PDA

View Full Version : First Time Tivo Set-up - Can't Call Out

Newbie95
26-04-2006, 09:08 PM
Hi,

I am a complete Tivo newbie, so I apologise in advance for any ignorance. I have recently purchased a philips series 1 HDRx12 tivo from the US with the hope of getting it running in Melbourne, Victoria. This unit came with no harddrive or network card. I have successfully installed a 120gb Seagate harddrive and a Turbonet network card (wasn't sure if this was required, but got one just in case!) using the links on this site.

I then successfully managed to load the iso image onto the harddrive (pretty sure this was the latest version as of last week), and I have connected the tivo to my TV via my digital foxtel box (I receive satalite foxtel), as I do not have a PAL tuner installed, and don't know where to purchase one. I have been told that this should still work (at least for the foxtel channels).

When I go through the guided setup, following the instructions from the Oztivo site, I get to the point where the tivo needs to make the first 'call out'. At this point, my tivo is connected to my TV and foxtel box via RCA cables, and I have a phone cable running from the back of my tivo to the phone socket. I have two main questions here:

1. The network card is currently not plugged into anything. I assume it should be, but I'm not quite sure what this is used for (told you I was new!). Should this be plugged into my modem or something?