Thread: Oz TiVo + Foxtel Question

Oz TiVo + Foxtel Question

hey everyone!

im new to the OzTiVo forums so...hi =)

ever since i saw tivo on sex and the city while my sister was watching it....ive wanted it! it looks so awesome!
    ive always want something to record tv on so i was gonna use MCE but its complicated so i wished there was tivo in aus....then i find oztivo.net and my prayers are answered! i have been reading the site over and over again...im just amazed at the work.

but i have question.....i would want to use it with foxtel now.....do i need some sort of foxtel epg on my computer or does tivo do all the work when i am setting up the guide?
    also...can i just use the serial cable all the time? coz im only 15 and havent got enough money for and turbonet card lol =P but if i do need one i will get one coz i want tivo so much =P

hope to hear from u all soon =)

cya guys

Hi and welcome. Good to see someone excited about TiVo!

i would want to use it with foxtel now.....do i need some sort of foxtel epg on my computer or does tivo do all the work when i am setting up the guide?
    The EPG is generated by a bunch of hard working volunteers and your TiVo will download it. More volunteers = better guide data

also...can i just use the serial cable all the time? coz im only 15 and havent got enough money for and turbonet card lol
    Good to see you are an ambitious "normal kinda guy". Yes you can, however it is a bit more complex than having a turbonet card in the TiVo but not impossible. The section for you to look at for that info is here: http://minnie.tuhs.org/twiki/bin/vie...erialPPPWithXP

What kind of money were you looking at spending for a TiVo anyway if you don't mind me asking?
    Darren King
    OzTiVo Repairs and Modifications
    If your TiVo requires repairs or modifications
    then visit: http://kingey1971.wix.com/tivorepairs

NOW ALSO REPAIRING FETCH TOO!

thanks for the reply darren =D