PDA

View Full Version : Complete Beginner, How do i set a Tivo up in NZ??

sillysaddam
01-01-2009, 12:19 PM
Hi,

Had a Tivo for a ferw years now but only just getting around to setting it up. I got it off eBay and had a 500GB (i think) hard drive put into it. When i went to plug it in it just says "Please wait a moment.." something about setting up and doesnt move from this screen.

So how do i set it up? Is this where these 'images' for NZ come into the equation?

Much apreciated,
Chris

petestrash
01-01-2009, 02:52 PM
If it is stuck on Please wait a moment, it means that the hard drive is not working correctly. check that one of the cables has not come loose during shipping.

Did you buy this off Australian eBay or US eBay?

Peter.

sillysaddam
01-01-2009, 04:19 PM
Hi,

Thanks. i checked the hard drive and the connections seemed fine. i metered them out and there was a voltage. When i turned it on i could hear the hard drive spinning. When you install the hard drive does it have to be formatted in some way?

Darren King
01-01-2009, 05:02 PM
No, but just like a PC the TiVo does need an operating system, and if it does not have one then the symptoms you describe is what you will see.

This is where imaging the hard disk comes into play as per your comments in the original post.

petestrash
02-01-2009, 01:27 AM
There is/was a fairly comprehensive NZ site for setting up TiVo's www.nztivo.net It also has the NZ specific images.

But this seems to still be down (it has been for a little while now)

Hopefully one of the New Zealanders will pipe in soon and offer you some suggestions.

Peter.

Wibble
02-01-2009, 09:30 AM
There is/was a fairly comprehensive NZ site for setting up TiVo's www.nztivo.net

You can still read it using the wayback machine:
http://web.archive.org/web/20071218123850/www.nztivo.net/index.php/Topics
http://web.archive.org/web/20071218123809/www.nztivo.net/index.php/ImageWithScreenShots1.4

The images: are at