Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Changing Program Source for 2nd input

  1. #1

    Changing Program Source for 2nd input

    I'd like to change my 2nd input program source from foxtel digital to a strong srt5066 digital stb.

    Per the FAQs I've been trying to execute guided setup and follow the instructions in GuideSetup30.

    The problem I have is that after using tivoweb to SetPALGuidedSetupMode and Reboot I do get the maintenance splash screen as suggested however guided setup does not commence.

    Instead it goes straight to TiVo central.

    I am able to follow the menus here to setup the different IR codes for an SRT5000 (which at this point i'm crossing my fingers is IR compatible with the SRT5066 I'm using).

    After changing the IR device the tivo still cannot change channels on the STB. Either during channel change test or after accepting the setup selection and trying to change channels on the tivo. This could be a symptom of not having changed the program source from foxtel to digital fta or IR incompatibility, I'm not sure.

    The blaster thingy that I am supposed to put near my stb IR input does not illuminate when I press the channel changer on the tivo remote. I don't know if this is normal or not. If not it may be the source of the IR issue.

    So my question is two fold.

    How can I change the program source to digital fta - is guided setup the right path - if yes, why doesn't guided setup startup?

    Is the IR behaviour I've had so far to be expected or do I have a secondary problem here?

    I've searched the faqs and mailing list for related topics, but no joy thus far.

    edit: manufacturer = philips, software version = 3.0.01-1-000
    Last edited by mnorman; 14-06-2006 at 12:56 PM. Reason: add make, s/w version

  2. #2

    Changing Program Source for 2nd input

    I found guided setup in the system restart menu and am progressing through it. Fingers crossed the IR issue comes out in the wash

  3. #3

    Changing Program Source for 2nd input

    Guided setup went through ok except for IR test. Either the device is IR incompatible (in which case I can try the customer IR guides) or the absence of illumination on the IR blaster is the problem.

    The stb does have a serial input - maybe this is an easier way out, but I dont see a lot of info on it. The stb manual says the serial input is for s/w upgrades - I don't know if this excludes the option of controlling chanells.

    I'll probably look down the custom IR guides path short of any better ideas.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Victoria
    Posts
    1,239
    It is most likely the device does not have an IR command set in the OzTiVo database. You may find an equivalent by trial and error.

    Serial control is not utilised to my knowledge. There was some talk of getting serial to work but I don't think it was ever ratified. At any rate almost all STB on the market do not allow for it. As you have correctly identified the serial port is used for software upgrades only on just about all boxes.
    Darren King
    OzTiVo Repairs and Modifications
    If your TiVo requires repairs or modifications
    then visit: http://kingey1971.wix.com/tivorepairs

    NOW ALSO REPAIRING FETCH TOO!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Wellington, NZ
    Posts
    477
    Quote Originally Posted by Darren King
    Serial control is not utilised to my knowledge. There was some talk of getting serial to work but I don't think it was ever ratified.
    It's pretty dodgy, supports very few STB's, and the cable company has to have enabled it in their software... but if you are real keen on giving it a go you can enable it using:
    Code:
    #!/tvbin/tivosh
    ### EXPERIMENTAL ###
    # 2002, embeem
    
    EnableTransactionHoldoff true
    
    set db [dbopen]
    transaction {
      set swsysa [db $db open "/SwSystem/ACTIVE"]
      set resgrp [dbobj $swsysa get ResourceGroup]
      set tmpgrp [lindex $resgrp 30]
      set tmpres [lindex [dbobj $tmpgrp get "Item"] 34]
      set val [dbobj $tmpres get "String"]
      if { $val == 0 || $val == 1 } {
        dbobj $tmpres set "String" 1
        dbobj $tmpgrp remove "CompressedFile"
        puts "done, please reboot"
      } else {
        puts "wrong software version?"
      }
    }
    You can read more on Embeem's original thread.

  6. #6
    Thanks for the input guys. So far I'm trying out the create an IR tcl thingy.

    The newer iSliceCreater method wouldn't execute with message ..

    [TiVo [p1] /hack/etc/ircodes]# ./irSliceCreator.sh
    : No such file or directory

    This is different to the response I get when I try to execute a file that doesnt exist..

    [TiVo [p1] /hack/etc/ircodes]# ./ks
    bash: ./ks: No such file or directory

    so I presume the script and my environment combined have an issue that is beyond my knowledge to resolve

    it's been chmodded to be executable and is unix lf formatted

    meh

    so i'm playing with the older HowTo at the moment ... fingers crossed..

  7. #7
    half an education in capturing tivo ir codes and updating the ir database later and all is working

    i wasnt sure on the procedure for uploading the resulting srt5066.tcl for others to use, but would like to if anyone could give me a pointer on the procedure

    i reused 30069 that is currently assigned to srt5000 which i wasn't sure how to resolve for a new stb which i presume needs to be worked out before sharing

    here's the code for insertion to the .tcl template at any rate

    setIr $tivoir "Dig0" "0 48 34 0 521 253 32 92 31 28 31 28 31 28 31 28 31 27 31 27 32 27 31 28 31 92 32 92 31 92 32 91 31 93 31 93 31 92 31 28 31 92 31 92 31 92 32 27 30 28 31 28 31 27 31 93 31 27 31 28 31 27 32 92 31 93 30 93 30 93 31 368"
    setIr $tivoir "Dig1" "0 48 34 0 520 254 31 92 32 27 31 28 30 28 31 28 31 28 30 27 31 28 30 28 31 93 31 92 31 93 30 93 31 92 31 92 31 92 32 92 31 27 31 29 30 28 31 28 30 28 31 28 31 27 31 27 31 92 31 92 31 92 30 93 31 92 30 93 31 93 31 366"
    setIr $tivoir "Dig2" "0 48 34 0 521 254 31 92 32 27 31 28 31 28 31 28 31 28 30 28 31 28 31 28 31 93 30 93 32 92 31 92 31 93 31 93 30 94 31 28 30 93 31 28 31 28 31 28 31 28 31 28 30 29 31 93 31 28 30 93 30 94 30 93 31 93 30 93 31 93 31 370"
    setIr $tivoir "Dig3" "0 48 34 0 521 254 30 93 30 27 31 29 31 27 32 27 30 28 30 28 31 28 31 27 31 93 31 93 31 93 30 93 30 93 31 92 31 93 30 29 30 93 31 92 32 28 30 27 31 28 30 28 30 28 31 93 30 29 30 28 31 92 31 93 31 92 31 93 31 92 30 369"
    setIr $tivoir "Dig4" "0 48 34 0 520 254 31 93 31 28 31 27 32 28 31 27 32 28 30 28 31 28 31 29 31 92 30 92 31 92 31 93 31 93 31 93 30 93 31 27 31 28 31 92 31 28 32 27 31 29 30 27 31 28 31 92 31 92 31 28 31 93 30 93 30 94 31 93 31 92 30 363"
    setIr $tivoir "Dig5" "0 48 34 0 521 255 31 93 30 29 30 28 30 28 31 27 30 28 31 28 30 28 31 28 30 94 30 94 30 93 30 93 30 93 30 93 30 94 29 94 30 94 30 93 31 28 31 28 30 28 31 28 30 29 30 29 29 29 30 29 30 93 30 93 30 94 30 93 30 94 30 366"
    setIr $tivoir "Dig6" "0 48 34 0 521 255 31 92 31 28 31 27 31 28 31 28 31 28 31 28 31 28 31 28 31 93 30 93 31 93 31 93 30 93 31 93 30 93 30 93 31 28 30 93 31 29 30 28 31 28 30 28 30 29 30 28 31 93 31 28 31 93 31 93 30 93 31 93 30 93 30 367"
    setIr $tivoir "Dig7" "0 48 34 0 521 254 31 92 30 28 31 28 31 27 30 28 30 28 31 27 31 27 30 29 30 93 30 93 31 91 32 92 31 92 31 92 31 92 30 27 31 27 32 27 30 93 30 28 31 27 30 28 32 27 29 94 31 92 31 92 30 27 31 92 32 91 31 93 30 93 30 369"
    setIr $tivoir "Dig8" "0 48 34 0 521 254 31 93 31 28 31 28 30 28 31 28 31 28 31 29 30 29 30 28 31 93 30 93 30 93 30 93 31 93 30 93 31 93 30 28 31 93 31 28 30 93 30 28 30 28 30 28 31 28 31 92 31 28 30 94 30 28 30 94 30 93 31 93 30 93 30 367"
    setIr $tivoir "Dig9" "0 48 34 0 520 254 31 93 31 27 31 28 31 29 30 28 31 28 31 28 30 28 31 28 31 92 31 93 30 93 31 93 31 93 30 93 31 91 31 93 31 92 31 29 30 93 32 27 31 28 31 28 31 27 30 28 30 28 31 92 31 27 31 93 30 93 31 93 31 92 31 367"

    Many thanks to prior contributors from this guide: http://minnie.tuhs.org/twiki/bin/vie...gCodesWithTivo
    -- DanielDrysdale - 19 Oct 2003
    -- PetesTrash - 14 May 2004
    -- DanielDrysdale - 29 Jul 2004
    -- CharlieFranklin - 25 Dec 2004

    and Many thanks to MobyR for the srt5000 tcl which gave me the all important frequency first go and Strong for not being a pita and changing it between minor model releases

    Thanks also to contributors from this guide for Tridges method to testing IR codes (big time saver) in: http://minnie.tuhs.org/twiki/bin/vie...IrSliceCreator
    -- PetesTrash - 15 Jul 2005
    -- SteveSugden - 09 Nov 2005

    <- happy camper
    Last edited by mnorman; 15-06-2006 at 01:35 AM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,037
    I have taken the codes you provided and uploaded to the IR database.

    The new number for it will be 30099.

    A new IR slice will be generated soon. Be aware where that happens your codes will be overwritten by the srt5000 codes for 30069.

    It's always best to use 29992-8 for testing codes, as these will not be overwritten by the new slice.

    Peter.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

Similar Threads

  1. new source for data..
    By deanm in forum TV Guide Issues
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-05-2008, 08:35 AM
  2. Trouble with input source to tivo
    By bobban in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-06-2007, 10:12 PM
  3. Dual source config
    By catdog in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 26-05-2007, 08:50 AM
  4. Add 2nd source on same input
    By smudge in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-02-2007, 11:34 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •