Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Lost Audio

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    216

    Lost Audio

    Having moved house, my TiVo has been left idle for a few weeks, got it reconnected, different sky decoder, but still Pace, all is working ok, except I have no audio! TiVo effect noises are working, audio works on old recordings from before the move, but no audio on viewing live TV. Haven't rerun GS, as nothing's changed, video is connected through S video port , tivo is changing channels on STB fine. TV is a basic, unmodified series 1 US unit. Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    463
    Is the new Sky unit muted or the volume down very low? It could be set to digital audio out rather than analog perhaps? I presume you have tried plugging the Sky audio directly into your TV (bypassing the TiVo) to confirm the Sky box is actually producing sound.
    Last edited by Skolink; 07-09-2011 at 10:00 AM. Reason: reworded

    TiVo Series3 TiVoHD x2

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    216
    yep, tried connecting stb direct to tv and audio is working fine, so TiVo is receiving an audio signal, but not processing/outputting!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    Have you tried rebooting the TiVo?

    Peter
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    216
    Got my daughter to.try at lunchtime, audio now working fine. Was just waiting to get home to web access so I could post good news! Cheers!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,032
    Glad to hear it's nothing serious.

    Peter.
    Please search this forum and our Website for your TiVo questions before starting a new thread. Thanks!

  7. #7
    This happens to me alot with my TiVo- it loses sound! It has always come back before after rebooting but today I have rebooted twice, after unplugging for a while then replugging. I have come back from a holiday to be greeted with- no sound again. As rebooting has not worked, what else can I try? I have also pulled out and replugged in the antenna and the other connecting audio/video cable. It is set on 30 so it is not muted. The TV itself and my Fetch box both have audio ok- but not TiVo! Can anyone help me? I am a very non techo 67 year old woman so technical instructions don't help me. I live alone with no techo male here to help me. Help!

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by tonys View Post
    Having moved house, my TiVo has been left idle for a few weeks, got it reconnected, different sky decoder, but still Pace, all is working ok, except I have no audio! TiVo effect noises are working, audio works on old recordings from before the move, but no audio on viewing live TV. Haven't rerun GS, as nothing's changed, video is connected through S video port , tivo is changing channels on STB fine. TV is a basic, unmodified series 1 US unit. Any ideas?
    Check your signal quality. Does this happen on all channels? I saw this before on some of the channels with High definition audio.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    228
    Please note: This thread is very old and is originally about Series 1 TiVo as opposed to HDTiVo (Series 3). Annieliese I suggest you re-post your problem, if it is still occurring, as a new thread.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Victoria
    Posts
    1,158
    I actually have this TiVo and will be beginning diagnosis over the weekend. For completeness I will respond with what is found and try to make the thread more relevant.
    Darren King
    OzTiVo Repairs and Modifications
    If your TiVo requires repairs or modifications
    then visit: http://kingey1971.wix.com/tivorepairs

Similar Threads

  1. Lost all the TVNZ channels
    By Bacersson in forum NZ TiVoHD
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-09-2012, 11:59 AM
  2. lost TivoWebPlus again!
    By pipster55 in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23-11-2010, 12:33 PM
  3. lost telnet following update_oztivo
    By tegandrew in forum Question and Answer Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 30-05-2007, 01:01 PM
  4. Lost TV2 sound
    By finethen in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 21-11-2006, 10:15 PM
  5. I'm Lost
    By donm in forum New Zealand General Forum
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 02-10-2005, 12:22 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •