PDA

View Full Version : I'll probably be shot.. but moving to Aus with my TIVO! Any ideas?

tatch76
03-11-2008, 11:31 PM
Is it a simple process to change my TIVO to work in Sydney - or will I need to re-image (which I'd really rather avoid!). I'm a bit of a novice so any pointers would be appreciated!

Kris

petestrash
04-11-2008, 02:07 AM
It all depends on what image you are currently running and which TiVo you have.

A few more details would help.

Peter.

tatch76
04-11-2008, 09:43 PM
Last night I upgraded to the latest version of 1.6 - I'm using a Philips from the States. Previous version I was running was 1.4 which I installed a couple years ago.

I had hoped my upgrade to 1.6 would have defaulted everything back to Australia, but I'm afraid that wasn't the case. Guided won't let me finish as area code "002" is not recognised...

Any quick changes that could solve my issue?

Thanks!

petestrash
04-11-2008, 11:24 PM
How did you upgrade?

But chances are all you need to do is a clear and delete everything first.

tatch76
04-11-2008, 11:51 PM
I ran the scripts from the wiki:

cd /tmp
wget http://65.49.60.197/oztivofiles/updates/upgrade_oztivo
# At this point, you can read the upgrade_oztivo file
sh upgrade_oztivo.

I have now found, however, that I can no longer access the TIVO via TWP or Telnet, etc. Not sure if this is related to the upgrade, or the fact that I assigned a static IP afterwards by running the nic_config_tivo script.

I get the Static IP address displayed following a reboot, but can't ping the address or connect to it in any way.

Any hope?

petestrash
06-11-2008, 02:35 AM
Were you running the NZ 1.4 image before you upgraded or the OzTiVo version?

Did you also run the update_oztivo -y command as suggested in the wiki?

Do you have a serial cable for the TiVo so you can connect to it now?

Peter.

tatch76
06-11-2008, 08:44 PM
I was running the 1.4 NZ image, and don't believe I ran the update_oztivo -y - it was about 1 am so I was a bit slow...