Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: No sound from PVR10UK

  1. #1

    No sound from PVR10UK

    Hi Guys,

    Can anyone help me here?! I've managed to bumble my way through importing a PVR10UK TiVo, installing a 200Gb drive with the 3.0 Oztivo image & running guided setup.

    I did the fix to sysinit to get the TiVo to boot after a quick visit to Dick Smith's to make up a serial cable.

    Everything is great except I get no sound - just static whether in the Tivo screen or watching live TV. I'm using the coax input & output.

    I've read a few cases where the fix was to use ukchan30.o & have found that in /lib/modules but have no idea how to use it.

    I'm in Brisbane now & using the Phillips image.

    Can anyone help?

    Thanks in advance,

    John.
    Last edited by JohnPierson; 15-07-2006 at 04:00 PM.

  2. #2
    I'm starting to think I may have bitten off more than I can chew....

    I've been trawling round the forums & I think I may have my answer:

    http://minnie.tuhs.org/pipermail/ozt...ay/024025.html

    Can anyone confirm this for me & point me to where I can get the new code already compiled (not being much of a programmer myself!)?

    Any help appreciated (before my wife works out how much I've spent on a non-functional TiVo!).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Wellington, NZ
    Posts
    477
    Quote Originally Posted by JohnPierson
    I've been trawling round the forums & I think I may have my answer:
    http://minnie.tuhs.org/pipermail/ozt...ay/024025.html
    You might like to try "iicsetnosub 0xca 0x8a481df4" from the commandline, which will set the output to RF Channel 22, and see if it solves the problem. You can use different figures depending on what output channel you require.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Wellington, NZ
    Posts
    477
    The following is an script that should also work. It still requires the iicsetnosub binary. If passed a channel argument it will set the output channel, otherwise it will use the existing RFOutput value.

    Code:
    #!/tvbin/tivosh
    
    if {$argc == 0} {
      puts "Usage: set_RFOutputChannel <channel>"
      exit
    }
    
    set ch [lindex $argv 0]
    
    set rfo 0x8a480004
    set rfo [expr $rfo|((303+($ch*8))<<4)]
    set rfo [format "%#x" $rfo]
    
    exec iicsetnosub 0xca $rfo
    Last edited by thomson; 19-07-2006 at 02:55 PM.

  5. #5
    Thanks Thomson, my wife may yet speak to me again...

    Sorry to come back again but when I tried that I get:

    couldn't execute "iicsetnosub": no such file or directory
    while executing
    "exec iicsetnosub 0xca $rfo"

    I've search the TiVo & the web but can't find anywhere that lists iicsetnosub. Could you point me in the right direction?

    Thanks,

    John.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Wellington, NZ
    Posts
    477
    Quote Originally Posted by JohnPierson
    I've search the TiVo & the web but can't find anywhere that lists iicsetnosub. Could you point me in the right direction?
    Nope... but I've attached it
    Attached Files Attached Files

Similar Threads

  1. Thomson PVR10UK & Freeview setup
    By fairyland in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-09-2010, 07:12 PM
  2. Installing on Thompson PVR10UK
    By Alan111S in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 16-09-2009, 08:39 PM
  3. Uk Tivo pvr10uk.255 image problem
    By ominous2003 in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-08-2009, 09:39 AM
  4. OzTivo Image for UK Thomson PVR10UK Tivo?
    By kasman21 in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 11-01-2009, 11:44 PM
  5. Thomson Scenium PVR10UK set up problems
    By Chieftain in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 06-04-2008, 11:13 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •