PDA

View Full Version : Maliling List vs. Forum Debate [was: cat anyone?]

andrew
08-05-2004, 10:53 PM
Might as well make my first post an interesting one...

Seems like there are some die hards on the mailing list, who think forums are a waste of time. I happen to disagree.

Anyways, being a newbie, I posted over there suggesting a move to here, not knowing the issue had been raised before - I did a serach for this forum name - but got no matches). Someone pointed me to the prev. posts...interesting reading.

No harm in opening up the debate again I say.... :eek: <insert posts violently disagreeing with this comment below>...we need to make people aware of this forum...and take some heat off the mailing list.

I for one know 7 people who just this week have ordered TiVo's from the US and all their mates want one now...this is going to get big me thinks - too big for a mailing list style approach to hadle.

Anyways, time to sleep now. Chat with you folks more soon.

TiVo -10 days and counting. :)

Andrew

tenty
09-05-2004, 08:42 AM
Firstly, welcome to the Forums, and to another extent, welcome to the mailing list.

Where I agree that the topic of tivos can get too big for a mailing list, there are hundreds of mailing lists that have thousands of people on it. Take for example Bugtraq (a mailing list regarding security vulnerabilites).

I installed this forums though so that anyone who wants to hop accross, or between mediums, can. I personally like a forums outlook because I can access the information anywhere, where as I have to wait until I get home before I can read or post my email.

well that's my .2c worth

Cheers

curto
09-05-2004, 08:57 PM
Yeah pity you got the search results after posting.

Different strokes for different folks - hopefully we will start to build up some decent info on here and some of the newbies will gradually migrate across.