    if checkyesno tivoweb_enable; then
    if [ "$tivoweb_version" = "PLUS" ]; then
    /hack/TivoWebPlus/tivoweb &
    else
    /hack/tivoweb-tcl/tivoweb &
    fi
    fi

    # Autospace.tcl
    if checkyesno autospace_enable; then
    /var/hack/autospace/autospace.tcl
    fi

    # Vserver - Stream ty files on port 8074 see tivo-mplayer.sf.net
    if checkyesno vserver_enable; then
    /devbin/vserver > /dev/null 2>&1 &
    fi

    # EndPad
    # If you want to edit the start and end times,
    # do so in /hack/endpad-1.5.1/endpad.config
    if checkyesno endpad_enable; then
    /hack/endpad-1.5.1/endpad.tcl -auto -config $endpad_configfile >> /dev/null &
    fi

    ##### Various Other Hacks #######

    # Tweak HDD settings
    # Don't worry if you don't have a two drive TiVo, it will work for
    # 1 drive setups too.
    # Make certain runideturbo=false is in boot params, or rename
    # the file /lib/modules/ideturbo.o to something else so it doesn't load.
    hdparm -c1 -m8 -M1 -S0 /dev/hda /dev/hdb
    hdparm -m16 /dev/hda /dev/hdb

    # Copy Module
    # copies anything written to /var/packages to /tmp
    # very useful for capturing tivo slices.
    if checkyesno copymod_enable; then
    insmod -f /lib/modules/copy.o
    fi

    # Emu Proxy
    # A tool for cleaning up the HTTP output by the Tivo in order to pass through
    # transparent proxies, etc.
    # Works in conjunction with a small hack to the emulator to accept the header
    # "TivoURLBase" which is the base url to give back to the Tivo when specifying
    # data paths.
    # Runs by default and is dependent on the
    # 127::127.0.0.1:8000:::
    # entry in tclient.conf
    # IF YOU COMMENT THIS OUT SO IT DOESN'T RUN, YOU MUST EDIT THE "127" entry
    # in /etc/tclient.conf to reflect the IP and port of the emulator you are using
    # There is a backup of the original here: /etc/tclient.conf-oztivo

    if checkyesno emuproxy_enable; then
    if [ "$emuproxy_version" = "2" ]; then
    # Run emuProxy2
    # Usage: %s [-d] [-h] [-l localport] [-L listenAddr] [-s serverip]
    # [-p serverport]
    /hack/bin/emuProxy2 -s 131.244.9.101 -p $emulatorport &
    fi

    if [ "$emuproxy_version" = "3" ]; then
    # Run emuProxy3
    # Usage: %s [-d] [-h] [-l localport] [-L listenAddr] [-s serverip]
    # [-p serverport]
    /hack/bin/emuProxy3 -s 131.244.9.101 -p $emulatorport &
    fi

    if [ "$emuproxy_version" = "ZA" ]; then
    # Run emuProxyZA
    # You can change the emulator name/port in /etc/oztivo.conf
    # For other config changes, do them in /hack/etc/emuProxyZA.conf
    /hack/bin/emuProxyZA -s $emulator -p $emulatorport &
    fi
    fi

    # Report IP - Handy for those not using DHCP-DNS functionality
    # set dhcp hostname in /etc/dhclient.conf
    # See http://www.isc.org/ for more info on DHCP and BIND
    if checkyesno report_ip_enable; then
    report_ipaddress &
    fi

    # Trickey by Kevin Lentin provides a way to force tivo to
    # run commands by assign remote key sequences. Very Cool!
    # check out /hack/bin/trickey.README
    if checkyesno trickey_enable; then
    trickey &
    fi

    # Run the k9tivo NTP broadcast client
    if checkyesno k9tivo_enable; then
    k9tivo &
    fi

    # Run the bufferhack program to increase the live TV buffer size
    if checkyesno bufferhack_enable; then
    bufferhack32a.tcl $bufferhack_size &
    fi

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    62
    I actually noticed the same thing happen to mine, just out of the blue it stopped working, so I changed my author file to just have the startup command. For some reason it doesn't appear to be doing the check properly.

    Change as below for immediate fix, but this will have to be looked at by the guys because it's not the right thing to do. . .

    # Start TiVoWeb or TivoWebPlus
    #if checkyesno tivoweb_enable; then
    # if [ "$tivoweb_version" = "PLUS" ]; then
    # /hack/TivoWebPlus/tivoweb &
    # else
    # /hack/tivoweb-tcl/tivoweb &
    # fi
    #fi

    /var/hack/TivoWebPlus/tivoweb &
    Last edited by pjpete; 02-01-2007 at 01:08 AM. Reason: added a bit more description
    TiVo Series 1 (Phillips) - 500Gb, 512Mb Cachecard, Foxtel Digital Cable
    TiVo Series 1 (Sony) - 250Gb, Turbonet Card, HAILO 8000 HD STB

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    While your hack may work, it defeats the purpose of /etc/sysinit.conf.

    Also your hack will be overwritten once you use the upgrade script.

    We no longer make any changes to rc.sysinit.author

    check to see the contents of /etc/sysinit.conf or if it doesn't exist look at /etc/dflt_sysinit.conf.

    You should have a couple of lines like:
    tivoweb_enable="YES" # Start TivoWeb or TivoWebPlus:
    tivoweb_version="PLUS" # Set to "" for TivoWeb, or "PLUS"

    If using TivoWebPlus.

    Peter.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  4. #4
    There is no /etc/sysinit.conf and the lines are correct in /etc/dflt_sysinit.conf

    I have looked at both these files using Putty to telnet. When I open them using Joe, they are opened in Read Only mode.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Victoria
    Posts
    1,202
    Correct. The TiVo filesystem is read only. To make it read/write you have to issue the command rw and remember to put it back into read only when finished with the command ro
    Darren King
    OzTiVo Repairs and Modifications
    If your TiVo requires repairs or modifications
    then visit: http://kingey1971.wix.com/tivorepairs

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    62
    Quote Originally Posted by petestrash View Post
    check to see the contents of /etc/sysinit.conf or if it doesn't exist look at /etc/dflt_sysinit.conf.

    You should have a couple of lines like:
    tivoweb_enable="YES" # Start TivoWeb or TivoWebPlus:
    tivoweb_version="PLUS" # Set to "" for TivoWeb, or "PLUS"

    If using TivoWebPlus.

    Peter.
    Yep, those lines exist, and are correct, without the .author file modified mine never starts at all. However I will just create a .conf file and have the startup line put in, wasn't aware that the upgrade script over writes it.
    TiVo Series 1 (Phillips) - 500Gb, 512Mb Cachecard, Foxtel Digital Cable
    TiVo Series 1 (Sony) - 250Gb, Turbonet Card, HAILO 8000 HD STB

  7. #7
    Thanks Darren

    The files all look to be intact and correct. The TivoWeb.Log appears to be fine
    ===
    TivoWebPlus - v1.3.1 (1.3.1 (oztivo-061025))
    The program comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY.
    This program is licensed under the GPL.
    See the 'docs/copyright' and 'docs/index.html' files
    for copyright and credit information.
    PoolSize=2916352
    Loading modules...
    ChannelMap
    backup
    channelgrid
    channelprefs
    confresManual
    debug
    displaytext
    extract
    favicon
    folders
    gallery
    gdchecker
    higuide
    index
    -initializing logo index
    -initializing channel table
    --caching 11 channels for source of type=5 (CableBox)
    --fully processed 11 of 11 channels for source of type=5 (CableBox)
    -initializing genre table
    -initializing now showing cache
    -initializing season pass cache
    info
    lj_utils
    logos
    logs
    mail
    manrec
    merge
    mfsbrowser
    mrv
    netconfig
    phone
    reorder
    resources
    Loaded 89 resource definitions
    rss
    sched
    screen
    script
    search
    sysadmin
    theme
    ui
    update
    webremote
    whatson
    wishlists
    xlist
    {more}
    Accepting Connections
    ===

    and when I do a 'ps ax' I don't see TivoWebPlus
    ===
    [TiVo [p0] /hack/TivoWebPlus]# ps ax
    PID TTY STAT TIME COMMAND
    1 ? SW 0:00 init
    2 ? SW 0:00 (kflushd)
    3 ? RW 0:11 (kswapd)
    49 ? SW 0:00 (shondss.sh)
    51 S3 SW 0:00 (bash)
    61 ? S 0:00 update (bdflush)
    72 ? S 0:09 syslogd -p /var/dev/log -m 10000
    74 ? SW 0:00 klogd
    75 ? SW 0:00 (tnlited.sh)
    78 ? RW 0:03 /sbin/tnlited 23 /bin/bash -login
    89 ? SW 0:24 /tvbin/switcherstart -m -F
    91 ? S 3:59 /tvbin/mfsd
    93 ? S 0:00 fancontrol
    124 ? SW 0:00 (mcp)
    141 ? SW 0:00 tivoftpd
    142 ? S 0:00 cron
    158 ? SW 0:10 PipeListen
    159 ? S 0:32 Mcp event
    160 ? SW 0:00 (tcphonehome)
    164 ? SW 0:00 (tcphonehome)
    165 ? SW 0:09 PipeListener
    167 ? S 0:01 /var/hack/autospace/osdcons
    168 ? S 0:00 PhoneHome event hd
    179 ? R 0:49 tivosh /var/hack/autospace/autospace.tcl BG
    183 ? SW 0:00 (emuProxyZA)
    185 ? S 0:00 trickey
    201 ? S 0:08 /tvbin/tivosh /hack/endpad-1.5.1/endpad.tcl -auto -config /h
    203 ? S 0:00 (dhclient)
    204 ? S 1:06 /tvbin/dbgc-mcp
    205 ? SW 0:10 PipeListener
    206 ? R 0:04 /tvbin/myworld
    207 ? SW 0:01 FsMpStream
    208 ? SW 0:05 PipeListener
    209 ? SW 0:05 TmkSinkMixAud
    210 ? SW 0:43 TmkClipCache0
    211 ? S 0:32 TmkClipCache1
    212 ? R 33:40 TvMomCs22Sink
    213 ? SW 0:00 (myworld)
    214 ? R 0:14 Mediaswitch0
    215 ? R 0:05 TvVideoManager
    216 ? R 0:55 TvRecorder
    217 ? S 0:31 TmkTaskManager
    218 ? S 17:24 Scheduler
    219 ? S 11:04 Prioritizer
    220 ? S 0:11 EventLog event
    221 ? R 0:02 PvrMain
    222 ? SW 0:00 (myworld)
    223 ? R 11:51 ContextMgr eve
    372 ? SW 0:01 tivoftpd
    423 ? SW 0:00 tivoftpd
    424 p0 SW 0:00 /bin/bash -login
    439 p0 RW 0:00 ps ax
    ===

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Victoria
    Posts
    1,202
    Maybe the CrashCount file shows a figure greater than zero which can cause TiVoWEB+ not to start.

    Try entering this command from a telnet session:

    echo 0 > /hack/TivoWebPlus/.dist/CrashCount

    That should reset CrashCount back to zero. Then reboot the TiVo and see what happens.
    Darren King
    OzTiVo Repairs and Modifications
    If your TiVo requires repairs or modifications
    then visit: http://kingey1971.wix.com/tivorepairs

  9. #9
    Thanks

    That fixed it

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Wellington, NZ
    Posts
    477
    Quote Originally Posted by Darren King View Post
    Maybe the CrashCount file shows a figure greater than zero which can cause TiVoWEB+ not to start.

    Try entering this command from a telnet session:

    echo 0 > /hack/TivoWebPlus/.dist/CrashCount

    That should reset CrashCount back to zero. Then reboot the TiVo and see what happens.
    This issue was fixed a few revisions ago, new distributions of TWP v1.3.1 can be found at http://beam.to/TWP

Similar Threads

  1. Movie downloads available starting next week on TiVoHD.
    By petestrash in forum Australian TiVoHD
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 25-11-2008, 05:32 PM
  2. starting recording early and late finish
    By donm in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 22-09-2008, 03:08 PM
  3. TurboNet card not starting up
    By SteveCourt in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-07-2008, 06:23 AM
  4. Tivoweb not starting
    By BenD in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-11-2006, 09:25 PM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-08-2005, 01:27 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •