Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Quick intro..

Another newbie...

Hi there, Just thought I'd introduce myself briefly, My name's Bruce, I live in North Canterbury and I develop software for a living. I've had my Tivo up and running for about a week now it is:

Phillips Series 1 /80GB
    Turbonet card connected to DLink wireless bridge (wireless bridge was about the same price as a wireless PC -Card for the airnet and a more flexible option I think).

I bought the TIVO w/drive off ebay (www.tekgems.com) and the turbonet card from 9th Tee.

I've had a lot of fun (and a wee bit of hair pulling) getting it all going, but it works great now (at least until the latest slice ) thanks entirely to Tim's Tivo pages.

I have a Zenith Sky decoder and created an IR-Code file from my pronto remote (www.zitafarm.com/zenithSky.tcl)

one issue I had was "stoppling" or random pausing and/or pixellation when watching recorded material, to cut a long story short after researching all the probable causes I stuck a UPS on it and it seems to be cured (AC power is pretty bad out here), I'm guessing the tiny Tivo power supply doesn't have much leeway to handle spikes/dips etc.

Well that's it.. I look forward to seeing the Tivo "cult" develop in NZ
    Last edited by brucer; 06-04-2004 at 12:54 PM. Reason: original title confusing

Gidday Bruce :)

I'm also a newbie, I'm from Auckland and work as a Technology Mgr. I had been talking to Tim for a couple of months on and off prior to Russell Browne's Listener article and then decided to get off my butt and order my Tivo. Imported a Series 1 Philips SA from PowerOn in a no hard drive state. I've since installed an 80 Gb drive and a Cachecard (Rev 2.2).

I only really started setting it up today at work but seem to have everything running after about 2 hours on and off.

I'd also like to thank Tim for his excellent work on helping the newbs

Cheers

Ben

Hi Bruce,